We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Glenhaven Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glenhaven Cottages
Ranked #6 of 27 Newlands B&B and Inns
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Class Stay”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Six guys, on a Rugby Test weekend, so we were a rather noisy bunch. This was no hassle for Sue, who treated us like family. The rooms are cosy without being small and the location is just perfect. I can definitely recommend this place.
Thanks
Phil Tregoning

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJoustra, Owner at Glenhaven Cottages, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Peter
Many thanks for your very kind words. I would love to meet you personally next time you visit and hope that Courtyard Cottage will be available for you then. Thank you for coming to stay and I agree with you about the water. It is the best.
Kind Regards
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
19
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

From the moment we arrived at near midnight to receive a warm welcome from Dave, who was standing in for Sue, the proprietor, we knew we were in a home, not a hotel. We were shown to our very well upstairs loft room, which had a good size double bed, a dining table for four in a beautiful sunny nook by the small balcony overlooking the pool, a well equipped kitchenette, a small lounge suite and s very good shower en suite. the place is furnished like a home, not a hotel in comfortable cottage style and plenty of pictures hanging (not screwed to) on the wall, and ornaments. The place was pleasantly cool, but there is a large air-conditioned if things get hot.

Breakfast was served on the sunlit patio by the pool by the capable and cheerful Malawian housekeeper/manager. A good breakfast with fresh fruit salad, cereals etc. and all the eggs and toast you would expect in a country B&B.

The Glenhaven is well situated in the shadow of Table Mountain in a very nice garden. Newlands is very conveniently located for access to trains, buses and road connections to all the many attractions of the Cape, and there are several excellent restaurants within a few minutes walk, as well as a big supermarket and shopping centre.

When there, you will be introduced to Newlands spring water which flows from a natural spring just a few hundred meters from the B&B, and is about the best tasting water I have ever had. It is served in the B&B and available in the rooms, but we liked it so much we went via the spring each morning and evening to top up with extra water.

If you like to feel as if you are in a home not a hotel, but still enjoy the privacy of your own suite, then it does not come much better than this. At R750 (US$75) per day for both of us, it was also excellent value.

Room Tip: The "Swiss Cottage", where we stayed is really charming and convenient. For a bit more roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJoustra, Owner at Glenhaven Cottages, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Glenhaven. Much appreciated.
Regards
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I have been staying at Glenhaven Cottages for a few years now whenever I visit Cape Town. I always have my same Art Room which I love. Sue is a superb host and is always helpful and friendly. I would recommend Glenhaven to anyone - your stay would most comfortable. Breakfast on the patio is a real treat!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rita v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJoustra, Owner at Glenhaven Cottages, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you Rita for your very kind, positive words. I really appreciate it. Regards
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had a wonderful time and was looked after very nicely. Very close to Newlands and lots of social spots which was a huge plus for us. Very safe area to walk where you need to get to. Great breakfast and good service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PRVisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJoustra, Owner at Glenhaven Cottages, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you Rudi for taking the time to write the review. Hope to see you again. Regards Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Had such an amazing stay at Glenhaven during our visit to Cape Town. Sue was so welcoming, and her Cottage was so homey. The location is superb, close to main road and shops yet still very quite and secure. I would definitely recommend GlenHaven to anyone visiting Cape Town. Was able to keep in touch with family and friends through out the stay as the Cottage has WIFI connection, which is always a plus.

Thanks to Sue and Mustapha once again for the lovely stay. Looking forward to coming down again soon.
Regards,
Tas and Tsidi

Room Tip: Stayed in 2 rooms during my stay, and both equality as fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tasia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJoustra, Owner at Glenhaven Cottages, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hi Tasia
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review on Tripadvisor. Much appreciated.
Regards Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at Glenhaven Cottage. It was raining and freezing, but the room was lovely, cozy and warm (heater). Nuts and dried fruit on arrival. Sue made me feel very welcome and Mustapha, the cook, even offered his umbrella when he realized that I wanted to walk to my conference venue (only two blocks away). I would love to go back and strongly recommend this stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJoustra, Owner at Glenhaven Cottages, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hi Suzette. Thank you very much for your positive review. I'm glad you were warm and comfortable and look forward to your next visit.
Regards Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We enjoyed the central location, being close to Table Mountain, Kirstenbosch Gardens and the Cape Town City. The Room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The free Wifi (Wlan) enabled us to email and Skype. Secure parking on the Premises meant Peace of Mind at night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJoustra, Owner at Glenhaven Cottages, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Many thanks for the positive review. I look forward to having you stay again in the future.
Love Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newlands hotels
0.2 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun Newlands
Southern Sun Newlands
#1 of 3 in Newlands
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wild Olive Guest House
Wild Olive Guest House
#1 of 27 in Newlands
303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riversong Guest House
Riversong Guest House
#4 of 27 in Newlands
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jaqui's Garden Guesthouse
Jaqui's Garden Guesthouse
#12 of 27 in Newlands
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenhaven Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenhaven Cottages

Property: Glenhaven Cottages
Address: 16 Glenhof Road, Newlands 7700, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Newlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenhaven Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenhaven Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenhaven Cottages Newlands, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing