We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service at a good price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Oak and Vine Guest House
Ranked #3 of 29 Newlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My entire experience with The Oak and Vine, from booking to departure was faultless! The location is central and the accommodation and facilities met my every need. Will definitely be staying at the The Oak and Vine again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 216 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband, infant son and I stayed in the cottage. It was comfortable. When I first arrived I was a little worried as the cottage is right next to a reasonably busy road but it was very quiet due to a big wall. The main house is beautiful. Breakfast was delicious and varied. Location was really fantastic. Right next to a big park where we had a very nice walk.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Kim0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Oak and Vine for one week in early May, 2013, and everyone was very happy with the accommodations. We rented two rooms, the Cape Robin on the first floor and the Cape Disa on the second floor. Both rooms are very clean and comfortable, with adjoining bathrooms that are modern and spacious.

Derrick Smith, the manager, and William, his assistant, provide excellent service to guests. They served us breakfast each morning in the dining room, which adjoins the reception room. This high-level service with warm breakfasts of eggs, sausage, bacon, tomatoes, and mushrooms made to order, as well as a choice of fruits, meat, cheeses, cereal, toast, juice, and coffee and tea. After a tasty and ample breakfast each morning, we were ready for long days of touring.

Derrick and William were especially helpful with sightseeing recommendations and reservations. For example, in helping us with reservations at a game reserve about two hours drive from Cape Town, William recommended driving through Ceres, a very scenic and fertile mountain valley. It turned out to be one of the most beautiful regions we’ve ever seen. Derrick also sagely suggested we visit Table Mountain at the end of the day, when crowds were small and the sunset views particularly breathtaking. The autumn sunset over the Atlantic created shades of scarlet and vermillion in the sky that I’d never before witnessed.

Aside from the high-quality service and comfortable accommodations, the Oak and Vine is also conveniently situated near Table Mountain, but in a suburban-type neighborhood that is relatively easy to navigate in a rental car. It takes about 20 minutes to get to the waterfront or to Camps Bay, and only 15-20 minutes to the N1 or N2 expressways for longer versions. It’s only a 20-minute drive from the airport. The property has a variety of flowering plants and trees, and though it was too chilly for us to swim during our stay, the pool looked inviting.

Room Tip: If you expect to spend much time in the rooms, it is advisable to rent the larger room on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A-Lo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

En route to a wedding in the Overberg, we decided to stay over in Cape Town for 2 nights and found this lovely Bed and Breakfast guest house on the Capestay website when planning our trip.
We were made most welcome on our arrival and the accommodation was comfortable, exceptionally clean and very quiet. The breakfasts were delicious and lacked for nothing. We were also within easy driving distance from the well known Cavendish Square and the Newlands Cricket Grounds. Will definitely be returning to The Oak and Vine on our next visit to Cape Town. Thank you Derrick and William for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were First timers in the Cape. The Oak and Vine was referred to us by a friend... indeed our experience was great! Welcoming-helpful staff, comfy rooms, filling breakfasts, and pleasant surroundings! Truly recommendable!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Beautiful home with great attention to detail tucked in a quiet Cape Town neighborhood. Stayed only 1 night after 9 nights in the city near the waterfront and then the Garden Route. We were very comfortable and felt very safe. Breakfast was delicious and filling! It was a very pleasant last night in Cape Town before returning home to the US.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomahasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a wonderful weekend! It felt like home, but at the same time luxurious and a real spoil. The staff really went out of there way to make an unforgettable impression. We will easily stay there again. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomis1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
1 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,363 reviews
5.7 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
676 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wild Olive Guest House
Wild Olive Guest House
#1 of 29 in Newlands
354 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riversong Guest House
Riversong Guest House
#4 of 29 in Newlands
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hedge House
Hedge House
#2 of 29 in Newlands
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oak and Vine Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oak and Vine Guest House

Address: 19 Keurboom Street, Newlands 7700, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Newlands
Price Range: $102 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oak and Vine Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oak and Vine Guest House is a Cape Dutch character house set in the secure and leafy suburb of Newlands, Cape Town. The Oak and Vine Guest House caters for up to 12 guests and offers four luxurious en-suite rooms in the main house and two separate self-contained cottages on the estate. This graciously restored house is surrounded by the lush greenery of the Keurboom regional park and has wonderful mountain views. The Oak and Vine offers stylish accommodation for the business traveler or holiday maker alike. It is within easy access to Cape Town's business hub and is also within easy reach of many tourist attractions in and around Cape Town. We also offer a venue for small business meetings. The Oak and Vine Guest House is a homely guest house and room facilities include cotton percale linen, luxury towels, tea/coffee making facilities, flat screen televisions, DSTV channels, wireless internet access, hairdryers, safes, air-conditioning in loft rooms and cottages. The property is safe and secure with off-road parking behind remote-controlled gates, CCTV and even has a full-time security guard on the premises. If you are looking for central accommodation, the Oak and Vine Guest House is an ideal choice where guests can enjoy full use of a sparkling swimming pool, relaxing guest lounge with fireplace, braai / barbecue area or take a stroll or cycle in the nearby family-friendly park. Four en-suite rooms within the main house and two separate self-contained cottages on the estate. King Protea Room - en-suite(bath and shower with luxury towels); queen bed (with cotton percale linen) sleeps 2; flat screen television; DSTV channels; wireless internet access; tea/coffee making facilities; safe; hairdryer. Cape Robin Room - en-suite (shower with luxury towels); double bed (with cotton percale linen) sleeps 2; flat screen television; DSTV channels; wireless internet access; tea/coffee making facilities; safe; hairdryer. Cape Disa Loft Room (upstairs) - en-suite (shower with luxury towels); double bed (with cotton percale linen) sleeps 2; air-conditioning; flat screen television. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Oak and Vine Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oak And Vine Guest House Newlands, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing