We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark
Ranked #28 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Reviewed April 22, 2012

It was my second visit, must say warm welcome at reception, you do not wait too long to be assisted. The rooms are big enough, comfortable and cosy. Not bad for a weekend away accommodation. the convenience to access the mall is wonderful. With many eat out options.
Overall, i must say that all my business and social (friends) visits in PTA, i will definitely use this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zuluan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 157 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2012

Check in was efficient and friendly.

The room was on the smallish size. It was clean and functional. The power sockets covered most international plugs, however they and the desk light were loose and came out of their fittings. The a/c was poor.

The breakfast was good and the tables cleared promptly, however it can become a bit overcrowded.

The hotel has a small pool.

Small 30Mb free WiFi allowance, after which it is chargeable. However I did notice after I used the free allowance in the room I could then use the free allowance again in the lobby.
Tip - In most of the HIEx's I've used the renewal time is midnight so you can use the first free allowance in the evening and then again in the morning.

The hotel has direct access to an adjacent shopping center, beyond this there seems little to do or see in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lotse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

South Africa is supposed to be very-very dangerous and criminal. Staying at Sunnypark area was told to be really risky. Well, not at all! we walked a little bit around the hotel, took the taxi to train station, etc.

The hotel itself is a very good example of Holiday Inn Chain. Breakfast, wifi (though only 30 Mb free after that you are to go to ask for a voucher), efficient rooms (take ones facing the pool!), a roof pool. There is the entrance to the mall on the 2 floor where you can buy everything.

I should praise the manager: as platinum member we were allowed for late check-in, at 4 p.m.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank comnen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Good standard size clean rooms. Nice view from the top levels. Breakfast is good, there is no restaurant but there are plenty in the adjacent mall.
Parking available in the mall also (level 6 gives directly onto hotel lobby).

All rooms have a european/uk/us electrical wall socket which is handy. Internet: first 30Mb is free, then you need to pay.

All in all a good hotel just not very centrally located but in a neighbourhood where there is nothing to see or do.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dewisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Check in was quick and easy. Rooms are small but efficient. Bed was superb. Internet is very expensive. View from my room was awesome. Breakfast was simple, Nothing fancy just enough to get you up and going.

Overall the stay was pleasant and great value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McMuffin810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Holiday Inn Pretoria Sunnypark is a good property in Pretoria. The rooms are decently sized with excellent views from the upper floors. The hotel is attached to the Sunnypark shopping center which features some nice restaurant and fast food options. Parking is conveniently located in the mall parking deck and has a security guard overnight.

The only complaint was that the staff were slightly clueless about how to process a Priority Club reward night. Wound up wasting about 15 minutes for them to sort everything out, but they comped our parking as a goodwill gesture to make up for this. Very friendly staff also. All in all a good stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeanMendis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed here on our first night in South Africa. It was a clean and well maintained hotel. Not very used to large groups, it took a long time before our luggage was sorted. The rooms are clean, have a flat screen tv, a nice good working shower and comfortable beds. The dinner buffet was oke. Not much variety and some of the dishes were a bit cold. The staff however was very friendly, but again not very used to handling large groups as the bill took forever. But hey we're on holiday so it's oke, no stress ;-) And a nice touch was the direct indoor entrance from the hotel to the shopping mall next to it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RowenaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.5 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
0.9 mi away
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#20 of 73 in Pretoria
123 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#11 of 73 in Pretoria
517 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel 224
Hotel 224
#23 of 73 in Pretoria
114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Hotel Pretoria
Premier Hotel Pretoria
#18 of 73 in Pretoria
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark

Address: C/O Jeppe and Trevenna | Sunnyside, Pretoria 136, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range: $65 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark 3*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly built Holiday Inn Express Pretoria Sunnypark is ideally located in the heart of the Capital City of South Africa, Pretoria. Located above the newly renovated cosmopolitan Sunnypark Shopping Centre. The Holiday Inn Express Pretoria Sunnypark is surrounded by embassies, consulates, goverment departments and historical buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark Hotel Pretoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing