We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Practical for Pretoria Meetings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Goodey's Guesthouse
Ranked #45 of 362 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Practical for Pretoria Meetings”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I found Goodey's to be a really practical base for meetings in Pretoria. I had to split me stay as I was travelling to Swaziland during the week and Goodey's was really accomodating to my itinerary. The room was really comfortable and I loved the terrace outside for relaxing at the end of the day. Breakfasts were really hearty. Wifi was good and help finding things like taxis and restaurants was always available. Relaxed and welcoming. Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CarlWKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
9
5
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rustenburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I stayed at Goodey's Guesthouse from 10 - 22 Dec 2013. The Guesthouse is conveniently situated within walking distance from the Urology Hospital where my husband was hospitilised. The location suited me perfectly, as did the amenities such as the intimate swimming pool. The beautiful interior decoration of Room 7 with it's kitchen, TV and radio made it feel like home from home. The service and cleanliness are outstanding. The friendly hosts, John and Hantie Goodey, give their Guesthouse a unique warmth,making their quests feel at home yet independant.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Having stayed in several GH around Pretoria this one has to be up there with best. A very quiet and safe place to stay with very good hosts. The room was especially well equipped for self catering and very clean with good comfortable bed. Would not hesitate to reccomend to any friends and will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkColl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingstone, Zambia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The room was clean and the bathrooms is beautiful, and that will be my second home when I'm in Pretoria. I will also refer my friends and coleagues to experience what I did.I hope I will bring my wife one da

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are pefect
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

A lovely Guesthouse! Everything was just perfect from the the very comfortable beds to the lovely breakfasts. Located in such a beautiful area of Pretoria. Thank you Hantie and John for your wonderful hospitality. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed in Goodey's Guesthouse the first two nights we were is SA. Everything was just excellent - the room was large and brand new, bathroom really huge and the service impeccable. We really liked the abundant and tasty breakfast.
Although we did not use the pool nor the braai area - the facilities are there in a really lovely inner yard. The surroundings of the guesthouse are very quiet and safe (many embassies) and as Pretoria is not a huge city and we had a rental car, everything was close by.
I definitely recommend staying at Goodey's and if I am ever again in Pretoria I would try to stay there again.

Room Tip: There are new rooms in a building next to the main house. If you manage to get a room there you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EstTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I spent at Goodey's Guesthouse 3 months. The room and other fcilities were very quaint, comfortable and what was very important for me very clean. Service just great. I felt like being with my family. English breakfasts were nice and John tried to diversify them.
On the gusthouse premises there is a saunna, small swimingpool and place where you can make a barbecu. Guesthouse is situated in very silent area, everything around it is safy and nice to go for a walk.
The hospitality is great and I recommend this place

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Malgosia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Manor
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Arcadia
Courtyard Hotel Arcadia
#17 of 73 in Pretoria
100 reviews
1.5 mi away
Court Classique Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Hatfield
City Lodge Hotel Hatfield
#22 of 73 in Pretoria
91 reviews
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Pretoria Hatfield
2.9 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goodey's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodey's Guesthouse

Property: Goodey's Guesthouse
Address: 23 Amos Street | Colbyn, Pretoria 0083, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 362 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Goodey's Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the tranquil suburb of Colbyn, Goodey's Guesthouse offers 6 en-suite double bedrooms, 2 of which are self-catering. Relax in the heated swimming pool or infrared sauna, or enjoy a sundowner in the lapa with braai facilities. All our room have air-conditioners (hot & cold), satellite TV's, clock radio's, hair dryers,own balconies or patios and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Goodey's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing