We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Saturday Morning”
Review of Hazel Food Market

Hazel Food Market
Ranked #9 of 115 things to do in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover a uniquely international food market in the heart of Pretoria's old East - Menlo Park. The tastes and smells of the world will have your returning every week with food from Greece, Portugal and Italy to name just a few. Hazel Food Market is open every Saturday from 08h00 to 14h00.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A great Saturday Morning”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Excellent food of all varieties, including fresh meats, breads, cheeses and produce. Various ethnic foods as well, including authentic Indian, Malaysian, Moroccan cuisine. The chicken sandwich with hot Mozambican peri peri on a Portugese roll is my go-to. There is a "bouncy castle" moonbounce for kids, as well as picnic tables under the trees that provide some shade.

This market occurs almost every Saturday year-round, and has some craft offerings too. While Pretoria is generally a sleepy place, the Hazel Food Market is a great way to start your weekend with a mid-day meal before heading out for some nearby adventure.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ktowner6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    42
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Friendly and Full of Charm!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A regular haunt of ours on a Saturday morning this market oozes charm. There is such a wonderful variety of food here both ready to eat and to take home and make your own creation. There Morrocan, meat of course, breakfast, Chinese, Indian - the list could go on. There are also a number of things in the sweet line including beautiful cakes, fudges, crepes and ice-creams.

The stall owners are all very friendly and tend to remember people from week to week. Just be careful to watch you bank balance - every week I go with a certain budget in mind and normally end up spending double.

A lovely way to spend a Saturday morning!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Departed_Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“a part of Pretoria Saturday culture”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

A great market offering a wide variety of food and drink from different parts of the world. There is ample space for walks on the grounds, going from stall to stall no matter how busy the market gets. Children have entertainment too! In the middle of the market grounds there are tables and chairs for nibbling under the trees. We love going there on Saturdays.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Must do!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Wonderful food to eat there, to take home and prepare later! I spend hundreds of rands there almost every Saturday!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LinellErasmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Make it part of your Saturday rituals”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I spent the past 2 years of my life living in Pretoria. Now I am back in DC, and my Saturday ritual of going to Hazel Food Market is one of the things I now miss most about living in Pretoria and South Africa. I think almost every Saturday for the past year or more of my life in South Africa was spent at this market. It is located in Menlo Park in a cozy shopping nook. Food, flowers, fresh veggies, and activities for children. There is a play area for kids, as well as, the I Create team (who has there store there) has a sand art table. There is also face painting by the Faeries. It is also a great place to relax, people watch and enjoy some amazing food. Lamb brai, middle eastern food, Dim Sum (we became friends with the Polly who does Dim Sum every Saturday), beautiful variety of fresh flowers, cheeses, cupcakes, coffee bar, italian soda.......i can go on and on but the best way to experience is to try it for yourself. It's a must do activity and something that you will not regret. Let your taste buds and senses be tickled!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank amergalinpretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hazel Food Market also viewed

 

Been to Hazel Food Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing