We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and relaxing”
Review of Hedge House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hedge House
Ranked #2 of 29 Newlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Quiet and relaxing”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Had a fabulous room in Hedgehouse which is tucked away in a quiet corner of ever beautiful Newlands. The family run establishment feels like a home from home due, in no small measure, to Judy the owner and her lovely son and daughter. The resident dogs are some characters and it was a joy to be in their company. Breakfast was freshly cooked and plentiful Enjoyed our two night stay there very much indeed and would not hesitate in returning.

Room Tip: room 4 is reached via a spiral staircase, maybe not so good for those with mobility problems but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HedgeHouse, Owner at Hedge House, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Many thanks Angela - I really appreciate your warm and encouraging review.
Warmest regards
Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
63
29
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Claremont, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Judy is a very attentive and warm host, and Betty is one mean cook! I especially recommend the breakfasts at Hedge House. Caper, the new pug puppy, is just too cute as well! She is the latest addition to the other very child-friendly dogs. The guesthouse is within walking distance of both the rugby and cricket stadiums, and just a short drive to multiple shopping malls and town. Even though it is in a vibrant, busy area it feels secluded and is removed from the regular traffic noise.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adeblocq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HedgeHouse, Owner at Hedge House, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you Joe and Gemma for your review and for the flowers!
Also for joining the party!
Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Excellent place for relaxation and quite time in a peaceful secure neighbourhood. The peace and tranquillity provided by the beautiful scenic garden, the tangible smell of the fresh herbs and flowers, the sweet melodies of chirping birds reminded you of the natural surroundings provided by a country side home. Upon arrival the warm and friendly welcome by Judy, the staff and the dogs made us feel right at home. We were overwhelmed as we entered our spacious room to find fresh cut roses and chocolate on each pillow. We were impressed by the cleanliness and tidiness. Not forgetting the fine detail and quality of the bedding and towelling, well stocked up daily with fresh fruit, tea, coffee, milk, juice and fresh cookies. The cottage feeling and the antiques in the dining room brought back sweet memories of my grandparents home. Overall the breakfast was well presented, sufficient and excellent. The house is comfortably situated within walking distance from Cavendish Square and the Newlands Cricket and Rugby grounds. Overall our stay was excellent, I would definitely recommend The Hedge to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frauenfeld
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed 3 nights with our two children at the Hedge House and we loved it. The house owner Jude, really makes the effort to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The clean rooms are spacious and lovely decorated and so much care for detail. Fresh flowers in the room and the home made cookies were delicious. The breakfast was extraordinary!!! Here again, you could see the love she puts in the table setting and the beautiful way of presenting the food or eggs :-)
It’s all quality and even the biologic soap/shampoo/lotion in the bathroom were so nice.
It feels so homey and we enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. Judy was extremely friendly and always available to help guests. The kids loved to play with the dogs, they were absolutely no trouble.
Hedge House is well located and just a short drive to the city centre or restaurants closely. I would definitely return and highly recommend it 200% !!! The most lovely B&B I ever stayed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boo00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HedgeHouse, Owner at Hedge House, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you all for staying at Hedge House and for your generous review.
Beautiful photos too!!
We loved meeting you all.
Warm regards
Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Hi. Fantastic location. Rooms large & very comfortable. Beds exceptional. Breakfasts great. Hospitality 1st class. Will not hesitate to return or recommend as a short or long stayover for families, couples or singles. Note that there are friendly dogs on the premises, they are kid friendly.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms accessed by tight spiral staircases, don't choose these if you have difficulty wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HedgeHouse, Owner at Hedge House, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you Adam and Colleen for your prompt review and encouragement.
It was really good to meet you both.
Warm regards and all the best for 2014.
Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Hedge House is an exquisite accommodation in the southern suburbs of Cape Town. It is nestled in a quite neighborhood in Newlands with access to most amenities and attractions. Judy and her staff are very accommodating without being intrusive. The facilities are finely appointed with thought and attention to detail. It was a great stay and hope to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shame F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Hedge House had all the comforts & feel of home. The bed was extremely comfortable, the bathroom facilities were faultless, the location was quiet & the food exquisite. The owner was very professional & engaging. Not a single complaint comes to mind. Highly recommended for when travelling to Cape Town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haydn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HedgeHouse, Owner at Hedge House, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you Haydn for reviewing Hedge House.
I appreciated your acute observations!
Warm regards
Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
1.0 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,286 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
0.6 mi away
Southern Sun Newlands
Southern Sun Newlands
#1 of 3 in Newlands
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,815 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wild Olive Guest House
Wild Olive Guest House
#1 of 29 in Newlands
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oak and Vine Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedge House

Property: Hedge House
Address: 12 Argyle Road, Newlands 7700, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Newlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hedge House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star guest house in the peaceful suburb of Newlands, is a 10-minute drive from Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens, University of Cape Town and Cape Town's city centre. It features uninterrupted Table Mountain views and an outdoor salt-water pool.Our five rooms have their own private entrances and free WiFi. They include a microwave, a kettle, a refrigerator and a work desk. All rooms have a bath and shower.Hedge House guests enjoy a rich breakfast prepared with fresh, seasonal ingredients. Breakfast is served outdoors on the patio, in your room or in the dining room.There is also a recreational area for children, equipped with a trampoline and a swing, as well as a wood-burning fireplace in the lounge area and on the veranda. The hotel's garden (as well as room 4) has panoramic views of Table Mountain and is wheelchair accessible. Hedge House is located at the foot of Table Mountain and is a 5-minute walk from The Newlands Cricket and Rugby Stadiums. Cape Town International Airport is 15 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hedge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedge House Newlands, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing