We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Start”
Review of Hedge House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hedge House
Ranked #2 of 30 Newlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The welcome, the comfort and the attention to detail make Hedge House stand out as one of the best B&Bs in Cape Town. It provided us with the perfect start to our latest holiday in South Africa. Judy's easy competence ensures not only great comfort and excellent home cooked food but a truely relaxing start to a holiday. Nothing is too much trouble to make your life easier from the loan of a forgotten adaptor to the last minute arrangement of alternative accomodation to help with sudden changes of plan. As others have said Judy 'is an amazing ambassador' for her City, a view we fully endorse.

Noel P

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher Noe... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HedgeHouse, Owner at Hedge House, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you so much Noel for posting a review.
Warm regards
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 216 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

Very lovely, great breakfast, very nice room with French milk coffee and fresh backed cookies. Judy is a great host and very nice person. Neighborhood is very nice with sport fields / park close by. Will definitely stay next time in capetown.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Wilfred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We only spent two nights at Hedge House at the end of our holiday and we wish it had been longer.Judy was an excellant host, the breakfasts were tip top and the accommodation most comfortable.Newlands was a great location for exploring Cape Town and it was such a surprise to be staying in a beautiful leafy street, with views towards Table Mountain ,yet so close to the city centre.and 15 minutes only to the airport. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

From the minute I arrived, the warm greeting, the smallest detail of my room, and the succulent breakfast, I knew I had discovered a Cape Town jewel.

Judy made me feel at home in Cape Town. She is an amazing ambassador for this vibrant city.

I enjoyed every minute of my stay. Judy and team deserves every positive review mentioned here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Judy England runs a magnificent home-away-from home Bed and Breakfast and takes service to another level. From the home-made breads, rusks and biscuits to the beautiful, immaculate and comfortable rooms, there is not a thing you cannot find in a FIVE star establishment. Hedge House has excellent security, with the guest in mind, and is central to everywhere in Cape Town. The attention to detail is something one would find in a an exclusive, upmarket hotel. The cost is exactly on a par with Bed and Breakfasts in the area which can only be compared to student hostel type of accommodation (I say this as I recently was caught out and had a most unpleasant experience - booked by our group agent agent and not myself!). I have stayed at Hedge House twice now and will most certainly never consider anything else in Cape Town. Put it on your Bucket List!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, however make sure to ask for downstairs if you have a problem with stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FRAN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at Hedge House for nearly two weeks to see the sights while we waited for my daughter's accommodations for her semester abroad program at the University of Cape Town (UCT). Hedge House is located in a quiet setting with great views, yet conveniently located to the University, shopping, train and local restaurants. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hedge House. Judy provides a warm atmosphere, great breakfast and rooms that are comfortable and clean with added touches, such as fresh fruit and snacks. I highly recommend Hedge House for anyone who wants to stay in the Cape Town area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

My daughter and I spend three nights at the Hedge house. I was impressed by the warmth of the lady that runs the place. She took hospitality to a very high level. Her approach created a family atmosphere in the guest house.
The room was excellent. we enjoyed the fruits and the snacks on our arrival. Though booked for bed and breakfast, she organized our dinner on request. The food was very good. The only thing I wish was different was the size of the garden and the pool. A larger garden would have added to the otherwise good ambience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HedgeHouse, Owner at Hedge House, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Anne
Many thanks for your review of Hedge House.
Please could you let us know specifically areas of cleanliness that you felt were unsatisfactory as this is a priority for us and we would like to improve areas you noticed where we were not up to your expectations.
Warm regards
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newlands hotels
1 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wild Olive Guest House
Wild Olive Guest House
#1 of 30 in Newlands
370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riversong Guest House
Riversong Guest House
#6 of 30 in Newlands
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Oak and Vine Guest House
1.8 mi away
CapeAngel Guesthouse
CapeAngel Guesthouse
#7 of 30 in Newlands
23 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fernwood Manor
Fernwood Manor
#4 of 30 in Newlands
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedge House

Address: 12 Argyle Road, Newlands 7700, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Newlands
Price Range: $130 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hedge House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star guest house in the peaceful suburb of Newlands, is a 10-minute drive from Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens, University of Cape Town and Cape Town's city centre. It features uninterrupted Table Mountain views and an outdoor salt-water pool.Our five rooms have their own private entrances and free WiFi. They include a microwave, a kettle, a refrigerator and a work desk. All rooms have a bath and shower.Hedge House guests enjoy a rich breakfast prepared with fresh, seasonal ingredients. Breakfast is served outdoors on the patio, in your room or in the dining room.There is also a recreational area for children, equipped with a trampoline and a swing, as well as a wood-burning fireplace in the lounge area and on the veranda. The hotel's garden (as well as room 4) has panoramic views of Table Mountain and is wheelchair accessible. Hedge House is located at the foot of Table Mountain and is a 5-minute walk from The Newlands Cricket and Rugby Stadiums. Cape Town International Airport is 15 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hedge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedge House Newlands, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing