We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, poor internet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Faircity Grosvenor Gardens
Ranked #16 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Pretoria
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed here for near 1 week on business. Great location to get to either by car or train. Close to a good shopping centre so supplies were easy to get. Staff very helpful and willing to help in all matters. Rooms clean with a mini balcony and good cooking facilities. Only fault very poor internet connections, which makes work very hard to conduct. Would stay here again if internet was improved.

Room Tip: Ask if the internet service has improved if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukas_Faircity, General Manager at Faircity Grosvenor Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Faircity Grosvenor Gardens. We are currently busy upgrading the lines to ensure faster internet for our guests.

Thank you,

Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 40 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

We loved staying there as a family there was plenty room, great kitchen for self catering. The bathroom while functional was a little run doom, no soap disk for either shower or bath (it is all in one). Will consider staying there again, very easy to find and most things we needed to do were easily accessible.

Would have liked an extra proper pillow on the bed.

Room Tip: The front rooms have a balcony on each side, small but great for coffee on the stoep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Warren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukas_Faircity, General Manager at Faircity Grosvenor Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for the positive response. We will look into your comments for we strive to give only the best to our guests. Hope to see you soon.

Thank you,

Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at the Grosvenor Gardens for two weeks while our travel visas were being processed and had a wonderful time. The room was large and well furnished with everything we needed to cook our own meals, the wifi was strong, and the location was perfect. We were able to walk to the embassy, take buses across town, and jump on the train for quick jaunts into Johannesburg. The staff were friendly and helpful, the bed comfortable, and there was plenty of strong, hot water. The only fault we found with the hotel is a nit really: one of the preschoolers who lived in the hotel likes to play in the courtyard, making typical kid noises and forcing us to close our window to work. Overall it was great! There was even a free clothes washer and dryer at our disposal.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobalRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukas_Faircity, General Manager at Faircity Grosvenor Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

We are glad that you had such a great experience at Faircity Grosvenor Gardens. Faircity Grosvenor Gardens is definitely n home away from home experience. Thank you for your support and we look forward hosting you in the future.

Thank you,

Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Short holiday in South Africa after a mini world tour was advised to stay in Pretoria instead of busy Johannesburg. Rooms where very clean and well presented. Near the Gautrain station that goes to the airport. Pretoria is beautiful with beaufitful garden. Very secure. Toilet was not flushed though on arrival!!!! We laughed a bit but we where was told to keep it quiet by staff, guess not good option if you have young children. Staff where super amazing!! I would do it again, but this time on my own. Cant get such amazing value for money in London, will be recommeding it to friends who desire to travel overseas to South Africa. You cant make calls from your room bettr if you bring your own mobile phone but staff are willing to help if needed.
Initially apprehensive as it was self catering 4 star but that no longer mattered after being there a while. Worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukas_Faircity, General Manager at Faircity Grosvenor Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for the lovely review. Faircity Grosvenor Gardens is perfectly situated in Pretoria and offers the perfect self catering experience. We look forward hosting your friends and referrals.

Thank you,

Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I recently spent 12 wonderful days in Pretoria, and must commend the staff of Faircity Grosvenor Gardens for providing a safe and wonderful environment. My home base at the hotel was perfectly located, and when they say an ideal location, they mean it- two blocks from the Gautrain and Gautrain buses to get anywhere you'd really need, ample parking, and central location near TUKKS, Hatfield Plaza. When the locals praise you for your facilities, then you know you have a good thing going on. Could not recommend this hotel any higher, and certainly appreciate the welcoming nature of all the staff, and the incredible memories- may I get to stay here again some day soon!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wildbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukas_Faircity, Manager at Faircity Grosvenor Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a wonderful review. At Faircity Grosvenor Gardens service is our top priority. As you experienced, we are also perfectly situated in Hatfield, Pretoria. We are glad we could assist in building lasting memories and may we see you soon.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I travel fairly often between CPT and PTA. A friend recommended I try Grosvenor Gardens. I am very hands on with my travel arrangments. So I made the reservation myself. I was pleasantly surprised at the warm telephone ettiquette received from the other end. I was already bought over.
When I arrived I was greated and treated as I think Madiba would have been treated. it just made me feel very special.
The check-in was quick and efficient, fuss free.
My room had met my expectations. Perfetc to made my feel like I never had left my home.
I found the staff to be very freindly and willing to go the exra mile.
I will recommend this establishment to all travellers going to PTA.
My overall impression was awesome.
Thank you, Faircity Grovenor Gardens :-)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BR16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukas_Faircity, Manager at Faircity Grosvenor Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very please to receive such a positive response. We pride ourselves in good service and believe that Faircity Grosvenor Gardens is great value for money. The large apartments definitely makes it feel like a home away from home. We look forward hosting you again soon.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Although the spaciousness of the studio apartment was exactly as stated, the unit was dirty! There was still leftover food in fridge. The bin in the bathroom not cleaned out, the toilet wasn't flushed (disgusting!), the soap was used, there was no shampoo, etc and the coffee, tea etc.wasn't filled up! This left us wondering whether the linen was clean ....

Room Tip: Make sure your room has been properly cleaned and ask to be moved to another unit if not. We were ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank muggie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukas_Faircity, Manager at Faircity Grosvenor Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

At Faircity Hotels we take negative feedback very seriously. I would like to start by apologizing. No guest deserves an experience like this. I would like to mention that we changed to a new cleaning company on the 1st of December and that we have done a proper hand-over this week. New standards are put in place to ensure things like this doesn't happen. Also, my details are always available in reception to assist when guests have serious complaints. I would always be more than happy to assist and make sure your stay is as pleasant as it should be. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
3.0 mi away
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#21 of 74 in Pretoria
127 reviews
9.1 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#19 of 74 in Pretoria
144 reviews
2.5 mi away
Faircity Junction
Faircity Junction
#21 of 111 in Pretoria
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
2.0 mi away
Amper Bo Guest House
Amper Bo Guest House
#217 of 364 in Pretoria
7 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faircity Grosvenor Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faircity Grosvenor Gardens

Address: 212 Grosvenor Street | Hatfield, Pretoria 0083, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Pretoria
Price Range: $58 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Faircity Grosvenor Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Faircity Grosvenor Gardens offers 4-star serviced apartments in the Hatfield suburb of Pretoria. Each apartment features a fully-equipped kitchen, free Wi-Fi, CCTV Cameras and 24 Hour Security. All Faircity Grosvenor Gardens apartments include contemporary furnishing and flat screen TVs. The Studios units feature an open-plan kitchen with modern appliances and utensils. Coffee and tea are also provided. In the morning, guests can enjoy a warm breakfast from a selection ordered by the guest, and served to the room in the morning between 06:30 and 07:30. Faircity Grosvenor Gardens is located 5-minutes off the motorway, 400m from the new Gautrain station, around the corner from over 100 embassies, 2 km from the University of Pretoria, next door to the Urology Hospital and is a 30-minute drive from O.R. Thambo Airport. Free on-site private parking is available..R. Thambo Airport. Free on-site private parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Faircity Grosvenor Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing