We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“At the foot of Table Mountain” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vineyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vineyard Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“At the foot of Table Mountain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Can't imagine a better place to stay in Cape Town, under the mountain and round the corner from Kirstenbosch botanical gardens. Friendly and (with the odd exception) extremely helpful staff, excellent airy rooms with bath and shower, gorgeous view of Table Mountain. The hotel was not busy and had thoughtfully upgraded us to a Mountain View room before we arrived. But it is the garden that makes the place - with copious bird life and a resident tortoise popular with visiting children. Tremendous buffet breakfast, with eggs cooked to order, which can be eaten in the inner courtyard restaurant, on the veranda or right out on the lawn under the trees. The one disappointment for us was the main restaurant which we tried on our first night. The menu is relatively expensive but the food looked good and tasted excellent when it eventually came. Perhaps this was a one-off - our waitress was evidently doing her best - but there seemed to be some problem with the kitchen and the production of food was incredibly slow. After that we ate less formally in the bar, which has a simple but excellent menu - try the beetroot and feta salad - perfect!
Hotel staff were extremely helpful in arranging visits to local attractions - ask them to book and your tickets up the mountain on line and print them for you to avoid the queue.

Room Tip: Mountain View rooms very much worth having.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacana2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments, please message me so I can check up on what happened to your meal in the Square. I am pleased that all the other dining was a great experience.

We appreciate the comments on the team as we share these reviews with them, our feedback to them is rest, but yours is priceless.

Next time you visit, you will have 7 other tortoises to find. A great way to keep the kids busy for awhile, asking them to locate all 8.

Regards

Roy Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    850
    274
    66
    34
    17
See reviews for
186
479
59
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
johannesburg
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel is beautiful, it has a big history which they are proud of, and rightly so. The rooms however are big, modern and very tastefully decorated. The most impressive part of the hotel are the beautiful gardens, after a busy time touring round Cape Town, this is definitely a place to catch your breath. We only had breakfasts, which were delicious.
The suggested run route round the suburb was much appreciated, and easy to follow. The gym was well equipped, and the pool was long enough to do laps in, or perhaps just to call it a day and relax on the sun lounger and look at the mountain view. The staff were very efficient and always on hand.
It is located in a good/safe residential area, not far from a very good shopping arcade.
It definitely lived up to all my expectations, and I hope to return one day!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wandaJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Appreciate the review, you will have to visit us next year when we celebrate our 120th Birthday as an Hotel.

Warm regards

Roy Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
288 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Beautifully appointed hotel, with spacious, well designed rooms, great mood lighting and garden views.
Hotel itself is lovely combination of colonial charm with garden outlook. Well equipped gym, heated pool, bar and two restaurants. Well priced wines and food, and well reviewed restaurant on site. Located in residential region, nestled under Table mountain, with friendly and attentive staff. One rainy night, there was a small wait for a taxi, so we were offered a complimentary drop off to our location by hotel driver.
To top it all off, the bed was massive and very comfortable. Even the little details like block out blinds to ensure a good night's sleep, were all taken care of.
Breakfast was included, and was very hearty, with lots of choice and good coffee to boot!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NataliePatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Natalie

We appreciate your comments, I have shared your comments with the team.

Hope to see you on your next trip across the pond.

kind regards

Roy Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

The hotel is conveniently situated with good access to motorway, shops and restaurants. Efficient and friendly staff. Beautiful gardens and spa to relax in. We found it most helpful to have the convenience of a driver to take us and collect us from the shopping centre when we needed to get our case repaired. The customer relations officer was extremely helpful and friendly and offered good advice.

Room Tip: The mountain facing rooms have excellent views and are bright and sunny (weather dependent, of cours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Heather

Thanks for the post. Isn't the mountain just imposing when viewed from your room?

Warm regards

Roy Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

the Vineyard Hotel and Spa was my first stop in Cape Town. It's a beautiful hotel with 3 restaurants, pool, spa and a beautiful view from the rooms of Table Mountain. I stayed in Room #356. The staff were very helpful especially Rainardt (sorry if I mi-sspelled your name) and Heidi and really the whole staffwere great. I am off for Stellenbosch and their sister hotel the Oude Werf this afternoon.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 356, facing Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peregrino00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments about the hotel and team including Reinhardt and Heidi. Please to see you enjoyed your stay at our little, but older sister in Stellenbosch. (Oude Werf Hotel). She is the oldest hotel in South Africa.

Kind regards

Roy Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the restaurants on site - Myoga and The Square. We had dinner in Myoga on New Year's Eve which was an incredibly experience - 7 courses and amazing wine. However, the main hotel restaurant was delicious and we ended up eating here on our other two nights we stayed here. Everything I ate here was delicious.

The rooms were nice but quite small. However, the views of Table Mountain are stunning and while the position of the hotel means it can get quite cool because of the wind, the views are worth it.

The hotel was very busy when we arrived but our last day was much quieter and the pool area much more tranquil.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen_Carroll14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Helen

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Did you also get to sit on the patio and watch the sunset?

Regards

Roy Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
437 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

The Vineyard has a nice set up, excellent service, good restaurants and the new rooms are quite good. The breakfast service is very good and the travel desk offers a good set of day trips and other tourist attractions. While the service is very good everywhere, the front desk is in particular exceptional.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Carlos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Carlos

Wow, thanks for the review, especially on the Front Desk Team. We have shared this with them. Did you get to count the freshly baked items on the Breakfast Buffet? Everything is done in house, and a minimum of 35!

Warm regards

Roy Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,642 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vineyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vineyard Hotel

Property: Vineyard Hotel
Address: Colinton Road (off Protea Road), Newlands 7700, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vineyard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A preferred 4-star hotel for discerning Cape Town visitors, the Vineyard Hotel offers 207 luxury accommodation options, 2 award-winning restaurants, an acclaimed spa and fitness centre, indoor (heated) and outdoor swimming pool, free wireless internet, as well as a top-rated conference and functions venue - all set in an idyllic 7-acre garden estate on Table Mountain's eastern slopes, close to airport, city and the many delights of Africa's No 1 leisure destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Vineyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vineyard Hotel Newlands, Cape Town, South Africa
Vineyard Hotel And Spa
Vineyard Hotel Cape Town
Vineyard Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing