We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was Heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mont D'or Bohemian House
Ranked #4 of 359 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“This was Heaven!”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We arrived after two very long flights at this wonderful guest house. Our welcome was very warm and we were shown to the most beautiful room decorated with fresh flower petals with access to a lovely outside courtyard garden. I immediately felt at peace. Nothing was too much trouble. We were served a delicious lunch and later had a cheese plate for the evening.As it was our first trip to South Africa, the owners, Alta and Johan, suggested a sightseeing trip around Pretoria and their son Chris gave us just that. We ate at a nearby restaurant that evening and were taken and collected by Johan.Everything was wonderful. I could not think of any one thing that would make this guest house better. We were given the perfect start to our holiday in South Africa and I would LOVE to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzieNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bohemianthebest, Owner at Mont D'or Bohemian House, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review,much appreciated by all of us.
Because we are all focused to give our guests a wonderful experience it is always good to know that they were content and happy at Bohemian.
We love what we do and we love to meet new guests and old friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
57
9
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Tired out after several long flights via different countries in recent times, I was delivered to this unexpected, but greatly appreciated oasis. I was immediately made to feel safe, welcome and truly at a home a long way from home. From the first welcome to the last goodby, the service was friendly, flexible, relaxed and accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was great, the decor and the gardens most interesting, but the best bit was when I asked the Lady of the house how I get to the interesting little second floor library which I could see had no wall and no stairs and was told "in your dreams"....

Room Tip: My top floor room out the back was quiet with a great view over the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bohemianthebest, Owner at Mont D'or Bohemian House, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for the lovely,positive review.
It was a pleasure to have you here.
This is our passion and our love,therefore it is easy to make guests feel at home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, CT
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is more a small boutique hotel rather than a B+B. Bedding, room, restaurant, service and the owners are the best! If you need a room in this area of Pretoria you will never stay anywhere else. Dinner was delicious. Everything was impeccable at the Bohemian.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W0rldTraveler1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bohemianthebest, Owner at Mont D'or Bohemian House, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
It was great having you here!
Thank you for your friendly review.
it is easy to please positive and friendly people.
See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Been there a few weekend ago and have ZERO complaints. From the welcoming to the departing everything was perfect. Thanks again for a wonderful experience. The accommodation was the cherry on top of a wonderful Afrikaans Is Groot weekend experience. We will certainly recommend to our friend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vermeulen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bohemianthebest, Owner at Mont D'or Bohemian House, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for the kind words!
We appreciate your comments.
This is our passion and we want it to be a wonderful experience,and we will always try harder to please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I travel to Pretoria for business, but staying at Bohemian House makes it feel like a vacation. Everything about it is absolute perfection, from the kind, warm greeting on arrival, to the incredible rooms with unique and beautiful decor, to the gorgeous gardens and pool, and the outstanding meals. The buildings and gardens are truly breathtaking, and the view from the upper floor rooms superb. With food, rooms and setting being so top notch, it is an added bonus to find all the little perks and attentions, like fresh flowers on the bed, and warm, smiling hosts and staff. On the evenings when the superb dinner service is not available, it was a short and pleasant walk to a nearby center to choose from a wide variety of good restaurants. My colleague and I were so charmed with the facilities that we decided we didn't want to leave for that day-so we took advantage of the small on-site conference room to host our business meeting, which was also just perfect. The room is airy and bright with a large table and huge wall of windows with a view/sounds of fountains, and Alta and Johann kept our group of 6 supplied with refreshments and good cheer. I find my words unable to really convey the charm and beauty of this guesthouse. It is the most delightful place I have ever stayed, and I look forward to returning again and again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor have balconies with views, while rooms on the ground floor open on to the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bohemianthebest, Owner at Mont D'or Bohemian House, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you ,it is always so great to receive a review from the heart.
The reason for us to receive such positive reviews is partly that we are family owned and managed .
It is our passion and our life!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porcia, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

For a trip to Johannesburg or Pretoria, this is the perfect choice! Everything about this guesthouse is wonderful! The people, the decor, the breakfast, the rooms, the outdoor area, and the location (for Johannesburg, the airport, or Pretoria). It's perfect for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheri U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bohemianthebest, Owner at Mont D'or Bohemian House, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you Simon,we enjoyed having your group at Bohemian House.
It is always a pleasure to host such a wonderful group.
Hope to see you all again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2012

A group of nine of us from the UK on a business trip to Pretoria this week all felt that our five-night stay at The Bohemian House was the highlight of our trip. The House is set on a hill and is architecturally a little eccentric, which gives it great charm. The public rooms have many original features that visitors can enjoy and there is ample parking off the road, behind the gate. My room had all 'mod cons' and was clean and very comfortable - and the same was apparently true of the other eight rooms our group occupied.
Alta, Johan, Chris and their team were smiling and friendly, from the moment we arrived to the time when we sadly had to say goodbye. They laid on early breakfasts each day, to fit our business schedule, and these gave us an excellent start to each day. We also enjoyed two superb evening meals at the House.
Would we stay there again? "Of course" was the unanimous verdict. Would we recommend The Bohemian House to others? "Absolutely!"

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bohemianthebest, Owner at Mont D'or Bohemian House, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you ,it is always so good to know what our guest's think about Bohemian House, and what their experience was.
We want them to enjoy this place that is so close to our hearts!
Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
3.3 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#6 of 73 in Pretoria
294 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#12 of 73 in Pretoria
491 reviews
1.4 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#4 of 73 in Pretoria
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice by Marriott Pretoria Menlyn
4.3 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
0.3 mi away
Castello di Monte
Castello di Monte
#1 of 359 in Pretoria
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont D'or Bohemian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont D'or Bohemian House

Property: Mont D'or Bohemian House
Address: 389 Eridanus Street | Waterkloof Ridge, Pretoria 0181, South Africa (Formerly Bohemian House)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 359 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mont D'or Bohemian House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for accommodation in Pretoria,you have just found the perfect place.There are many guest houses and hotels around the world....and then there is Bohemian House Boutique Hotel. For all your accommodation needs,truly one of a kind! The moment you enter you are stunned by the architecture and detail, the art and the atmosphere. The tranquility is just as perfect for a tired international businessmen as for an excited couple on their honeymoon. All rooms have balconies or doors opening on to the garden. Free Wi Fi available,one day laundry service. Bohemian House,boutique hotel,is owned and managed by the Johan,Alta and Christo Minnaar and we love what we do.This is our passion! Secure,shaded parking.Superb service,scrumptious breakfasts, excellent dining in our romantic dining room with dishes influenced by Mediterranean, Moroccan and South African. Now we have opened the Bird Song Tea Garden where you can enjoy breakfast,light lunches and fresh from the oven cakes and quiches. Fully licensed with the best South African wines. Bordered by both the Norwegian and Austrian Embassy Residences our guests' safety is a priority and premises are protected. We believe life is too short to be just ordinary! Our guests always return! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Mont D'or Bohemian House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing