We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Luxury”
Review of Vineyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vineyard Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Great spot with beautiful rooms overlooking gardens and mountains - excellent spa and restaurant and they are "green" which is great. The service surpasses expectations and is very personable. We also took advantage of the excellent concierge service

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Jenny

From your comments it would seem you really got to use all our facilities. Thats what a hotel stay is all about. Hope your next trip is in the summer, the gardens and mountain views are spectacular.

Thank you for posting your comments.

Kind regards

Roy Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

849 - 855 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is really a remarkable hotel and my first visit to the hotel. The service was exceptional from check-in to the restuarant staff - The rooms were funky but still contemporary and lots of style. We had the tasting menu at the restaurant on the premises and it was 5 star plus- The knowledge of the staff ito the wine pairing was great - The garden in fantastic and a walk next to the river is a must to destress. Well done the entire experience was wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mmmmmnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

So few people take the time to walk along the river, but it really is a great part of the property. One can take a seat long the banks and just listen to the river. I am pleased you got to have this experience. So good at the end of a day to just relax to the sound of flowing water.

If you are down in winter again, try make it for one of the 12 wine paired dinners we do with local wine estates. They are always on a friday, so ideal for a weekend break. The schedule is on our website.

Kind regards

Roy Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

A green oasis near to the city. Having stayed at this establishment a number of times before, we were not disappointed when we again stayed for 3 nights in early April 2013. We were recognised and welcome-hugged by the restaurant staff, 'it kind-of-makes-you-feel-special', that they remember you. Excellent food and outstanding service, the staff cannot do enough for you, from the front desk to the table waitress.

Room Tip: Choose the 3rd floor mountain facing rooms - terrific views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1QuercusAlba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for capturing in essence a selection of our wonderful attributes. The local shopping mall Cavendish, is really a 2 minute walk or a quick shuttle ride away. And of course, in summer one can have breakfast on the patio looking out across the gardens at the Eastern Slopes of Table Mountain.

Once again, thank you for the review.


Warm regards

Roy Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was my fourth visit to The Vineyard and it never fails to impress.

The setting is truly spectacular with the backdrop of Table Mountain whilst the hotel has an elegant charm about it which is something a modern chain hotel can never offer.

The accommodation, particularly the refurbished rooms, are spacious and comfortable for a relaxing stay.

While many things make The Vineyard a stand out hotel perhaps for me the most stand out element is the staff who are first class. Staff are incredibly friendly and welcoming, service is attentive without being overpowering and everyone genuinely seems to enjoy their job.

I would definitely recommend The Vineyard for business or leisure travel

Looking forward to my next business visit in July already and plan to return with family later in the year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muchalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for commenting on the Vineyard. I am especially pleased to note the mention of the team. The are a number of long serving members who know our returning guests very well. We have a couple of staff who our guests won't let us retire, which is quite a tribute to the 'family' that has developed over the years.

Looking forward to meeting you at the Vineyard

Kind regards

Roy Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

With two nights on a plane and only on night in Cape Town, I could not think of a better place to stay. Room was superb (ask for a Mountain View if you can). Only wish I had more time to stay there longer and make better use of all of the facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for a Mountain View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lhrsydjfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Please return and spend a bit more time with us. It sounds like you may have enjoyed a visit to the Angsana Spa as well. Hopefully the next time is just around the corner.

Regards

Roy Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

My first business trip to Cape Town. This hotel came highly recommended by the company I was visiting. The rooms were greats, and the views were amazing. The food was good and the bar was a great place to hang and meet people. Would definitely recommend for business or leisure travel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Hans

Thank you for the recommendation posted for our hotel. The bar has a wonderful energy and some very interesting people who visit it.

I trust this is the first of many visits to us and Cape Town.

Kind regards

Roy Davies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Being my first trip to South Africa, the expectations were high and the Mountain facing room I was shifted due to water leakage problem in my courtyard facing room was pretty good. The breathtaking view of the Table Top with the first streak of Sun rays always makes the day special along with the service provided by the courteous crew.
Though I had some minor irritants - WiFi not functional for a long time, a/c not cooling etc - staying at the Vineyard is a super experience. The patio, the garden and the square along with their ever smiling staff do add to the lasting memories.
Two things I have missed - a carpet slipper and a magnifying mirror for shaving :) Not a big deal, anyways and I do hope to return in the future.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank kallolh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
The Cellars-Hohenort
#4 of 5 in Constantia
428 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
662 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,572 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vineyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vineyard Hotel

Address: Colinton Road, Newlands 7700, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Price Range: $162 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vineyard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A preferred 4-star hotel for discerning Cape Town visitors, the Vineyard Hotel offers 208 luxury accommodation options, 2 award-winning restaurants, an acclaimed spa and fitness centre, indoor (heated) and outdoor swimming pool, free wireless internet, as well as a top-rated conference and functions venue. Set in an idyllic 7-acre garden estate on Table Mountain's eastern slopes, close to the airport, the city and the many delights of Africa's No 1 leisure destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vineyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vineyard Hotel Newlands, Cape Town, South Africa
Vineyard Hotel And Spa
Vineyard Hotel Cape Town
Vineyard Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing