We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kirstenbosch National Botanical Garden
  
Ways to Experience Kirstenbosch National Botanical Garden
from $16.99
More Info
from $19.69
More Info
from $92.22
More Info
Reviews (9,658)
Filter reviews
9,658 results
Traveler rating
7,255
2,032
320
43
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
7,255
2,032
320
43
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews canopy walk summer concerts moyo restaurant table mountain plants and trees stunning gardens cape town picnic basket bird life few hours natural beauty couple of hours skeleton gorge hop on hop off bus flora and fauna sunny day south africa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 9,658 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Did a quick birding tour of the Gardens and also enjoyed the plants. A great place to visit to get away from the buzz of the city.
Has places to eat and buy books and other items.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Steveklesius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was starting to drizzle as we headed over to the Kirstenbosch National Botanical Garden. Set against the eastern slopes of Table Mountain, this is known as one of the great botanic gardens of the world. It was a remarkable location, and I only wish we had a clear day to better appreciate the setting.

Unfortunately, it started POURING as we were walking the tree canopy path. It was a few minutes of a windy, torrential downpour that subsided to just a steady rain.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank rockon0630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Anyone who visits Cape Town should spend a few hours here. Apart from the peace and tranquility of this place, the plants and flowers, the fynbos, the view of the mountains is stunning. The elevated walkway through the trees will give you amazing views. Restaurant serves very good food too!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a GREAT place, for some that love's nature, birds, plants, sightseeing and "adventure". What great setup, As we were there on a "working" day, and it was packed with locals and many international guests. Some indication boards not so nice, sometimes confusing but also some informative (where you currently are and going). Just take note that you must make yourself ready for lots of steps.
Again kudos to COCT/parks dept for keeping the place in such a good condition and clean. Maybe one thing that bothers me is the chaps with their buggies, some of you maybe need to slow down and be on the lookout for the pedestrians and kids running around without supervision. And as locals, some things are just too pricey for our budget
But other than that make it part of your visit when in Cape Town

Sorry just one other thing, we are still looking for the bookshop!!!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank O6666QMvictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited at the end of a tour that covered the whole of the peninsula, so we only had a little over an hour in the gardens. It is an amazing place...very beautiful!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Trisha_Elliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews