We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vineyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vineyard Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I keep coming back because it is welcoming and unpretentious. If you book in advance, the room rates are also very reasonable given the high quality of the rooms. Expect to pay a premium for mountain view rooms: the views ARE stunning, but they can also be enjoyed from the bar, pool area and patio. The courtyard view rooms are slightly bigger, and don't feel like the poor relation in any way, so unless you plan to spend a lot of time in your room I wouldn't advise paying the extra.
The original building (the rooms are in a modern extension) has amazing history and many artefacts of colonial days have been preserved and are on display. It is a family run hotel and I think it is a positive sign that the staff turnover seems very low as I recognise the same faces each time I come back. Lovely artwork in the rooms.
Full marks for the on site spa (Angsana). Genuine Thai treatments as they bring therapists over from Thailand on two year secondments. So if you like a massage that "means business" this is the place for you. Best massage I've had outside of Thailand.
The only thing that baffles me slightly is the continued absence of miso soup on the sushi menu. Haven't tried Myogo but it does look a little bit pretentious - as suggested by another reviewer.

Room Tip: They are all good in my experience (stayed several times)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShelleyStans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    278
    68
    34
    18
See reviews for
190
485
59
341
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
115 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

The Vineyard hotel is situated in one of the most beautiful areas of Cape Town. The rooms are spacious with beautiful views, the service is efficient, the food is good, but there is someting missing for me. It is difficult to pinpoint, but I have always left the hotel with this same feeling when I have stayed there. On my last visit I also used the conference facilities and it is not the best that I have come across in the area. My biggest disappointment was probably the dinner that we had in Myoga. The service was very good and professional and the food was well-presented and tasty. However, I have never come across such tiny portions at the inflated prices that they are charging.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whalerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

The old house section is rich in history, take the time to read Lady Barnard's diary extracts and pictures on the wall - there is much humor, observation and insight into the life of the times.

Location: (Mercifully) away from the regular tourist beat at Camps Bay etc but easily accessible to anywhere in CT. Safe to walk around, very pretty area, near Cavendish centre and within minutes cab ride from anywhere. Hotel cars pricey but exclusive, safe and reliable. Guest service will also ring for outside cab which is metered - more economical but still reliable and good clean cars.
Room: Comfortable, large and airy. Courtyard ground floor rooms have access to opening doors onto the private courtyard (not the access door) Airy and bright. Wasn't crazy on the twin beds but no real matter. Room was quiet and clean. Bathroom a little chipped but of quality. Some other rooms seemed to be refurbished. Quiet nights of sleep.
Ambience: The bar/lounge has perfect view over their landscape garden and the side of the mountain which makes a complete panorama. Great to meet friends there or just sit and enjoy. Most people in there seemed to be Capetonian either having a drink, eating, some working on lap tops or just meeting their mates. The largely local clientele in the lounge made for a more relaxed and stress free environment.
Food: Breakfast outstanding with friendly staff. Don't take breakfast at peak time if you can help it and want the most out of the beautiful room. If there are families with young children it may be a little crowded! Like the bar/lounge seemed to be a number of Capetonians who stopped by for breakfast too. Good sushi too and wine menu.
Staff: Very friendly and helpful though I make a habit of not testing things unless I really have to. Capetonians are a breed apart from the rest of the country, especially the hard and unforgiving Gautengers.
Gym: Personal trainers who are happy to advise and help if one wants, but a well equipped stylish gym with the same wonderful view. Madee that 1&1/2hrs of the day less of a gruel :)

The Vineyard's stylish ambience is perhaps not ideal for young families but this is a good place from which to enjoy Cape Town's softer edges.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morgan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was a perfect stay!! BUT we were upgraded to a Mountain View room from a Courtyard room, and this definitely made the difference....to lie in bed and watch the changing colours of the mountain through huge 'picture' windows and glorious fresh mountain air. Just so comfortable with everything you need. We could fault nothing!! The breakfast buffet was outstanding, absolutely everything there that you could think of...... even aromatic cappucinos. We ate dinners at the hotel too , and lunches on the terrace, because the quality and freshness of the food was superb. No need to go anywhere else. Pure relaxation. very expensive, i think its primarily a business hotel, but just perfection. But i wouldn't have liked a courtyard room. In our world travels this is definitely one , of the two, hotels that we have found PERFECTION.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms are the only way to go!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vikki b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Vineyard Hotel & Spa really is quite something special...

Great rooms, modern bathrooms, all the mod-cons.

The gardens are spectacular.

But the BEST part is the Angsana Spa - it is reraly amazing, and no trip to the Vinyard would be complete without a visit to the spa.

Do it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peacefreak67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franschhoek, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I was on buisness this weekend in Cape Town and stayed at this fanatstic establishment.
Great winter special for a courtyard facing room when on Budget as I was. The Breakfast is really one of the best in the country and adds an extra something to your stay here.
Can't wait to visit again and I can highly recommend this as one of the Cape's premier hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

I have stayed at the Vineyard several times for business. The hotel manages to treat each guest as special visitor. Despite its size the hotel still feels homely. Not a small accomplishement for an establishment of this size. Rooms are excellent, spacious with fine beds and place to actually work. Food is delicious and the wine list is extensive. The vineyard offers excellent value for money in South Africa's most expensive city. The only drawback is that the hotel is in the southern suburbs so allow at least an hour for trips into the city or to the nothern suburbs, even more at peak times.

Room Tip: Mountain facing rooms are preferable. If available request an upgrade to a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vineyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vineyard Hotel

Property: Vineyard Hotel
Address: Colinton Road (off Protea Road), Newlands 7700, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vineyard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A preferred 4-star hotel for discerning Cape Town visitors, the Vineyard Hotel offers 208 luxury accommodation options, 2 award-winning restaurants, an acclaimed spa and fitness centre, indoor (heated) and outdoor swimming pool, free wireless internet, as well as a top-rated conference and functions venue. Set in an idyllic 7-acre garden estate on Table Mountain's eastern slopes, close to the airport, the city and the many delights of Africa's No 1 leisure destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vineyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vineyard Hotel Newlands, Cape Town, South Africa
Vineyard Hotel And Spa
Vineyard Hotel Cape Town
Vineyard Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing