We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melvin Residence Guest House
Ranked #8 of 358 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Home from home”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I highly recommend Melvin Residence, based on my experience and stay there. You couldn't wish for better hosts and the rooms are elegantly appointed. It felt like home from home to me. I was in town for a weekend workshop and especially loved my Sunday breakfast served under the gracious old trees of this beautiful home. Most of all, staying as a women on my own, I felt absolutely safe.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amawriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PietvanBiljon, Owner at Melvin Residence Guest House, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
It was a pleasure having you here. We hope ypu will visit us agin real soon!

Regards

Piet & Elize van Biljon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    40
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
20
57
17
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cape town
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Stayed there in march and the food was just terrible. Was even lazy to have breakfast. My company also paid for dinner which cost R70 extra per day but the food I was getting was like it cost R20. They leave the dinner in your room, so unattractive wrapped with a plastic. For almost 2 weeks I was served rice meet with horrible veges and when I asked for something different I got worse. I don't know, maybe they treat guests differently. But I got the worst service.

I wouldn't want to stay in melvin residence ever again. I am not even sure how it got its 4 stars.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelaah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PietvanBiljon, Owner at Melvin Residence Guest House, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear travelaah
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of our guest house. It is a pity that you did not bring these issues to our attention while you were here. We would have attended to it right away!

We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your comments further so that we can examine your issues you experienced further. Please reach out to us directly at piet@melvinresidence.co.za

Regards
Piet van Biljon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We, five of us needing 3 rooms, were looking for a place for one night, not too far from Jo'burg after the long flight and a convenient stop off before driving on to the Kruger Park. Based on ther reviews we booked the Melvin and it was ideal. Excellent location, lovely buildings and setting, very clean and comfortable rooms. Piet was there to greet us and provide the necessary local information, including recommended restaurants. After a long journey, a six pack of cold beers was desperately needed. Piet duly obliged and we enjoyed a very pleasant late afternoon drink on the veranda in the heat of South Africa. The holiday had started! Breakfast was first class, a brilaint start to the day before our onward journey. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred201021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PietvanBiljon, Owner at Melvin Residence Guest House, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Good afternoon Fred,
Thank you for the review.
It was a pleasure having you and your family here.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Regards

Piet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We had a lovely stay at Melvin. Great breakfast and comfortable bed. Piet was so helpful with local advice and recommendations. It was nice to walk to nearby cafe 41. Melrose House is well worth a visit as is the Union Building gardens.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PietvanBiljon, Owner at Melvin Residence Guest House, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We always enjoy getting feedback from our local guests. Hope to welcome you back again soon!

Regards

Piet & Elize van Biljon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterhude, Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2012

My two weeks business trip in Pretoria where very nice at the Malvin Residence. Piet got a lot of recomendations for dinner and more. If I would come back to Pretoria I would allways take a room here. The rooms are always clear, the breakfast was very good and all of the staff were very obliging.
Cheers, Arne

Room Tip: Book fast, there are only 6 rooms. All of them are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arne_Mu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PietvanBiljon, Owner at Melvin Residence Guest House, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Good afternoon

It was a pleasure having you here.
All you need to do is arrange for another visi to South Africa.

Regards

Piet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Piet is an extremely friendly, welcoming host. The period house has been lovingly restored along with the guest rooms which are in the old workers quarters. The rooms all have a veranda that is perfect for sun-downer drinks, and the rooms all have dish TV and internet access (for a small extra fee). The breakfasts are great. The location is safe and quiet with walkable streets – in fact there are joggers each morning and evening running up to the Union Building terraces for exercise. It also has easy access to downtown and to the Hatfield Gautrain and restaurants.
This guest house is perfect for business workers and for tourists – especially for first time visitors who are nervous about feeling safe and welcome in South Africa.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 have the best veranda views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricHalfaBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PietvanBiljon, Owner at Melvin Residence Guest House, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Thank you for posting a review. It was a pleasure having you here. We are already looking forward to your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I'm a regular guest at the Melvin Residence in Pretoria, at least three times a month. For me, it's a home away from my Cape Town home. Conveniently situated, close to a Hatfield Gautrain bus stop, it's also a short hop into the city, and right on the access routes to get to the east of Pretoria. I particularly like the rooms, all with an outside entrance, so there isn't the sense of intruding into someone's home when you get back from dinner. Yet Piet and Elise's home is open and welcoming when you do venture in. Very comfortable rooms, seriously excellent breakfasts (the omelets are well worth a try), it's difficult to imagine choosing to go elsewhere when staying in Pretoria.

Room Tip: Always turn down Room number 1. That's reserved for me. :-))
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PietvanBiljon, Owner at Melvin Residence Guest House, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Thank you for submitting a review of our facility. I beleive you are right . .room1 is reserved for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#10 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
1.5 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Court Classique Suite Hotel
1.7 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#4 of 72 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Arcadia
Courtyard Hotel Arcadia
#15 of 72 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melvin Residence Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melvin Residence Guest House

Property: Melvin Residence Guest House
Address: 184 Pine Street | Arcadia, Pretoria 0083, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 358 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melvin Residence Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melvin Residence is a 4 star Guest House that ideally located for doing business in Pretoria. We offer:- Four luxury double rooms with en suite showers- One standard room with an en suite bathroom One single rooms with an en suite bathrooms- Private entrances with comfortable relaxation areas - An awesome view over the capital city- All rooms are fully air-conditioned- Easy access to highways leading north and south - Secure, fenced parking- Non-intrusive, but welcoming service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Melvin Residence Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing