We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Garden Court Than Southern Sun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southern Sun Newlands
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Certificate of Excellence
Durban
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“More Garden Court Than Southern Sun”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

The Southern Sun group categorizes its hotels by name. So the the Southern Sun category is supposed to be 4 star while the Garden Court category is 2-3 star. Having stayed at the Hyde Park Southern Sun (Johannesburg) and the Cullinan Southern Sun (Cape Town), I can confidently state that the Southern Sun Newlands is not on par with the other other hotels in the Southern Sun category. As far as the facilities, rooms etc are concerned this is more a Garden Court. Perhaps the company should look into re-categorising this hotel because it gives the hotel guest the wrong impression.

That said, I must state that the staff was magnificent. Never have I seen so many charming, friendly and smiling faces. Keep it up guys. You were great in spite of the heat wave you are experiencing.

The rooms were clean, bland - very average with the tiniest LCD TV. OK so you don't come to Cape Town to watch TV - but I was there for a week, settling my daughter into her first year at the University of Cape Town. The next irritating thing about thr room is the aircon. The rooms have individual aircons that hark back to the seventies - and they definitely showed their age. These were the nosiest things I have ever encountered and with the heat wave you had no option but to use them. The bathroom had a walk-in shower (which you can request instead of the shower/bath combo) and was perfect.

The breakfasts were adequate - I have had better at the Garden Courts(GC) especially the Sandton City GC. No egg station with waiting staff more interested in clearing tables than seeing to the needs of the guests. It was quite a battle to get coffee or tea. Breakfast is served at the Newlands Cafe - and room service comes from this restaurant. After sampling their offerings on our first evening, we decided that this was the worst meal we ever had and never returned. The Indian restaurant, Bihari, is excellent. We ate here on two occasions and our meals were absolutely scrumptious. I would highly recommend this restaurant. To those reviewers who felt rushed by the staff, remember you should set the pace. The staff just want to please and assume that quick service is what you want.

So will I come back to this hotel? With so many better hotels in Cape Town, I really don't think so.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheIdler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nunziab, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thankyou for taking the time to write such a detailed report on your experience at the Southern Sun Newlands. I will definitely share your positve comments with the staff. Glad you enjoyed your experience at Bihari this restaurant is a definite hit in Newlands both with locals and hotel patrons. Apologies for the negative aspects of your stay, I will be sharing them with the team and senior management. I am sure you will be travelling to Capetown often it will be great to meet you .
Kindest regards
Sebastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    129
    32
    8
    7
See reviews for
115
64
18
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

I've stayed at one of the Southern Sun hotels before, in Johannesburg. Their Newlands shop in Cape Town is just as bland as the rest. I stayed there for two nights last week. Nothing inspiring, but very clean and PRECISE! One of those hotels than can run without staff. Though the guys at the restaurant were a bit more relaxed. Nice hotel for business stop over.

Room Tip: Ask for the mountain view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LwandaMagere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nunziab, General Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our hotel. I am sorry to hear we did not Wow you However I appreciated the comment which referred to the team in the restaurant and I will share it with them.
Trust you will have a memorable festive season
Kindest regards
Sebastian Berinato
Genetal Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

I stayed here for one night only and found it to be clean tidy and friendly, nothing spectacular but a good well functioning business hotel.

Staff were polite and helpful and the integral Indian restaurant serves some of the best food I have tasted outside of India.

The rooms were standard with not much to shout about but tidy, clean and functional.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nunziab, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Dear Matt thankyou for taking the time to write this review. I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Cape Town.
Kindest regards
Sebastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Right in the heart of Newlands Cape town. This mainly corporate hotel caters for the business man but would amply cater for the tourist as a base for cape town. Beautiful views of the mountain, close to both Newlands Cricket and Rugby grounds and also used by both codes for the players to stay in when they play in Cape town, so don't be surprised if you find a Springbok, All black or Wallaby sitting across from you at the breakfast table in the morning.

Room service is fantastic, would definitely recommend their chicken liver pate starter. Quick and easy to get to the motorway and onwards to either the sites in Cape town or the WInelands which are about a 40 minute ride away.

The rooms are what you coem to expect from a top notch corporate hotelier, comfortable, with all the amenities.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with views of the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOVCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

One of those smart, clean utterly characterless hotels where one cannot find anything wrong, but stuggle to find an ounce of character. Its also seriously out of the way for most of Cape Towns main tourist spots, but good for a quiet sleeop over. In Cape Town? Why would you want that?

Room Tip: Ask for Mountain View. The otherside looks onto a boring office comlex
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatsoJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
156 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

I stayed at the Newlands Sun on a business trip for one night when I had a meeting nearby. Every member of staff I encountered was friendly, helpful and welcoming - they definitely exceeded my expectations. The room was comfortable and important to me, the bed and linen very good, I also liked the coffee plunger very much. This is quite an old property but the hotel has been renovated, it offers secure parking and is well located for the Newlands, Claremont, Rondebosch areas.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knowthegoodstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

The hotel is away from town, but convenient for the local sports grounds, Kirstenbosch etc. Staff were friendly and efficient, rooms were clean and well laid out. The coffee plunger is a nice touch - far nicer than the instant provided in similar places. Breakfast was good with a wide choice which is well presented and the cooked buffet kept fresh, rather than left to stew for hours. The only complaint I have is that the place is characterless! For over R1000 per night, there are some fantastic guest houses and B&Bs in the area that are far more interesting to stay in.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GPWJ_RSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,393 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Newlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Newlands

Property: Southern Sun Newlands
Address: 7 Main Road, Newlands 7700, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Newlands 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travellers that prefer to be outside the city centre, the Southern Sun Newlands is the perfect choice in Cape Town. Situated in this leafy garden suburb the hotel is close to the city and its many attractions, but quiet enough for a restful night’s sleep. The decor of the hotel is truly African and luxurious and its proximity to both the Newlands cricket and rugby stadiums is a bonus for many visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun Newlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Newlands Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing