We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Hedge House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hedge House
Ranked #2 of 29 Newlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boyce, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at Hedge House for nearly two weeks to see the sights while we waited for my daughter's accommodations for her semester abroad program at the University of Cape Town (UCT). Hedge House is located in a quiet setting with great views, yet conveniently located to the University, shopping, train and local restaurants. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hedge House. Judy provides a warm atmosphere, great breakfast and rooms that are comfortable and clean with added touches, such as fresh fruit and snacks. I highly recommend Hedge House for anyone who wants to stay in the Cape Town area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
63
29
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2013

My daughter and I spend three nights at the Hedge house. I was impressed by the warmth of the lady that runs the place. She took hospitality to a very high level. Her approach created a family atmosphere in the guest house.
The room was excellent. we enjoyed the fruits and the snacks on our arrival. Though booked for bed and breakfast, she organized our dinner on request. The food was very good. The only thing I wish was different was the size of the garden and the pool. A larger garden would have added to the otherwise good ambience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HedgeHouse, Owner at Hedge House, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Anne
Many thanks for your review of Hedge House.
Please could you let us know specifically areas of cleanliness that you felt were unsatisfactory as this is a priority for us and we would like to improve areas you noticed where we were not up to your expectations.
Warm regards
Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Hedge House is a beautiful B&B which I would happily recommend to anyone. So peaceful, yet close to everything. I received a warm welcome with a glass of wine on arrival and stayed in room 5 for 4 nights. Everything was perfect for my needs... very clean, comfortable, well-equipped, fresh fruit & flowers and home made cookies & rusks. I enjoyed my balcony with the lovely morning sun and views and also relaxing by the pool in the fragrant gardens. Breakfasts are excellent and I can also recommend the dinners. Judy is a very welcoming, attentive & friendly hostess who personally goes that extra mile to ensure all guests' needs are met. I felt totally spoilt!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToniMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We spent two nights at Hedge House and enjoyed a wonderful stay. Breakfast is amazing and our host was truly lovely. Little touches made our stay extra special. Great location, beautiful mountain views and a tastefully decorated room all added to the lovely time we enjoyed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneF-Geneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We spent four nights at the Hedge House and greatly enjoyed our stay. Situated in the suburb of Newlands, this B&B provided a great base for our exploration of Cape Town. The owner, Judy provides warm service, comfortable rooms (with home made cookies!) and tasty breakfasts.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Hedge house is no ordinary guesthouse. It is filled with those little extras that just make your stay so special! Homemade cookies and rusks daily , breakfast with that special touch and Judy that goes the extra mile for all her guests! Beautiful decorated rooms, superclean and comfortable, it really is home away from home! Her smile and friendliness is always present. Highly recommended with excellent service!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charleen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We spent two restful nights in our large, tasteful and well-appointed room : sparkling bathroom, silent fridge, tv and all that travellers can hope for. Judy and her staff are so dedicated, one feels personally cared for : the freshly cooked breakfast got us started for a busy day, Judy's advice and directions made it easy to reach our destination and back home, we enjoyed sitting sit on our balcony in the quiet garden. Hedge House is definiely our address in Cape Town.
ArmelleL

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Armelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
1.0 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,294 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
1.8 mi away
Highlands Country House
Highlands Country House
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
0.6 mi away
Southern Sun Newlands
Southern Sun Newlands
#1 of 3 in Newlands
425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wild Olive Guest House
Wild Olive Guest House
#1 of 29 in Newlands
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedge House

Property: Hedge House
Address: 12 Argyle Road, Newlands 7700, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Newlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hedge House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star guest house in the peaceful suburb of Newlands, is a 10-minute drive from Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens, University of Cape Town and Cape Town's city centre. It features uninterrupted Table Mountain views and an outdoor salt-water pool.Our five rooms have their own private entrances and free WiFi. They include a microwave, a kettle, a refrigerator and a work desk. All rooms have a bath and shower.Hedge House guests enjoy a rich breakfast prepared with fresh, seasonal ingredients. Breakfast is served outdoors on the patio, in your room or in the dining room.There is also a recreational area for children, equipped with a trampoline and a swing, as well as a wood-burning fireplace in the lounge area and on the veranda. The hotel's garden (as well as room 4) has panoramic views of Table Mountain and is wheelchair accessible. Hedge House is located at the foot of Table Mountain and is a 5-minute walk from The Newlands Cricket and Rugby Stadiums. Cape Town International Airport is 15 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hedge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedge House Newlands, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing