We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st choice”
Review of Hedge House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hedge House
Ranked #2 of 29 Newlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Hi. Fantastic location. Rooms large & very comfortable. Beds exceptional. Breakfasts great. Hospitality 1st class. Will not hesitate to return or recommend as a short or long stayover for families, couples or singles. Note that there are friendly dogs on the premises, they are kid friendly.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms accessed by tight spiral staircases, don't choose these if you have difficulty wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HedgeHouse, Owner at Hedge House, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Thank you Adam and Colleen for your prompt review and encouragement.
It was really good to meet you both.
Warm regards and all the best for 2014.
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 211 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

Hedge House is an exquisite accommodation in the southern suburbs of Cape Town. It is nestled in a quite neighborhood in Newlands with access to most amenities and attractions. Judy and her staff are very accommodating without being intrusive. The facilities are finely appointed with thought and attention to detail. It was a great stay and hope to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shame F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Hedge House had all the comforts & feel of home. The bed was extremely comfortable, the bathroom facilities were faultless, the location was quiet & the food exquisite. The owner was very professional & engaging. Not a single complaint comes to mind. Highly recommended for when travelling to Cape Town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haydn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HedgeHouse, Owner at Hedge House, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you Haydn for reviewing Hedge House.
I appreciated your acute observations!
Warm regards
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I really enjoyed my time at Hedge House. The room was spacious, neat and well-kept. The breakfast was extraordinary and the owner Judy was extremely friendly and always available to help guests. You can also order dinner at Hedge House which I found to be absolutely delicious! Hedge House is well located and in a lovely scenic neighborhood. I would definitely return and highly recommend it whether you are a business traveler or on vacation or traveling with family
( including children).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HedgeHouse, Owner at Hedge House, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you Christa (and Sage) for your review.
I do hope you'll return in 2014.
All the best, Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Hedge House is is a conveniently-situated, more-than comfortable B and B and it would be hard to beat to find any home-from-home with such value and service. Breakfast includes a fresh fruit salad, optional full English breakfast and freshly-baked muffins. The beautiful rooms are serviced daily and it is a treat to relax in a deep Victorian bath after a day of sight-seeing or business meetings. Hedge House is set in a beautifully maintained garden along with a swimming pool for hot summer days and you have the option of eating out on the verandah against the stunning backdrop of Table Mountain. Judy and her staff offer excellent service, with that warm, personal touch that leaves you no option but to return to this special place time and time again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Hedge house is a dream location with exceptional food and service. The rooms are stylishly done yet comfortable and homely. The food is decadent yet finger-licking good and balanced. Judy seems to strike these balances effortlessly and with a warm authenticity. I am yet to experience such consistent and superior levels of service and attentiveness to our every need. We are looking forward to our next visit- we would not dare stay anywhere else. Thank you Judy, and your able staff for spoiling us rotten. Kisses to Choco & Olive. Much love from Kenya, Muthoni & Tony

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and have a bathtub and shower cubicle, though they vary in size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank muthoni w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Spending time at Hedge House B and B was total bliss! The rooms were fantastic, beds very comfortable, breakfast heavenly and it was very conveniently situated. Judy and her staff made our stay a memorable event! We will definitely be going back!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
1 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,362 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oak and Vine Guest House
0.7 mi away
Riversong Guest House
Riversong Guest House
#5 of 29 in Newlands
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wild Olive Guest House
Wild Olive Guest House
#1 of 29 in Newlands
354 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 31 in Simon's Town
281 reviews
15.6 mi away
Cheriton Guest House B&B
Cheriton Guest House B&B
#3 of 31 in Simon's Town
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedge House

Address: 12 Argyle Road, Newlands 7700, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Newlands
Price Range: $111 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hedge House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star guest house in the peaceful suburb of Newlands, is a 10-minute drive from Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens, University of Cape Town and Cape Town's city centre. It features uninterrupted Table Mountain views and an outdoor salt-water pool.Our five rooms have their own private entrances and free WiFi. They include a microwave, a kettle, a refrigerator and a work desk. All rooms have a bath and shower.Hedge House guests enjoy a rich breakfast prepared with fresh, seasonal ingredients. Breakfast is served outdoors on the patio, in your room or in the dining room.There is also a recreational area for children, equipped with a trampoline and a swing, as well as a wood-burning fireplace in the lounge area and on the veranda. The hotel's garden (as well as room 4) has panoramic views of Table Mountain and is wheelchair accessible. Hedge House is located at the foot of Table Mountain and is a 5-minute walk from The Newlands Cricket and Rugby Stadiums. Cape Town International Airport is 15 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hedge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedge House Newlands, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing