We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manhattan Hotel(Pretoria)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $101/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kievits Kroon(Pretoria)
$97
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $92/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel 224(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
$75
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $47/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SUN1 Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveler rating
257
58
3
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
257
58
3
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housegated communitystay there againexcellent servicerooms are bigattention to detailexcellent place to staylovely guesthouselong flightbreakfast and dinnerpretoria areafeel at homea wonderful stayspacious roomthank you so muchsafe parkingself catering
Filter
Updating list...
295 - 300 of 323 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed in Pretoria on a business trip. I was VERY impressed with the hospitality, service quality, surroundings and overall experience at Opikopi. I am in the hospitality / accommodation business myself and must say, this is the best I've seen yet. Well done and thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heloïse J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen d, Owner at Opikopi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

thank you for the positive comments on Opikopi.

Must say our guests make our task very easy to spoil them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in early June.

The guest house is located in a quiet residential area that includes a gated area. Initially it was a trifle difficult to find but once achieved it is an easy journey from the M10.

Opikopi is an extensive complex of rooms, conference centre, chapel, restaurant and bar plus small swimming pool with outside seating plus adequate parking.

We stayed in room 6 which turned out to be the honeymoon suite. It was a very well appointed room with large bed, easy chairs, a large bathroom with Jacuzzi bath with views over Pretoria and a large walk in shower. The room had nice touches which included robes and a small decanter of sherry which was refilled everyday. In addition there was a small kitchen with microwave and fridge plus plates and cutlery. Finally there was a small terraced area with table and chairs and a view over the surrounding area.

The guest house has a restaurant in which we ate at during our stay. The menu was well priced and offered a range of dishes that turned out to be tasty and well cooked. I had the fillet steak that was exceptionally well cooked and ranks as one of the best meals we have had in South Africa only to be outdone by Yum Yum in Tzaneen. Breakfast was an extensive affair with eggs cooked to order with bacon and sausage on a hotplate. Of note was the most sophisticated toaster in the world which despite being complex did provide evenly cooked toast.

We weren't sure what to expect from our time in Pretoria (and Joburg). But with the help of Duncan we quickly had all 4 days planned with trips to downtown Pretoria, Cullinan Diamond mine, Soweto, the Vortrekker monument as well as a trip on a train which was an eye opener. In addition to Duncan we must thank Corneille and Sonnyboy for all there help and good humour.

We enjoyed our stay at Opikopi and it passed the acid test that means we would be more than happy to stay again and recommend it to others. Thank You.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteD60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Spacious, nicely decorated, comfortable rooms; suberb breakfast, very friendly host and staff; everything is top level! Unfortunately we had dinner somewhere else (which turned out to be quite a mistake), so we only took our dessert at Opikopi’s restaurant. The chocolate vulcano was delicious. We will come back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuNaLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Opikopi is great. The atmosphere and the rooms are lovely - very homely and comfortable, complete with extra little touches like a small carafe of sherry on the dressing table. The hosts Pieter and Helen are so nice and welcoming, and their staff are friendly and capable - Sonnybill's smile will stay with us forever! Anything we wanted to do was no problem, and organised in a flash. After a four-day stay we went back two weeks later and were greeted like family! Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I organized a tour of Southern Africa in light aircraft. The group stayed 4 days prior to the trip commencing & another night after returning. We all found the rooms & amenities to be up to a high standard, but the point that was the most noticeable was the friendliness & willingness to help from Peter & Helen & their staff. From organizing transport for the group & taking guests to shops, to personally meeting us at airports. On return there was a genuine interest in the happenings of the days events. The meals were always of a very high standard & well received.
They went the extra mile for guests to make all feel welcome, sometimes in stressfull times. I thoroughly recommend a stay at Opikopi.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank kip-auck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews