We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymooners rate it 5 star!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Oak and Vine Guest House
Ranked #3 of 27 Newlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Honeymooners rate it 5 star!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were First timers in the Cape. The Oak and Vine was referred to us by a friend... indeed our experience was great! Welcoming-helpful staff, comfy rooms, filling breakfasts, and pleasant surroundings! Truly recommendable!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    30
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
40
19
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Beautiful home with great attention to detail tucked in a quiet Cape Town neighborhood. Stayed only 1 night after 9 nights in the city near the waterfront and then the Garden Route. We were very comfortable and felt very safe. Breakfast was delicious and filling! It was a very pleasant last night in Cape Town before returning home to the US.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomahasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a wonderful weekend! It felt like home, but at the same time luxurious and a real spoil. The staff really went out of there way to make an unforgettable impression. We will easily stay there again. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomis1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

great location for two oceans, very helpful staff, breakfast was also excellent. derrick is a great host and william very helpful in organising trips and transport . had a great time in the cape, and will return to the city again, would stay again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bazz82517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a fantastic stay during the Two Oceans Marathon weekend in March 2013. The B&B is close to some nice restaurants and shops.

Derrick is a good and attentive host and makes sure you have everything you need for a comfortable stay. The breakfast was top quality.

Our room in the main house, was not huge, but it had everything that we needed including coffee and tea facilities and biscuits and rusks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A3DP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2013

After staying at the Oak & Vine Guest House for three weeks, I consider this my home-away-from-home. The staff at the Oak & Vine Guest House exceeded every expectation when it comes to hospitality and generosity. Derrick, William, Richard, and Alex were always extremely helpful and kind. The guesthouse itself is beautiful as are the grounds; the rooms upstairs are very comfortable and quiet; and the overall experience was nothing less than perfect. Without question, I will stay at the Oak & Vine whenever I return to Cape Town. Thank you for making my trip such a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stobot23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I want to thank Derrick and William and the rest of their team for making our stay at Oak and Vine an absolute privilege rather than a pleasure!
Not only are we greeted like old friends and welcomed home away from home but we also constantly find a new treat in the room. From chocolates to Easter eggs for the kids and way beyond expectation treatment. We have been fortunate enough to stay in the King Protea Room three years running ( excuse the pun ) over Easter for the Two Oceans. Not only 5 STAR treatment but also 5 STAR cleanliness, tidiness and comfort as well as style. I travel extensively and have stayed in many upmarket boutique hotels abroad and locally. Oak and Vine ranks right up there with the very best.
I can't possibly think of any suggestions that would make our stay even better or more comfortable. You have definitely thought of everything already. If I were to make a recommendation I would say that ANYONE staying in CT be it for business or leisure then this where you need to be. You won't receive better service, treatment and absolute value for money anywhere else. Believe me! Thanks again folks. Really brilliant as usual!

Room Tip: King Protea Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayned813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newlands hotels
1.0 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
0.6 mi away
Southern Sun Newlands
Southern Sun Newlands
#1 of 3 in Newlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wild Olive Guest House
Wild Olive Guest House
#1 of 27 in Newlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hedge House
Hedge House
#2 of 27 in Newlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riversong Guest House
Riversong Guest House
#4 of 27 in Newlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oak and Vine Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oak and Vine Guest House

Property: The Oak and Vine Guest House
Address: 19 Keurboom Street, Newlands 7700, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Newlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oak and Vine Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oak and Vine Guest House is a Cape Dutch character house set in the secure and leafy suburb of Newlands, Cape Town. The Oak and Vine Guest House caters for up to 12 guests and offers four luxurious en-suite rooms in the main house and two separate self-contained cottages on the estate. This graciously restored house is surrounded by the lush greenery of the Keurboom regional park and has wonderful mountain views. The Oak and Vine offers stylish accommodation for the business traveler or holiday maker alike. It is within easy access to Cape Town's business hub and is also within easy reach of many tourist attractions in and around Cape Town. We also offer a venue for small business meetings. The Oak and Vine Guest House is a homely guest house and room facilities include cotton percale linen, luxury towels, tea/coffee making facilities, flat screen televisions, DSTV channels, wireless internet access, hairdryers, safes, air-conditioning in loft rooms and cottages. The property is safe and secure with off-road parking behind remote-controlled gates, CCTV and even has a full-time security guard on the premises. If you are looking for central accommodation, the Oak and Vine Guest House is an ideal choice where guests can enjoy full use of a sparkling swimming pool, relaxing guest lounge with fireplace, braai / barbecue area or take a stroll or cycle in the nearby family-friendly park. Four en-suite rooms within the main house and two separate self-contained cottages on the estate. King Protea Room - en-suite(bath and shower with luxury towels); queen bed (with cotton percale linen) sleeps 2; flat screen television; DSTV channels; wireless internet access; tea/coffee making facilities; safe; hairdryer. Cape Robin Room - en-suite (shower with luxury towels); double bed (with cotton percale linen) sleeps 2; flat screen television; DSTV channels; wireless internet access; tea/coffee making facilities; safe; hairdryer. Cape Disa Loft Room (upstairs) - en-suite (shower with luxury towels); double bed (with cotton percale linen) sleeps 2; air-conditioning; flat screen television. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Oak and Vine Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oak And Vine Guest House Newlands, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing