We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Oak and Vine Guest House
Ranked #3 of 29 Newlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I had to attend a University function and this location was very convenient. I didn't actually go into the main house other than to get my key and I didn't have breakfast so I can't comment on that. The little cottage I stayed in was quite quaint and had all the facilities I needed. One can self cater and that is convenient but a lot is squeezed into one room so you do feel as though you are sleeping in a kitchen - but it is not a problem. Parking is also good and the staff I met were very friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 210 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

If you want to stay in the Southern Suburbs then this is the place to be. It is only 5 mins walk to Newlands Rugby & Cricket grounds.
The accommodation is excellent, great bed, en suite, flat screen tv, wifi, mini bar (not expensive). Breakfast is superb, with a great range of cold and made to order hot food available. Derek is so helpful and let us keep our room on until late afternoon as we had an evening flight back. Will be booking here again next year!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billywhistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I come to Cape Town three times a year for business, and unless it is fully booked, I always stay at the Oak and Vine. The location is great for going into the city center, down to the Southern Suburbs, or heading out in the direction of Stellenbosch and the Garden Route. Derek and Co provide delicious breakfasts, the house and rooms are kept immaculately clean, and there is secured parking. You can hang around and drink coffee in common room any time of day. Best of all, is the general vibe of the staff: friendly, welcoming, helpful. I will keep coming back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scriptor U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is one of the best guest houses I have ever stayed in. The accommodation is excellent, the room I stayed in had every thing that you needed, the beds are very comfortable. the staff are lovely and ever so helpful. The house is next to a very larg park which is great for running or walking. Breakfast is amazing and cooked as you order. The house is well located for visiting the water front and table top mountain which you can see while you eat breakfast. Wifi is very good.
All in all I would recommend this home for all types of visitors.
The staff are exceptionally friendly and kind. I was even allowed to stay passed my check out time which again is very considerate.

Room Tip: I had a double room on the ground floor with shower very quite and great view with heater and air co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I was booked here 2 years ago by the company I was contracted to, since it is very close to their offices. Now I stay here as often as I can! They remember me, stay up late to receive me if I arrive late, remember what I do eat and can't eat for breakfast and I always have the deepest sleep here. The personal touch is amazing - wonderful breakfast with a great variety, everything is fresh, little chocolates on the pillows, extra blankets in the cupboard in winter and smiling service. William is a particular superstar. Being in newlands they are close to the stadium, Claremont, highways (airport in non-peak time is less than 20 minutes drive). I cannot recommend it enough.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank sunshinePretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My entire experience with The Oak and Vine, from booking to departure was faultless! The location is central and the accommodation and facilities met my every need. Will definitely be staying at the The Oak and Vine again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband, infant son and I stayed in the cottage. It was comfortable. When I first arrived I was a little worried as the cottage is right next to a reasonably busy road but it was very quiet due to a big wall. The main house is beautiful. Breakfast was delicious and varied. Location was really fantastic. Right next to a big park where we had a very nice walk.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Kim0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
Vineyard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newlands
1,330 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Cellars-Hohenort
#4 of 5 in Constantia
429 reviews
Southern Sun Newlands
#2 of 3 in Newlands
447 reviews
Wild Olive Guest House
#1 of 29 in Newlands
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oak and Vine Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oak and Vine Guest House

Address: 19 Keurboom Street, Newlands 7700, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Newlands
Price Range: $100 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oak and Vine Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oak and Vine Guest House is a Cape Dutch character house set in the secure and leafy suburb of Newlands, Cape Town. The Oak and Vine Guest House caters for up to 12 guests and offers four luxurious en-suite rooms in the main house and two separate self-contained cottages on the estate. This graciously restored house is surrounded by the lush greenery of the Keurboom regional park and has wonderful mountain views. The Oak and Vine offers stylish accommodation for the business traveler or holiday maker alike. It is within easy access to Cape Town's business hub and is also within easy reach of many tourist attractions in and around Cape Town. We also offer a venue for small business meetings. The Oak and Vine Guest House is a homely guest house and room facilities include cotton percale linen, luxury towels, tea/coffee making facilities, flat screen televisions, DSTV channels, wireless internet access, hairdryers, safes, air-conditioning in loft rooms and cottages. The property is safe and secure with off-road parking behind remote-controlled gates, CCTV and even has a full-time security guard on the premises. If you are looking for central accommodation, the Oak and Vine Guest House is an ideal choice where guests can enjoy full use of a sparkling swimming pool, relaxing guest lounge with fireplace, braai / barbecue area or take a stroll or cycle in the nearby family-friendly park. Four en-suite rooms within the main house and two separate self-contained cottages on the estate. King Protea Room - en-suite(bath and shower with luxury towels); queen bed (with cotton percale linen) sleeps 2; flat screen television; DSTV channels; wireless internet access; tea/coffee making facilities; safe; hairdryer. Cape Robin Room - en-suite (shower with luxury towels); double bed (with cotton percale linen) sleeps 2; flat screen television; DSTV channels; wireless internet access; tea/coffee making facilities; safe; hairdryer. Cape Disa Loft Room (upstairs) - en-suite (shower with luxury towels); double bed (with cotton percale linen) sleeps 2; air-conditioning; flat screen television. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Oak and Vine Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oak And Vine Guest House Newlands, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing