We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vineyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vineyard Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay in this hotel, the views from the mountain view room was amazing, room was very comfortable and clean. The grounds are outstanding with the tortoises wandering around and the river walk, superb. Staff were friendly and helpful. The photos do not do it justice. Would definitely recommend this hotel before a flight home.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Family07Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
We are grateful for the review and pleased that we could make the journey home just a little less stressful. Look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit South Africa.

Warm regards

Roy Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    280
    68
    35
    18
See reviews for
191
486
59
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
121 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

The existence of the Vineyard Hotel in Newlands has been known to us since the seventies, 40 years ago, but only now have we actually stayed there, since we got such a good rate, it was impossible to refuse. What a pleasant surprize awaited us. Much must have been added and done to the original hotel during the past 40 years because here was a very modern hotel with the latest facilities, and yet it has maintained in part something of the old character.The first impression one gets is one of modern elegance as one enters the lobby. Check-in was very professional as was the rest of the staff. The room was well appointed, and there was even a little garden one could step into from our room. Breakfast was very satisfactory, the a la carte dinner somewhat less so. The swimmingpool area was quite beautiful, set in a lovely garden. The fitness centre seemed to be very well equipped and attended. The Vineyard can justifiably claim to be one of the best hotels in Cape Town, and its saving grace is the good value for money one gets here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed here for about a week in December 2013. The hotel rooms are good, but the grounds and the setting are fantastic. The view of table mountain, when sitting at the pool or having tea in the garden is wonderful. The Spa is great and the on-site restaurant, Myoga, is amazing. Actually, I'd say Myoga is the best restaurant we went to in Cape Town and we have tried all of the top 10.
Being so close to the mountain does mean that the weather can be worse than you would have in camps bay, for example, but that was never really a problem. Stay here !

Room Tip: Get a mountain view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonathanSupaTravelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

In the breakfast restaurant, room and reception the staff attitudes were often rather uncaring and the service was very poor - particularly for a hotel of this price range. It's a pity because the setting, buildings and gardens are amazingly beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ausgiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Here the service is excellent, the food is outstanding. And of course the view is stunning. I have eaten at both the Mayoga restaurant and the Terrace restaurant recently and highly recommend both. A real treat.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

The vineyard is the home away from home when I travel to Cape Town. It has a personality! Sitting in the garden with a glass of pinto age and starring at table mountains is priceless. Definitely I must if you want to have a relaxed and unique stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tini_Geneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We decided to get married at the Vineyard after a fantastic stay last year.

Robyn van Oudtshoorn , took all the organisation for our wedding and put a fantastic day together for us. We can't thank her enough! Our day went above and beyond our expectations. The minister Peter Fox, photographer Jo Blair and the meal at the Square Restaurant were perfect.

We were kindly upgraded to a mountain view room with stunning views over the extensive gardens and Table Mountain. The room was extremely comfortable and well kitted out.

The food at the hotel is superb as is the service. The staff at the Vineyard are a credit to the hotel.

We are already looking at returning next year. This hotel has fantastic facilities, charm and is a perfect place to unwind whilst enjoying all Cape Town has to offer.

Couldn't recommend this hotel enough!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pastie1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vineyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vineyard Hotel

Property: Vineyard Hotel
Address: Colinton Road (off Protea Road), Newlands 7700, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vineyard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A preferred 4-star hotel for discerning Cape Town visitors, the Vineyard Hotel offers 208 luxury accommodation options, 2 award-winning restaurants, an acclaimed spa and fitness centre, indoor (heated) and outdoor swimming pool, free wireless internet, as well as a top-rated conference and functions venue. Set in an idyllic 7-acre garden estate on Table Mountain's eastern slopes, close to the airport, the city and the many delights of Africa's No 1 leisure destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vineyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vineyard Hotel Newlands, Cape Town, South Africa
Vineyard Hotel And Spa
Vineyard Hotel Cape Town
Vineyard Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing