We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful time spent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Oak and Vine Guest House
Ranked #3 of 29 Newlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at The Oak and Vine for a night and in that short time, I was more than amazed.

The people:
Derrick, who runs the place, welcomes you very professionally. He is friendly and right away explains the most important parts of your room to you, including how to get on the free wi-fi and what each remote in the room is for. He is a warm person who makes you feel at ease and you can tell straight away that he will go out of his way to ensure that you have a comfortable stay. The fact that he gives you his personal cell number and tells you immediately that you should call if you need anything like medicine etc. in the middle of the night tells you a lot about his readiness to look after his guests. He also oversees the breakfasts and he does this with great attentiveness. As soon as something on the buffet runs out, he's there to fill it up again. He's talkative, but not intrusive and very pleasant to have around.

We couldn't see the rest of the staff much, but their cooking was brilliant. The same must be said for the cleanliness of the place. At no point did I see anything dirty or out of order.

The place:
The Oak and Vine is a beautiful place. The front 'garden' is stunning and has enough parking space. The house is stunning both from the outside and the inside and I have to give special compliments on the interior design. It is classical and elegant, but light and refreshing at the same time. The breakfast room makes you feel at home, as it is combined with the lounge area and the beautiful natural light shining through everywhere gives it a very positive atmosphere.

The room:
Our double room was spacious, had a very good air con and was very clean. The beds were comfortable, the mini bar well stacked and we even enjoyed satellite tv. In fact, I was quite surprised at the size of the flat screen tv available to us. Little details like two types of cookies with the tea/kettle set and little chocolates on the pillows when we arrived are testament to the fact that The Oak and Vine is home to a man with attention for detail. The bathroom was clean and the 'rain' shower worked perfectly with no waiting time on temperature changes.

All in all:
I could not recommend this place more. It is obvious that this is a B&B run with passion. It has its own personality and shines with it. Derrick is a wonderful host and the quality of the B&B reflects his personality.

This was an incredible time spent and I could not be happier.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mathew_Keller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 211 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

I took a bit of a chance by booking on-line and relying on impressive photos and descriptions on the website.
The reality turned out to be even more impressive than the images! This is a wonderful property conveniently situated for visiting Cape Town and surrounds.
Friendly, efficient, immaculately clean, comfortable, lovely breakfast freshly prepared, swimming pool, very good value for money etc....etc.......
Myself and a colleague were on a business trip to Cape Town from UK and one of our clients came to meet us at the B&B. The proprietor went out of his way to ensure we were able to conduct our meeting privately in a quiet corner.
I will definitely be using The Oak and Vine again on my next trip.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Derrick and his team went out of their way to make my wedding preperations and stay an absolute dream come true. I could not have asked for better service and support! The food was fantastic and the rooms was wonderful and luxurious. I will definitely stay at The Oak and Vine again! Thank you for making my day so special!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

What a wonderful b&b with great hospitality,delicious breakfasts, clean rooms and situated within easy reach of newlands, Kirstenbosh and surrounds. We stayed in the cottages and and although the Double bed was a bit uncomfortable we can not find any fault with the guest house. We look forward to a future stay at the Oak and Vine.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

All and all a wonderful weekend!
It feels like home, but at the same time luxurious and a real spoil.
The staff really went out of there way to make an unforgettable impression.
I will easily stay here again.
Breakfast excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tharine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Completely lived upto expectations. Clean, comfortable, wonderful bathrooms, great location, nice pool, next door to. Great park. Derrick went out of hsiwY to answer lost of questions about his country and gave excellent recommendations for day trips and places to eat.

Room Tip: Downstairs cooler than upstairs but all have a&f.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is well situated Guest House for most of the popular things to see around CapeTown.
The rooms are excellent and there is a small private pool for a swim.
We used a local taxi for going out for dinners all arranged by the Manager
Breakfast just what you want!

Phillip and Gail. Scotland

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhillipStirlingshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
1.0 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,349 reviews
5.7 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
673 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wild Olive Guest House
Wild Olive Guest House
#1 of 29 in Newlands
348 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riversong Guest House
Riversong Guest House
#4 of 29 in Newlands
178 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roodenburg House
Roodenburg House
#3 of 20 in Rondebosch
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oak and Vine Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oak and Vine Guest House

Address: 19 Keurboom Street, Newlands 7700, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Newlands
Price Range: $95 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oak and Vine Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oak and Vine Guest House is a Cape Dutch character house set in the secure and leafy suburb of Newlands, Cape Town. The Oak and Vine Guest House caters for up to 12 guests and offers four luxurious en-suite rooms in the main house and two separate self-contained cottages on the estate. This graciously restored house is surrounded by the lush greenery of the Keurboom regional park and has wonderful mountain views. The Oak and Vine offers stylish accommodation for the business traveler or holiday maker alike. It is within easy access to Cape Town's business hub and is also within easy reach of many tourist attractions in and around Cape Town. We also offer a venue for small business meetings. The Oak and Vine Guest House is a homely guest house and room facilities include cotton percale linen, luxury towels, tea/coffee making facilities, flat screen televisions, DSTV channels, wireless internet access, hairdryers, safes, air-conditioning in loft rooms and cottages. The property is safe and secure with off-road parking behind remote-controlled gates, CCTV and even has a full-time security guard on the premises. If you are looking for central accommodation, the Oak and Vine Guest House is an ideal choice where guests can enjoy full use of a sparkling swimming pool, relaxing guest lounge with fireplace, braai / barbecue area or take a stroll or cycle in the nearby family-friendly park. Four en-suite rooms within the main house and two separate self-contained cottages on the estate. King Protea Room - en-suite(bath and shower with luxury towels); queen bed (with cotton percale linen) sleeps 2; flat screen television; DSTV channels; wireless internet access; tea/coffee making facilities; safe; hairdryer. Cape Robin Room - en-suite (shower with luxury towels); double bed (with cotton percale linen) sleeps 2; flat screen television; DSTV channels; wireless internet access; tea/coffee making facilities; safe; hairdryer. Cape Disa Loft Room (upstairs) - en-suite (shower with luxury towels); double bed (with cotton percale linen) sleeps 2; air-conditioning; flat screen television. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Oak and Vine Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oak And Vine Guest House Newlands, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing