We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are old and needs a desperate upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southern Sun Newlands
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“Rooms are old and needs a desperate upgrade”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Room was old and cramped with two double beds. The shower head in the bath tub gave more of a light spray than a shower of water. Wall mounted aircon was extremely noisy and kept us awake at night. Staff were friendly and helpful though. Breakfast was much better than we expected and the service was great.


  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Dennis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for your custom and for your detailed feedback.

Please allow me to apologise to you, most profusely, for the inconvenience that you experienced due to the maintenance issues in the room.

I do hope that this will not deter you from visiting us again, in the not too distanct future.

Kind Regards

Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    131
    32
    8
    7
See reviews for
115
64
20
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Really excellent. The attention to detail was beyond what I expect from a hotel chain. After finishing the marathon I was made to feel special by all of the staff and my family felt the same even though they were not running. I would recommend this hotel as the No1 for any Two Oceans participant

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and that the service met your expectation.

The Team looks forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The hotel each year we come back does this better and better. You feel you have become family as they remember you and treat you as a sports star. They arrange everything around race and afterwards. Perfect start

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank ianpat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for your continuous custom.

It is indeed a pleasure to welcome you back and to know that the service meets your expectations at all times!

In addition to the above we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards


Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights, and ran the Two Oceans. I will definitely run the race again, just so that I can stay in this hotel. Professional, helpful, friendly, superb breakfast. The treatment I received was as if I had won the race! Thanks.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LanaStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for your custom and for your feedback.

Congratualations on completing the Two Oceans! Well Done!!

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

The Team and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards


Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed here for one night during Easter weekend before the Two Oceans marathon. The staff were super helpful and had special water, towels and massage area for athletes after the race. Will sty again. Also very clos to Newlands rugby stadium.

Room Tip: Top rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsStorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us.

We are most pleased to know that the service met your expecations.

The Team looks forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

The reception staff was very friendly and accommodating as I used 2 travel agents to extend my stay for the weekend. The room was clean and spacious. I just love the linen Tsogo use in their hotels. The daily complementary bottled was was a nice touch. Breakfast @ Tsogo hotels are always a winner. You can see that the hotel has gone through a renovation recently, the only place I have to rate them down is the bathroom, it is tired and need a complete overhaul. All and all a great visit! Will be back later this year.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank fantafunbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay.

We have indeed had a refurb and our bathrooms are also scheduled for a soft refurb.

In addition to the above we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Nabila Cassim
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2014

It was good experience. I was made to feel comfortable. Staff were friendly. I would certain recommend the hotel to friends and colleagues. I also like the idea of having access to free wifi to work. T

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Lungile M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nabila C, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and for staying with us.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Nabila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,935 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,396 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Newlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Newlands

Property: Southern Sun Newlands
Address: 7 Main Road, Newlands 7700, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Newlands 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travellers that prefer to be outside the city centre, the Southern Sun Newlands is the perfect choice in Cape Town. Situated in this leafy garden suburb the hotel is close to the city and its many attractions, but quiet enough for a restful night’s sleep. The decor of the hotel is truly African and luxurious and its proximity to both the Newlands cricket and rugby stadiums is a bonus for many visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun Newlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Newlands Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing