We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Morning Star Express Hotel
Ranked #2 of 72 Hotels in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

WE had a superb stay in Morning star Hotel, it was very nice that we wished it was possible to extend our stay there. We would definitely consider it again when we are around.Thats a place to reccommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Neo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    199
    74
    20
    9
See reviews for
78
167
52
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

My stay was alright took the lady at the desk quite some time to check my reservation. The room was smaller then I imagined and the sheets weren't as clean as I would have loved. The breakfast was alright. My stay was just evarage but I'm Not sure if I'll be coming again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Malebo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilLategan, General Manager at Morning Star Express Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Malebo

It is with regret that your experience with the Morning Star Express Hotel did not meet your expectations, If you wish, you may contact me personally at gm@morningstarhotel.co.za or +2712 442 0600 and provide me with more information about the issue. I promise that I will strive to resolve the issue to your satisfaction. Thank you for choosing the Morning Star Express Hotel

Kind Regards

Philip Lategan
General Manager
Morning Star Express Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

We had a very nice stay and experience at the Morning Star. Will definitely recommended it. We had five star treatment from every staff member.
Very friendly and helpful. Thank you for a wonderful Stay!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jeremy & Antoin... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpumalanga
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Please have more security walking the floors at night time as the is lot off Nosie and the poter is very good when it comes to custmer service i really like him deserves a sport award .
He makes you feel that you are more then a gust in the hotel





  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Thobi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mmabatho
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

The experience was impressive. It was quite exciting to be treated with such great hospitality. I vehemently recommend Morning Star to every traveller. It is well situated and it offers convenience at the adequate surrounding.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Onkgopotse2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

The staff was very friendly and the rooms were always clean. I was also positively surprised by the nice breakfast, a nice variety of fruits, hot and cold food and serials. I can recommend this hotel to every one.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

please check ur bed height, it is very low.
also open christian channels on a dstv.
so far ur the best.
quality was observed at all times, the staff was always friendly, the food was the best and fresh

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#22 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
11.5 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#19 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#12 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burgers Park Hotel
Burgers Park Hotel
#33 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
5.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice by Marriott Pretoria Menlyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morning Star Express Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morning Star Express Hotel

Property: Morning Star Express Hotel
Address: 327 Visagie Street, Pretoria 0002, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 72 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Morning Star Express Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morning Star Express Hotel in Pretoria central offers comfortable, high quality and affordable accommodation for business guests, stop-overs and short stay travel. 125 Comfortable Rooms. Modest in size, cozy double beds. En-suite bathrooms with a shower, toilet and basin. Air conditioning, small flat screen TV, DSTV, coffee and tea station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Morning Star Express Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing