We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mont D'or Bohemian House
Ranked #4 of 358 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tzaneen, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
“Absolutely recommended”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My wife and I spent a night at this wonderful guesthouse on a recent visit to Pretoria. We cannot find fault with anything and the service and hosts were superb. I have no hesitation in recommending this facility to anyone looking for 5 star service in Pretoria!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 302Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bohemianthebest, Owner at Mont D'or Bohemian House, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you so much for taking valuable time to write a review.
It is very important for us and for future guests to read about your experience.
Really appreciate your kind words.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    13
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
55
9
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Staying at the Bohemian Guesthouse turned out to be an perfect choice for our 4-day stay in Pretoria. I highly appreciated the personal, warm and relaxing approach. I will definitely recommend this to my colleagues and friends travelling to Pretoria!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristof T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bohemianthebest, Owner at Mont D'or Bohemian House, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for your very, relevant review.
We really appreciate thay you took the time to write a review.
Thank you for specially mentioning Chris.
He deserve compliments and he ,together with all at Bohemian love to host satisfied guests.
It is very important for us, seeing that many future guest read reviews before they make a reservation.
Hope to see you again in 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

If you are looking for a very nice guesthouse in a peaceful, quite and green environment then look no further. Service was spotless and on top of that very personal.
Next time I go back to Pretoria I will defintely come back.
Chris thanks a lot for making this easily the nicest business tip I had in a very long time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonaltevogt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bohemianthebest, Owner at Mont D'or Bohemian House, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for your honest review.
We really appreciate thay you took the time to write a review.
It is very important for us, seeing that many future guest read reviews before they make a reservation.
Hope to see you again in 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middelburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This was the second occasion we stayed at Bohemian House - our rating of very good reflects our sentiments
We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay, on both occasions, and would recommend it - home away from home

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eugene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bohemianthebest, Owner at Mont D'or Bohemian House, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your review.
It will be of great help if guests tell us personally why we do not score 10-10.
We will rectify it immediately.
Bohemian House is our passion and hospitality our love, and our guests are very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed at the Bohemian House for two days, but regret that we didn' t had one or two extra days. Alta and Johan and their staff are so friendly and warm. The house is very nice and there are so many small but beautiful details. The rooms are nice and have al the comfort you want on your trip. The teagarden is great. We felt at home from the first moment we arrived. We also had diner at the Bohemian House and that was excellent. If we ever come back to Pretoria, we certainly stay again at the Bohemain House

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bohemianthebest, Owner at Mont D'or Bohemian House, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. By this time you and your family are safely home.It was good to have met you.
We do appreciate it that you took the time to write a review.
Most of our potential guests read the reviews before they make a reservation.

Our guest house is our passion and our love.
We love it when our guests are happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had two nights at Bohemian House and we would definitely go back. It was easy to drive there from OR Tambo, and once there we were shown to a very comfortable and beautifully decorated room. Owners Alta and Johann are friendly and welcoming. Their son, Chris, is an excellent chef and cooked us wonderful breakfasts on the leafy patio overlooking purple jacaranda trees. Bohemian House has a number of public spaces that can be enjoyed when away from one's room, such as the open air lounge and honesty bar alongside the pool; the lounges where one can read a magazine; benches in the very pretty garden; or out on the patio. Perfect for business trips or getaways.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bohemianthebest, Manager at Mont D'or Bohemian House, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review us.
We know it takes up valuable time ,but for us it is so important to share your experience with future guests.
Thank you once again,hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Thanks for a specially prepared birthday lunch under the trees on the patio. This was a memorable experience for all of us- the food was excellent, the service friendly and warm with special touches like flowers for every guest and champagne bottles opened the Napoleon way. Alta an team you are tops!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bohemianthebest, Owner at Mont D'or Bohemian House, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
It was so good to watch beautiful ladies ,relaxing under the old big tree and having fun.Thank you for your support and thank you for your lovely review.
We do appreciate each and every review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice by Marriott Pretoria Menlyn
1.4 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#3 of 72 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
3.3 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#4 of 72 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#9 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
3.5 mi away
Court Classique Suite Hotel
0.3 mi away
Castello di Monte
Castello di Monte
#1 of 358 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont D'or Bohemian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont D'or Bohemian House

Property: Mont D'or Bohemian House
Address: 389 Eridanus Street | Waterkloof Ridge, Pretoria 0181, South Africa (Formerly Bohemian House)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 358 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mont D'or Bohemian House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for accommodation in Pretoria,you have just found the perfect place.There are many guest houses and hotels around the world....and then there is Bohemian House Boutique Hotel. For all your accommodation needs,truly one of a kind! The moment you enter you are stunned by the architecture and detail, the art and the atmosphere. The tranquility is just as perfect for a tired international businessmen as for an excited couple on their honeymoon. All rooms have balconies or doors opening on to the garden. Free Wi Fi available,one day laundry service. Bohemian House,boutique hotel,is owned and managed by the Johan,Alta and Christo Minnaar and we love what we do.This is our passion! Secure,shaded parking.Superb service,scrumptious breakfasts, excellent dining in our romantic dining room with dishes influenced by Mediterranean, Moroccan and South African. Now we have opened the Bird Song Tea Garden where you can enjoy breakfast,light lunches and fresh from the oven cakes and quiches. Fully licensed with the best South African wines. Bordered by both the Norwegian and Austrian Embassy Residences our guests' safety is a priority and premises are protected. We believe life is too short to be just ordinary! Our guests always return! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Mont D'or Bohemian House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing