We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in the world!”
Review of Vineyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vineyard Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best hotel in the world!”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We first visited the hotel on our honeymoon and fell in love with the service and location 14 years ago. We then went back every year until 4 years ago as we loved it so much. During this time the hotel looked after me during 2 pregnancies with the kitchen accomodating bizarre requests for scrabbled eggs at 9pm at night and have watched our 2 children grow up (now 6 and 9). The staff are exceptional, the food amazing and the overall atmosphere in the hotel absolutely unique. We decided to take a break and visit other places and then returned this Christmas to wonder why we had ever taken a break. In our 4 year absence the hotel has gone from strength to strength with service being utterly professional, the accomodation upgraded and stunning facilities. I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katharine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    892
    287
    68
    36
    18
See reviews for
195
502
59
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bourne
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We arrived at the Hotel about 7 am feeling a little jaded. We were dealt with immediately and a room was already for us. All members of staff were helpful, polite and happy. We could not fault the service throughout the hotel at all and thoroughly enjoyed our experience there. It was spotlessly clean, food was great, we would certainly go back again and it is one of the few hotels that we would happily recommend to others.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We arrived late Saturday evening and were greeted warmly by the staff who dealt swiftly with the car, the luggage, the check in, and our request for a light meal, even though the restaurant was closing. Our garden facing room was lovely and throughout our four night stay I kept wishing the Vineyard Hotel were closer to home because I'd stay here often.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeniorTravelers8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed at the Vineyard for 5 nights early Jan 2012. The hotel was well located, and we travelled all over the province from this base, which is beautifully located close to the mountains. The room was neat and tidy - though the quality of the television and reception and channel selection fell way short of the mark. The service was good, and we felt special. All in all - lovely!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SATraveller031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

An excellent hotel with superb service. As I walked up to reception I was welcomed warmly by Vo Vo (spelling could be wrong) and I was immediately impressed, but this friendly attitude continued throughout the holiday from all the staff in all departments. The food was excellent in all the restaurants. My personal favourite was the Springbok Wellington closely followed by the fish dishes. We loved wandering around the gardens finding different little paths every day. We will certainly be returning in the future.

My one negative comment is that if you select a Courtyard Room you find that you are facing another block which is not obvious when you watch the video. I will ensure I book a mountain facing room next time.

Room Tip: Keep away from Courtyard rooms if you like a view. Rooms themselves are fine though
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thegardenerNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We have stayed at The Vineyard many times since the mid-nineties, and have never been disappointed. Glorious setting, excellent service and good food. The staff are as friendly as you will find anywhere.

Room Tip: Mouton facing are the best -and priciest. Courtyard facing are cool and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morges, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed four nights and had a junior suite with a private garden. Breakfast buffet is exceptional with fresh orange juice, freshly cooked eggs.
The restaurants in the hotels are quite fancy but not too expensive.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
323 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,407 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,719 reviews
The Cellars-Hohenort
#4 of 5 in Constantia
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vineyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vineyard Hotel

Property: Vineyard Hotel
Address: Colinton Road (off Protea Road), Newlands 7700, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vineyard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A preferred 4-star hotel for discerning Cape Town visitors, the Vineyard Hotel offers 208 luxury accommodation options, 2 award-winning restaurants, an acclaimed spa and fitness centre, indoor (heated) and outdoor swimming pool, free wireless internet, as well as a top-rated conference and functions venue. Set in an idyllic 7-acre garden estate on Table Mountain's eastern slopes, close to the airport, the city and the many delights of Africa's No 1 leisure destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vineyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vineyard Hotel And Spa
Vineyard Hotel Newlands, Cape Town, South Africa
Vineyard Hotel Cape Town
Vineyard Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing