We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel”
Review of Vineyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vineyard Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed here with a group attending a meeting, but mostly on holiday. The hotel was ideal. The food, restaurant and ambience were perfect. Our only quibbles were with the patchy wi-fi service, which was erratic, and also subject to a limit of 200Mb., which with iPhones etc. is ridiculously low. We also had problems with adjusting the temperature of the shower - presumably no pumped pressure system? I haven't found this problem in a hotel for some years now. Another small gripe was the shortage of plugs in the bedroom for the multiple chargers one seems to travel with now. The staff were splendid and could not have been more helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crevlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,082 - 1,088 of 1,331 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights with my spouse, in a mountain facing junior suite. Had the pool, gym and spa right at our door, all modern, whilst the main and very historic building of the hotel had really good lounging areas, restaurants and bar. The staff at reception were very professional, and with an odd exception here and there, the hotel staff in general were friendly and efficient in their service. My wife had the very best time in the spa, and will certainly recommend it to anyone who wishes to be pampered.
As for me, I had no wifi coverage due to an outage or problem in the hotel's service whilst we were staying there, but enjoyed having those moments alone where I could focus on work or walk through the stunning little garden to clear my head. Will recommend this establishment to anyone visiting the city.

Room Tip: A very short walk from the hotel will take you to the wonderful Cavendish Square shopping mall, whil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed at the Vineyard Hotel for one night, for one of their wine pairing dinners (VERY good value for money!). The food and wine was excellent, very classy and elegant dinner.

The hotel itself has a lot of old-world class and elegance, and are situated in a quieter side street close to all the main routes and attractions of Cape Town. We had a spacious room at the back of the hotel, with a lovely view of Table Mountain and the hotel gardens.

The rooms seem well-maintained and are very clean with all the modern amenities. We were quite impressed with the effort this hotel makes to be environmentally friendly: gray water (from bath tubs and showers) are collected and re-used for toilets and irrigation of their gardens, hotel cards/keys are printed on recyclable board, recycled paper are used wherever possible, plastics are cut down to a minimum in favour of glass (even the jams we got for breakfast were in little glass containers instead of the usual plastic), bathroom soaps are wrapped in paper instead of plastic, left-over food is apparently redistributed/composted/recycled, etc.

At the back of the hotel there is a spa, big pool and garden, but we unfortunately could not really make use of it due to being there for a very short time. The garden is quite an attraction though: set on six hectares of land, with walkways and benches running along a small canal.

If you want to spoil yourself or your partner, go stay at this hotel. We'll certainly be back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tpepler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I will struggle to tell you how good this place was. The Staff were some of the best people I have ever found in a hotel anywhere in the world, they were absolutely brilliant. The food and rooms were top class and the scenery - WOW! It is truly a gem of a hotel and they deserve all the praise they get. Anyone who does not give this hotel 5* is mad as there are very few places in the world where they get it this right. Well Done Vineyard!!!!!!

Room Tip: Go for floor 3 as you get table mountain in all it's glory
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BR0WNTR0UT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Stayed only 1 night there at the end of a tour. Very nice hotel. Food and service first class. Rooms very modern, which is a bit surprising since this is a historical building with a history of over 200 years. Beautifull garden. Separate smokers room. Big shopping mall within walking distance.
1 night certainly not enough to find out about all the goodies, but what we saw we certainly liked.
Breakfast buffet is excellent. Diner likewise.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank francois d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Great 7 nights in August, perfect start to our holiday in SA. Ideal location and just outside Cape Town Bedroom was excellent as was the food and service, breakfast was the best yet tremendous variety and good service The gardens surrounding the hotel are beautiful.

Room Tip: We had a Courtyard which was excellent overlooking pretty garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

I have been staying at the Vineyard for over 15 years now and even though it is the 'wrong side of the mountain' from where I need to be for business I am happy to do the drive across the mountain into the City and Waterfront in order to appreciate and enjoy the special setting of the Vineyard. The gardens are beautiful and framed by the majestic mountain in the background. Being a regular does mean I often get room upgrades; I also appreciate the transparency of their pricing policy and 'special offers'. Always worth ensuring you have sufficient time for the best breakfast spread of any hotel I have ever stayed in; seriously! Excellent pool and gym facilities; well I've only used the pool but the gym equipment looks impressive! Only aspect of hotel I don't really like is the turnover of front office/reception staff; lot of trainees. I prefer to get to know regulars and for them to know me.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the garden suites and then mountain view rooms but the courtyard view rooms are l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GCR484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
The Cellars-Hohenort
#4 of 5 in Constantia
429 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,423 reviews
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
662 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,575 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#35 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vineyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vineyard Hotel

Address: 60 Colinton Road, Newlands 7700, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Price Range: $159 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vineyard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A preferred 4-star hotel for discerning Cape Town visitors, the Vineyard Hotel offers 208 luxury accommodation options, 2 award-winning restaurants, an acclaimed spa and fitness centre, indoor (heated) and outdoor swimming pool, free wireless internet, as well as a top-rated conference and functions venue. Set in an idyllic 7-acre garden estate on Table Mountain's eastern slopes, close to the airport, the city and the many delights of Africa's No 1 leisure destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vineyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vineyard Hotel Newlands, Cape Town, South Africa
Vineyard Hotel And Spa
Vineyard Hotel Cape Town
Vineyard Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing