We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Oak and Vine Guest House
Ranked #3 of 29 Newlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Elizabeth, Bequia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hospitality at its best”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I spent 8 wonderful days at the Oak and Vine in January 2014 and what a happy time it was!
The accommodation was spacious. tastefully decorated and beautifully maintained.
Breakfasts were a delight with attentive service by the staff Derrick was the perfect host and I thoroughly enjpyed my stay. What more can I say!!!!

Room Tip: The King Protea is the place to be although all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    30
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
41
19
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed a total of five nights and we enjoyed outstanding, friendly hospitality and can't recommend the O&V enough! Excellent breakfasts, good location in a superior area of Cape Town, comfy beds with a view of Table Mountain.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrantLuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We booked to stay at the Oak and Vine as part of a package deal with the Kalula Airline and are SO pleased that this accommodation was part of the deal. We had the most relaxing and enjoyable 4 night stay at this quiet and peaceful location. The attention to tasteful details leaves most other similar places in the shade. Set in a lovely garden environment alongside an attractive park, it is very conveniently located in Newlands within easy reach for shopping in Rondebosch and Claremont as well as other smaller shopping options.
We were most grateful for the effective air conditioning during the heat wave.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful and any requests are dealt with promptly and without fuss.
Sattelite TV channels provided are more than the usual basic and the loft room we had was spacious and comfortable - though the cupboard is half height it was adequate for our needs with hooks behind the door for longer items.
I would recommend this accommodation without hesitation and look forward to further stays there when on visits to Cape Town.

Room Tip: We had the Sunbird Loft room - very pleasant and quiet though up a narrow flight of stairs. They als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Safaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I stayed at the Oak and Vine for one night while on businesses, but I would highly recommend this guest house to other travelers - the room I stayed in was clean and comfortable! Derrick and William are the perfect hosts!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattvandeventer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The Oak and Vine is a guest house that has a couple of self contained units in the grounds of the main house. We stayed in one of the units. We had a bathroom and a combined bedroom / kitchenette and dining area. The grounds are secure and staff live on the premises. Breakfast is offered daily and offers a good selection at a very reasonable price (about £6). Staff are courteous and very keen to help. They offer advice about local facilities and the tourist attractions of Cape Town.

The rooms are cleaned and serviced daily. The pool is welcome on a hot day and towels are provided in addition to those in your room. Rooms have wifi (but this is temperamental in certain areas of S Africa). The local area is quiet and residential. Access to Cape Town waterfront takes about 15 minutes in a car (traffic allowing). This was a great base for us whilst visitng the attractions of Cape Town.

Room Tip: One of the units is a bit larger than the other. Try this first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MilkoHastings_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My wife, baby boy, and I have been staying in the Oak and Vine Guest House for the past 2 weeks. I transferred with my work from Port Elizabeth to Cape Town, and this guest house has served our needs perfectly while we have searched for our own permanent accommodation. Since we arrived in Cape Town, Derrick and his team have helped to make us feel warmly welcome and have catered for all our needs with enthusiasm. In fact, Derrick even went over and beyond his call of duty with our baby's needs. Our room doesn't have a bath, so we asked if he perhaps has a basin we could use, which he didn't have...however the next night there was a brand new baby bath with stand waiting for us in the bathroom! That is amazing service. The breakfasts are also delicious with a big range of cereals, fruits, yoghurts, and warm meal cooked as requested. The croissants are wrapped to keep fresh and the staff offer to warm these up for those interested to enjoy. They also considered our dietary requirements by providing chicken slices to put on the croissants. My wife and I are very thankful to Derrick and his staff, and will always have warm memories of our first few days in Cape Town at the Oak and Vine Guest House. I would highly recommend this guest house to other travelers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anton v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We found the Oak and Vine Guest house disappointing. The room, upon arrival was set up as 2 single beds when we had booked it as a king. This was eventually rectified but what we found odd was that Derek the manager never left his desk (just around the corner) to apologise or explain the mix up and only did so as we were leaving for our night out. We stayed in the King Protea room which is next to the front door to the house and was incredibly noisy from 6am! When I made the reservation I asked Derek if it was a quiet room and his reply was "all our rooms are quiet" sorry Derek - I beg to differ. Breakfast was also bellow par - croissants still in their cellophane packaging and therefore cold and scrambled eggs over cooked and almost inedible - clearly the cook needs a little training.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newlands80, Manager at The Oak and Vine Guest House, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Lauren
Many thanks for your feedback with regards to The Oak and Vine Guest House. Please allow us to apologize for any inconvenience caused during your one night stay with us.
Your constructive criticism has been noted and further training of staff will take place as per your suggestions. We thank you for bringing this uncharacteristic situation to our attention and we will definitely improve our service in the future.
Warmest regards from O&V Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
1.0 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,301 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
0.1 mi away
Hedge House
Hedge House
#2 of 29 in Newlands
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wild Olive Guest House
Wild Olive Guest House
#1 of 29 in Newlands
326 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riversong Guest House
Riversong Guest House
#4 of 29 in Newlands
175 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Andros Boutique Hotel
The Andros Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Claremont
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oak and Vine Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oak and Vine Guest House

Property: The Oak and Vine Guest House
Address: 19 Keurboom Street, Newlands 7700, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Newlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oak and Vine Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oak and Vine Guest House is a Cape Dutch character house set in the secure and leafy suburb of Newlands, Cape Town. The Oak and Vine Guest House caters for up to 12 guests and offers four luxurious en-suite rooms in the main house and two separate self-contained cottages on the estate. This graciously restored house is surrounded by the lush greenery of the Keurboom regional park and has wonderful mountain views. The Oak and Vine offers stylish accommodation for the business traveler or holiday maker alike. It is within easy access to Cape Town's business hub and is also within easy reach of many tourist attractions in and around Cape Town. We also offer a venue for small business meetings. The Oak and Vine Guest House is a homely guest house and room facilities include cotton percale linen, luxury towels, tea/coffee making facilities, flat screen televisions, DSTV channels, wireless internet access, hairdryers, safes, air-conditioning in loft rooms and cottages. The property is safe and secure with off-road parking behind remote-controlled gates, CCTV and even has a full-time security guard on the premises. If you are looking for central accommodation, the Oak and Vine Guest House is an ideal choice where guests can enjoy full use of a sparkling swimming pool, relaxing guest lounge with fireplace, braai / barbecue area or take a stroll or cycle in the nearby family-friendly park. Four en-suite rooms within the main house and two separate self-contained cottages on the estate. King Protea Room - en-suite(bath and shower with luxury towels); queen bed (with cotton percale linen) sleeps 2; flat screen television; DSTV channels; wireless internet access; tea/coffee making facilities; safe; hairdryer. Cape Robin Room - en-suite (shower with luxury towels); double bed (with cotton percale linen) sleeps 2; flat screen television; DSTV channels; wireless internet access; tea/coffee making facilities; safe; hairdryer. Cape Disa Loft Room (upstairs) - en-suite (shower with luxury towels); double bed (with cotton percale linen) sleeps 2; air-conditioning; flat screen television. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Oak and Vine Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oak And Vine Guest House Newlands, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing