We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Would not be my first choice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cornerstone Guest Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pretoria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cornerstone Guest Lodge
Save
You added Cornerstone Guest Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #24 of 72 Hotels in Pretoria
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Would not be my first choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is an atmospheric guest house with little light in the evenings. Hard to walk around the place at night because of the lack of lighting. There are two very nice pools and a tennis court and is nicely decorated (you can see that during the day) The staff is nice; however, they are somewhat understaffed. The food is not great. In fact, some of the things I had were pretty bad. I recommend eating out especially dinner. The place is isolated; you cannot walk around because there is no where to walk; however, a mall is about 10 minutes away by car. Over all, I think it is overpriced for what you get, but if you are on a honeymoon or there when it is hot and can swim, it is probably a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Pick a room around the pool area. it is nice to be able to sit outside your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heywoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
9
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The rooms are very nice and the service is very good. The owner Lyn takes care of all your needs whateve they are. 2 nice small swimming pool and a Braii are completing the experience. I stayed here several months and I didn't have one complain to do.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was our last hotel on our roundtrip South Africa and it was the best!
We had a wonderfull stay and felt right away at home when the owner welcomed us. This woman knows what the word hospitality means! She gave us nice tips where to go in Pretoria and where to eat.
At home we saw we were given an upgrade to the Africa rooms, which were very beautiful and spotlessly clean. The bedlinnens were very very soft and the rooms were decorated with an eye for detail. Staff was shy, but most friendly.
Furthermore, it was very pleasant we could stay at the pool while our plane left at midnight without any extra cost.
We will recommend the accommodation whereever en whenever we can.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

I was lucky enough to stay here during an educational visit to South Africa during which we visited local schools.

The lodge is very secure and all the rooms are spacious, immaculate and uniquely decorated.

The pool areas were beautiful and there were plenty of nice cheap restaurants in the local area.

Lynn, the lady who runs this place, was an absolute gem!

If I ever revisit south Africa I would definitely include a few nights back here.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazza1283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

If you happen to be going to Pretoria for a stay ,look no further than the Cornerstone Guest Lodge . i have been staying there since it first opened 9 years.ago,
The Proprietor is a most wonderful person who can't do enough to make ones stay memorable.
put that together with a lodge that has very friendly staff ,is spotlessly clean and is in beautifull surroundings, .plus the added bonus of two swimming pools and beautifully appointed rooms then one couldn't ask for more
One can get an idea by logging onto ''Travel Channel South Africa cornerstone Lodge Pretoria ...
I can't wait to return

Room Tip: Each room is so nice, it is difficult to really say which is the best room i think for a young cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylvia j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
1.0 mi away
Casa Toscana Lodge
Casa Toscana Lodge
#33 of 72 in Pretoria
3.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
1.4 mi away
Town Lodge Menlo Park
Town Lodge Menlo Park
#30 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
1.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice by Marriott Pretoria Menlyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
AM Milner Guest House
AM Milner Guest House
#26 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Villas Luxury Suite Hotel
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
TC's on Lynnwood Guesthouse
#179 of 342 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerstone Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerstone Guest Lodge

Property: Cornerstone Guest Lodge
Address: 25 Camellia Avenue | Lynnwood Ridge, Pretoria 0081, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 72 Hotels in Pretoria
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornerstone Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the east of pretoria near many facilities such as various sports, shopping centres, hospitals, nrf, csir, botanical gardens with easy access to the n1 & n4 freeways. We offer high standard accommodation that would exceed all your expectations. For home relaxation we offer a library, two outdoor pools and a tenniscourt - we look forward to spoiling you ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing