We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view from patio.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kidger House Guest House
Ranked #10 of 29 Newlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This guest house is centrally located, just off a busy street in a surprisingly quiet location.
The room is well appointed with a big double shower. It has a big shady patio where breakfast is served, weather permitting.
The lovely pool provides lovely ambiance, even if not used.
The service is impeccable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ansie7ster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 62 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

Really great place in a beautiful area, venue is run by a lovely lady by the name of Delia who was a fantastic host and cooks an excellent breakfast. Lovely gardens and pool to swim in, plenty of old-world charm.


  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DomO1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

A really warm welcome after a long tiring trip by Delia. Very well appointed rooms and a lovely garden. Stunning breakfast, different every morning. No request was too much for Delia.. we are well rested after a 4 day stay at Kidger House... Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I had a great stay at this guesthouse in Cape Town. The place is very clean with a nice and well maintained garden that has all kind of flowers and herbs for your morning breakfast or afternoon tea. The landlord, Lidia, pampered me every morning with her breakfast cook-to-order style, ans she is a pleasant lady to stay with. I felt at home, and it made my vacation much more enjoyable. If you are looking for a B&B accomodation, look no further this place is for, you will your privacy and recieve a good value for your money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Zaki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Very pleasant stay. Quiet, lovely scenery sitting having breakfast on the verandah and the room was very roomy and the bathroom clean & easy to fit into. Delia was most helpful when needed and cooked a great breakfast. Would recommend this place for anyone looking for good quiet accommodation close to Table mountain and surrounds.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The room was spotless clean and comfortable
The people were friendly and very helpful.
Newlands is a quiet, safe neighborhood and I liked to walk around a lot.
The food was great, and the weather was really fine.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Adebayo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The feeling of all-my-home-comforts at Kidger House is upstaged only by Delia's (The Manager) professionalism and warmth. Whether you are on business or holiday, this house is extremely comfortable. The beautiful gardens with Table Mountain as a backdrop make an ideal setting for unwinding. The (very) quiet streets around the guest house also lend themselves well to evening walks and jogs. If you prefer privacy, I would recommend the cosy Fountain Suite with its own little patio, plenty of lemon trees and other flourishing greenery. The only downside was the Wi-Fi connection which was intermittent, and available only in some sections of the house and not others. Hopefully this is something that will be looked into. I had a lovely time at Kidger House (thank you Delia) and will definitely go back next time I'm in the Cape region!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shatul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newlands hotels
0.6 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,363 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
1 mi away
Number Four Park Lane
Number Four Park Lane
#21 of 29 in Newlands
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jaqui's Garden Guesthouse
Jaqui's Garden Guesthouse
#12 of 29 in Newlands
47 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wild Olive Guest House
Wild Olive Guest House
#1 of 29 in Newlands
354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Au Pear Boutique Guesthouse
Au Pear Boutique Guesthouse
#14 of 29 in Newlands
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kidger House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kidger House Guest House

Address: 11 Cannon Street | Upper Newlands, Newlands 7700, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Newlands
Price Range: $100 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kidger House Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovingly restored Cape Dutch style house set on a quiet, oak-lined street in the heart of trendy Newlands. With very impressive views of the eastern aspects of Table Mountain, guests unwind to the sound of water and wind chimes in the tranquil garden. Contemporary, stylish bedrooms include WiFi, TV, Stocked Bar fridge, heater and tea tray. Swimming Pool. Close to NewlandsRugby & Cricket, UCT and Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens. Beaches and Waterfront within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Kidger House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kidger House Guest House Newlands, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing