We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, but a few unfortunate issues”
Review of Vineyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vineyard Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely, but a few unfortunate issues”
Reviewed June 17, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for a conference. It's beautifully located and the rooms are very modern and well appointed. We had a very comfortable stay. The breakfasts were amazing and the staff was extremely helpful. One staff member even knew that we were hoping to go to the top of Table Mountain and to Robben Island (both were closed for the majority of our stay due to weather conditions) and would update us every morning with a weather forecast and news on the facilitities. It would have been nice to have stayed closer to town, but a taxi can quickly be called and we only once got stuck in heavy traffic heading to the city.

The Square restaurant located in the hotel was amazing. Treat yourself to the tasting menu! Excellent service and cocktails to die for.

We also enjoyed high tea on our last afternoon which was thoroughly enjoyed in the garden.

Two unfortunate incidents:

One of my colleagues had cash stolen from the safe in her room. It was reported but there was little to be done about it.

The Angsanga Spa. I enjoyed my treatments but felt very ripped off on a massage that I booked for my mother. I got a full 60 minute massage as part of a package, and she signed up for the 60 minute head and shoulder massage. Hers only lasted 30 minutes, as the additional 30 mins was "complimentary relaxation time". WHAT?!? When I asked for an explanation on the discrepancy between my 60 minute massage (which lasted 60 mins) and hers, I was told that indeed it was not clearly explained on the list of services and they hoped to rectify this soon. No discount was offered. It was a shame because otherwise the spa was lovely.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceri007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    283
    68
    35
    18
See reviews for
194
494
59
351
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights two weeks ago and it was wonderful. The restaurants are very good and the rooms are great with the best views of table mountain you could wish for. Go for a walk in the garden for a real treat.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerandDeborahHALE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/ Cape Town
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

Stayed here due to 'volcanic ash' we'd driven by and thought it had a great location - right under table mountain. We'd always stayed in the Waterfront but are a little fed up with the millions of tourists wafting round as well as the high end shops.
Great hotel - good value but it was low season (I have just tried to get our room - we paid about £150 a night for a 2 bed cottage) for the start of Jan and have been quoted £800 a night! Typical Cape Town.....I'd pay less at The Ritz.....
The grounds are great as is the gym.
the 'nominal fee' to The waterfront is not nominal but about £9 each way per person - so drive yourselves! I'm not sure what some of these Southie's think we earn in Europe or what 'nominal' means but hotel prices are exceptionally high if you know what labour costs in SA.......
A good Cape town Hotel that can be good value at times

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catcalraph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

great hotel, great service, great food, great staff.

would love to go back

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MurraySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2010

South Africa has everything from monkeys to monkey business – be warned –at The Vineyard Hotel a booking made over the internet at a special offer price of £82 which appears reasonable, can turn into £196 per person per night, breakfast not included! Conditions involving their 'special offers' result in a default setting at their most expensive rate. Local calls made from hotel bedrooms anywhere in South Africa can be in the region of £5 per minute!! Ask for confirmation of your internet booking when you check in to a hotel! If they have ignored your original booking or changed the rate, kick start your smile and get out fast! I wish I had! A sedate drive of 20 minutes from The Vineyard, takes you into Cape Town proper where all the action is. South African B & B accommodation and hospitality is exceptional. The Vineyard’s courtesy bus at £18 pp for a round trip and will drop you at the V & A Waterfront, but be warned, they apply conditions to this as well. You have to book exact times and they won’t drop you anywhere else! This adds £36 to the rack room rate per night ! ! There are plenty of charming and very reasonable B & B's in Cape Town close to the the Hop on hop off Tourist bus! That vast crumpled velvet curtain, with scars and worry frowns that is Table Mountain and the cable car ride that takes you to its summit, is a metaphor for a country desperate for commercial respectability.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valnjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2010
When this booking was made a Special Offer was available at the Hotel, with amongst others the following clearly visible booking conditions:
-Available only for South African Residents
-Must be booked less than 28 days from arrival
-There must be room and rate availability.

The guest booked online 6 weeks prior to arrival and is resident in the UK. To complete the booking the rate quoted needed to be accepted and the rate offered was the Best Available Rate (BAR). Once the reservation process was completed an email was sent to the guest confirming the booking and the rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2010

Stayed three nights with colleagues in the new wing of the hotel. Lovely room, excellent restaurant and the setting is stunning.
A great place to relax and enjoy fine wines and food.
Best of all the hotel is only 15-20 minutes from the famous Cape Town Waterfront and around 25 minutes from the airport.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ameglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2010

I stayed here on a business trip, but I also took my family with me and we stayed in one of the new family rooms. Wow! It was amazing. We had a largish double bedroom with it's own large TV, and sliding doors opening out onto a small terrace which was completely surrounded by vegeation, thereby making the terrace completely private. There was a bathroom which was almost as big as the bedroom and separated from the bedroom by a glass wall (opaque at the bottom!). Then there was a really big lounge where the kids slept at night, which also had doors opening onto the terrace.
The hotel staff were great and would stop and say hello to the children even when we saw them out in the street when they weren't working!
The breakfast was the best hotel breakfast I've ever had, and when the weather was ok we could sit outside and eat, with views of the lovely gardens and giany tortoises wandering around. As well as the breakfast buffet which had everything under the sun on it (the freshly chopped - inn front of you - pinapple and strawberries were my favourite), there was also an a la carte breakfast menu. The kids loved the French toast with crispy bacon, and I dare anyone to order and finish the farmers omelette! They even had kippers!
In the evenings there were plenty of options for eating in the hotel, although we mostly ate in the bar (more of a lounge than a pub) due to the children. The food was of a very high standard and I particulary like the ostrich fillets.
There is an outdoor pool with plenty of sun loungers round it, and an indoor pool which is smaller but heated, and most days the children pretty much had this pool to themselves.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamingofpalmtrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,393 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
640 reviews
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
297 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vineyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vineyard Hotel

Property: Vineyard Hotel
Address: Colinton Road (off Protea Road), Newlands 7700, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vineyard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A preferred 4-star hotel for discerning Cape Town visitors, the Vineyard Hotel offers 208 luxury accommodation options, 2 award-winning restaurants, an acclaimed spa and fitness centre, indoor (heated) and outdoor swimming pool, free wireless internet, as well as a top-rated conference and functions venue. Set in an idyllic 7-acre garden estate on Table Mountain's eastern slopes, close to the airport, the city and the many delights of Africa's No 1 leisure destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Vineyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vineyard Hotel And Spa
Vineyard Hotel Newlands, Cape Town, South Africa
Vineyard Hotel Cape Town
Vineyard Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing