We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven”
Review of Casta Diva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casta Diva
Ranked #8 of 359 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

5 stars :)

Soul food = fantastic
Customer Service is top notch!
On site theatre with the very best entertainment
Beautiful mountainside setting, with stunning rooms- The best bed I have ever slept on!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OyLing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastaDivaPretoria, Owner at Casta Diva, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hi Oyling, Thank you for your fabulous response.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Our on-site theatre has the objective to provide a stage to talented artists and, to provide them with an income, good to hear that you enjoyed the entertainment.
Kind regards,
Alejandro & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    47
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
22
16
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Howick, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I was lucky enough to come to Casta Diva to do a performance of my show Cougar.Comedy! with Anne Power last weekend.
We were accommodated in the brand new wing at the bottom of the property, all pristine white linen and dark wood.
Each room is gorgeously decorated, with ceiling fans and tv, dressing tables and a little carafe of sherry on offer (for warming up the vocal cords).
For dinner I had a superb beef stroganoff with fillet and taglietelle, washed down with a crisp white sauvignon blanc!
Then it was show time, and we delivered a super feisty double-diva show at the intimate theatre on site called the Vissi d'Arte, managed and run by Liza Badenhorst. One of the best audiences we have ever had, they partied and sang and really got into the groove.
The next morning we enjoyed a slap-up breakfast in the main house with all the trimmings! The service is excellent, friendly and the surroundings are breathtaking! Running water and huge purple flowering jacarandas! Warm breezes blowing and soft music in the background! Another wonderful experience at Casta! Thank-you!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, some self-catering and some hotel. Built on a hill so mind out for steps a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastaDivaPretoria, Owner at Casta Diva, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Cat,

Thank you for your kind review, the whole team is looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards,
Alejandro & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

In the last 3 years I have visited SA 8 times, all for long stays of 3-4 weeks for bussiness trips.
7 out of the 8 times i stayed in Casta Diva (in total around 5-6 months of stay).
The staff is very friendly and the food is great, there is a very good restaurant named Charisma, in which people come to eat even if they are not staying in Casta Diva.
There is a nice big pool, and the view from the room at the top is breath taking.

This place really charges your batteries after work, and in the weekends you feel like you are in a holiday :)

If i do travel to Pretoria in the future, this is definitaly the place i am going to stay again.

Room Tip: I can say that i stayed in almost every room type they have in this hotel. Some of the rooms in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ahmet V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastaDivaPretoria, Owner at Casta Diva, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Hi Ahmet,
Thank you for taking your time writing a review for us.
We are very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay.
The whole team is hoping that there will be another Business trip soon!
Takes care,
Alejandro & team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nablus, Palestinian Territories
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

t
I was there for 3 nights for Business trip, I liked this place too much, so nice, calm and safe place with very nice staff who did their best for getting their clients satisfaction.
The people there are very helpful and so kind, and welling to help. Food was great with limited varieties yet so good, the garden and atmosphere was really charm.
Thanks to Nice people there, and sure I would like to come back again.
Thanks guys, you did our stay comfortable

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastaDivaPretoria, Owner at Casta Diva, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you so much for the effort of writing your feedback, it is always nice to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay. Next time please tell the chef about your favourite food and tastes to challenge their culinary abilities, I can guarantee that it will be beyond your expectation...
Hoping to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I spent this past weekend at Casta Diva primarily to perform in a show being held at Vissi D'Arte (their on-premises theatre). What a fantastic weekend. The venue was breathtaking. From the magnificent mountain backdrop and view to the immense diversity of vegetation and birds there was always something new to experience. We stayed in the newly built villas and the rooms were spacious and classically decorated. The food was mouthwatering and the service was faultless and I really regretted having to leave. Liza, the manager, went out of her way to assist us in any way she could and made us feel totally at home. I would highly recommend this venue to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastaDivaPretoria, Owner at Casta Diva, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Luisa, hosting group of guests like yourselves is such a pleasure for us and show that we are on the right track. We are eagerly awaiting you next performance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Pretty place with a nice restaurant and good service. Rooms were a bit small and a tad old. Beds were a bit short and not the most comfortable. In summary a nice pretty place with a full on restaurant which is very useful if you don't want to venture out in the evenings but the rooms even though very clean were a bit lacking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastaDivaPretoria, Owner at Casta Diva, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Anita,
Thank you for your feedback, the team and I are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay.
With your next booking, I would like to suggest to try one of the 5 new Village rooms, I am sure you will like them.
Hoping to see you again soon,
Alejandro & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
222 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We only stayed for one night but it was enough to notice how good this place is. They were very friendly, always eager to make you feel comfortable.
I will definitely stay in Casta Diva if I go back to Pretoria.
Congratulations to the owners and the staff

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank metorresf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastaDivaPretoria, Owner at Casta Diva, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Anita, thank you for your feedback. I would suggest with your next visit you book one of the new Village rooms, their look and feel is totally different from the pool cottages.
Hoping to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
5.8 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#12 of 73 in Pretoria
491 reviews
12.3 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#20 of 73 in Pretoria
137 reviews
6.5 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#6 of 73 in Pretoria
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Picture This - Pretoria North Lodge & Conference Center
2.0 mi away
Bohemian Rhapsody Guest House  &  InnTshwane Lodge
11.6 mi away
Opikopi Guest House
Opikopi Guest House
#2 of 359 in Pretoria
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casta Diva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casta Diva

Property: Casta Diva
Address: 67 Albatros Street | Ninapark, Pretoria 0156, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 359 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Casta Diva 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casta Diva, is a luxury and very private 4-star Boutique Hotel, Restaurant, Theatre, Art-Gallery, Function and Conference Centre that is nestled high on the northern slopes of the Magaliesberg amidst peaceful and tranquil surroundings which offers stunning views and an unsurpassed setting of natural beauty and elegance - an oasis of peace and serenity in the city. You are sure to have a memorable stay! The rustic charm of our historic mansion offers a world of luxury surrounded by natural beauty, our almost 2 hectares of lush sub-tropical gardens with lovely palm trees, cycads and various ferns, various terraces offer beautiful views, these views can be the perfect companion for a sun downer or a night cap. Enjoy our breathtaking African sunrise or sunsets. In all of our 27 rooms and our on-site restaurant we have solar powered battery back-up for the lighting, so the effect of the current load shedding effect is much less for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Casta Diva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing