We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standards slipping”
Review of Vineyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vineyard Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I've been visiting and staying in the vineyard for years. This stay was completely underwhelming. The hotel suddenly feels old (previous visit was in early 2012). The new hotel wing and the "value for money" prices mean this hotel is now packed. We couldn't get a seat as the swimming pool, nor eat breakfast outside. I must presume the staff are overworked as they are mostly grumpy. One particular incident sits in my mind - the staff refused to take our drinks order at 1030pm saying it was someone else's section. My understanding from the barman was the bar was closing at 11pm. So they were basically grumpy and evasive - not a winning attitude for a hotel! A shame as I was its biggest fan.

Room Tip: For the best mountain rooms, go for the rooms on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

776 - 782 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

The positives: Amazing views, beautifully landscaped gardens, outstanding service (by the pool, in the bar in the evening, at reception at both arrival and check out) and great food (especially the salmon trout and the steak at lunch), very comfortable room.

The negatives: breakfast was incredibly crowded and a bit chaotic. The prime seats outside were all taken by the time we arrived and we had to sit in corridor area near the buffet. However, the food itself was lovely - as was the service. The pool can get crowded and noisy (no surprise as we were there in peak holiday period), but we did manage to find a couple of loungers in a quiet part of the garden, and out waiter/attendant was very good at checking in on us at regular intervals.

Overall, a great hotel - but personally I prefer somewhere a little more peaceful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cambersberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed there for one night. Booked online at booking.com. That went well. So we drove there with the rental car. Their homepage has a button for you to click on for directions. That button does not work so you spend excessive time finding the place. The only thing we could do is to basically use the trial-and-error approach with almost every street in Newlands. Not very thrilling. We get there and check in. The lady at reception does not manage to secure a deposit on my card since she is unaware of how the credit card machine works. We go to the room. Reminded me of the first James Bond movies with a touch of an old dictator's office. Terrible. Dark. Depressing. We though decided to stay as it was only for one night. Went for a walk in the garden. They have a beautiful terrace. Took a seat and ordered some light snacks. Takes forever whilst the menu is not special at all. Things you prepare at home in 10 minutes. The take 20.

For dinner, we reserved a table at the signature restaurant. Mayogi or similar. They have a 7 course meal that sounds good. We went for that. So now they start to show their kitchen art. The dishes carry fancy names. Example: Beetroot Carpaccio. You know think of something creative, very thinly sliced. Wrong! It's two slices of beet root with some herbs thrown on top of it. Next once: Asian pork course. You know think of something rather spicy with an interesting combination of flavor. Wrong again! It's a bad version of what the chinese call the Chairman's dish. In China it's tasty. Here, it's just fat with a bad sauce, most likely out of a tin. Then, I am getting the japanese style course. I have been to Japan and nearly all other Asian countries but there is nothing in that soup that reminds me of Japan. It though reminds me of an empty ashtray after a few days. Disgusting. I had to spit it out. Meanwhile, my wife was getting very pale and quiet. As the restaurant kitchen is in the middle of the restaurant the place starts to smell extremely bad at around 8pm. It gets to the point that we had to step outside for a minute and as we got back, it was so bad that had left without finishing the main course and desert. My wife went ahead back to the room as she did not feel well and I paid the bill. Nice add-on: they added a surcharge for my chocolate desert that was not yet made given the chocolate was more expensive. I paid and that was it.

By the way, you have to order the 7 courses in the beginning. They claim that this is all pre-ordered and that no changes are possible. Total non-sense of course. The 3rd or 4th course did yet not come as ordered since they realized at short notice that they did not have it. What a disgrace.

After our stomach was well again, we went for breakfast. Very regular. Nothing special. Breakfast restaurant is squeezed full of tables and not comfortable at all. They also have a problem with keeping the buffet replenished. God knows why.

We then checked out. That worked. Asked for our car. They brought it. It was clean the day before. Now, it was standing in dirt as they had parked it outside underneath a tree. Very intelligent. We insisted on the car to be washed. Of course, not joyful for them since they wanted to get away with the dirt-ride they gave us. So, first we ask, then we tell, the we order. Then we get the manager on duty. He then sorts it out for the car being washed as they only wanted to blow off the dust at first. Takes half an hour the entire game. Half an hour of my free time. On my vacation. Having to listen to arguments, stories, lies and excuses.

This place is a disappointment that promises a lot and delivers nothing. Nothing at all. Expect a tremendous high bill, stomach pain, depressive emotions in the hotel room and lots of arguing back and forth with staff who tries to avoid proper work whenever possible.

Definitely the worst hotel restaurant on the developed world. The hotel is equally bad but I suppose there is worse.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RHW1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Outstanding hotel in a nice colonial style. There is nice terrace with a view on the beautiful garden and a (little) swimming pool.
The rooms are spacious and the staff is very friendly.
The location is suitable as Cape Town is only a short distance away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsaVandeBroek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Isa

Thank you very much for taking time to post a comment on our hotel.

Cape Town city center is indeed a short hop away. One can have the best of both worlds, gardens and tranquility, and city life when you want it.

Regards

Roy Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We had initially booked for 2 nights through Booking.com. We had to cancel the first night and we did this again through booking.com. however when we arrived to the Vineyard, they denied having received notice of the cancellation, told us to deal with Booking.com and charged us for the two nights. As we had a confirmation that we had cancelled, we insisted that they should do the negotiation and finally the receptionist, Chantelle, promised to do so and phone us with the outcome. She did not and it has left a bitter taste as the place is not cheap!
The gardens are beautiful and there is a nice pool. The hotel is comfortable but the interior designer went mad with lamps and the whole place, particularly the bedrooms are overdecorated. Dinner and breakfast were good and the proximity to the botanical gardens of Kirstenbosch an obvious asset. But at least for us, this was not good value or good customer relations.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sebastian70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your experience at the Vineyard.

Please accept my apology for our team not responding timeously too your enquiry. I do believe a colleague of mine has since rectified that.

I am pleased you did enjoy the pool and gardens. You visited at a very good time of the year to experience the natural beauty of Cape Town.

Once again, thank you

Roy Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I have stayed at the Vineyard Hotel for business over many years, and when we decided to spend 5 days in Cape Town for our Honeymoon, I booked straight away to share this beautiful place with my Husband. As a business hotel its incredibly reasonable, great rooms and facilities and AMAZING breakfasts but I've always been in too much of a rush to really enjoy it.

This time we were met at the Airport by a fantastic driver from the Hotel who had covered the car with rose petals and have our water and refreshing towels waiting. He then drove us up to Rhodes Memorial and brought out a picnic basket , blanket and champagne for us to enjoy looking over the city. Such an incredible way to start !

Once we arrived at the hotel, we were warmly greeted by all staff who congratulated us non stop, then upgraded us to a Mountain View suite. After enjoying lunch on the terrace we returned to our rooms to relax and there was a knock at the door. Housekeeping had arrived with roses, more champagne and a congratulatory note and small gift ( a photo frame). It was literally the best few days ever. We spent our time lying at the pool, enjoying the incredible view, had the tasting menu at Myoga , enjoyed spa treatments and drank far too much wine.

This is truly a magical hotel, the location, facilities and staff are all world class and we've already booked our next trip for 2014!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Katie

Congratulations to you both again on your nuptials.

I am so pleased you got to take your time to enjoy the property and gave us the opportunity to create some wonderful memories of the special time in your life.

Please don't wait for the next stay to be your 1st anniversary.

Warm regards

Roy Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Everything about this hotel was perfect! From the minute we arrived it was a relaxing experience. The view of table mountain is spectacular and the gardens are beautiful. Great healthy choices for breakfast as well as cooked options. We ate in the Square Restraunt on our first night and it was superb. The pool is a good size and the gym is well equipped. The staff are really friendly and helpful. It was hard to leave after 4 nights but will definitely return!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaelfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Michael

We are grateful for your comments on the Vineyard, in particular the gardens, our restaurants, our gym and the Spa.

It is also pleasing for the team to know that they have been able to contribute a wonderful vacation.

Kind regards

Roy Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
The Cellars-Hohenort
#4 of 5 in Constantia
429 reviews
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
343 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
662 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,573 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vineyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vineyard Hotel

Address: 60 Colinton Road, Newlands 7700, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Price Range: $161 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vineyard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A preferred 4-star hotel for discerning Cape Town visitors, the Vineyard Hotel offers 208 luxury accommodation options, 2 award-winning restaurants, an acclaimed spa and fitness centre, indoor (heated) and outdoor swimming pool, free wireless internet, as well as a top-rated conference and functions venue. Set in an idyllic 7-acre garden estate on Table Mountain's eastern slopes, close to the airport, the city and the many delights of Africa's No 1 leisure destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vineyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vineyard Hotel Newlands, Cape Town, South Africa
Vineyard Hotel And Spa
Vineyard Hotel Cape Town
Vineyard Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing