We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect bnb - I was sorry to be leaving”
Review of Fernwood Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fernwood Manor
Ranked #5 of 27 Newlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durban
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect bnb - I was sorry to be leaving”
Reviewed February 27, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at Fernwood. The hotel has everything you need and more, the rooms are clean, the pool is fantastic with beautiful views of the mountain, the location is central for travelling around Cape town - 20min to the airport, beaches, town center and vineyards! The Staff were friendly and went the extra mile. We will definitely we back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GinaNeilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
63
21
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We started our two week holiday in Capetown by staying at Fernwood Manor. It is just a short, easy drive from the airport, which was great after an 11 hour flight from the UK. We could not find one thing to fault during our stay - the attention to detail was superb - the rooms were beautiful - the whole place was clean and the staff were wonderful. The breakfasts were just superb - just a perfect place to base yourself in Capetown!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2010

I have been staying at Fernwood Manor on my trips to Cape Town for several years. The service is invariably excellent. The room standards are always first class. The staff have been there for years and are helpful and professional. Fernwood Manor is truly a 5 star experience. I will keep returning!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IloveCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2010

Had a great few days here when England were playing at Newlands. Our room was fantastic, very large, overlooking the pool, very nicely done out with great attention to detail. Pool and gardens are great, with Table Mountain looming in the background.

Geoff, who was running the place, was charm personified, very helpful and friendly, went out of his way to assist with restaurants etc.

Only downside was there was building work going on next door while we were there, but didn;t really bother us as we were at the cricket most of the time.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siharris28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2009

Well where do I start what an amazing place. The onwer Sally is incredibly helpful the place is clean, well looked after and every thing you need to right there. Rooms are out of this world as it the breakfast and service.

I would stay there everytime and cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate,UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2009

Fernwood Manor was a wonderful find.We wanted a quiet setting and this couldn't be better.
A lovely suburb (with excellent local restaurants) and a very quiet ,leafy street - a lovely haven after a busy day sightseeing. But it is the accommodation that gives Fernwood the Wow! factor. Beautifully furnished, immaculately maintained, and a wonderful owner with delightful staff.. The pool setting is so inviting, the breakfast area is so attractive and the areas for sitting and relaxing are numerous and so comfortable. Don't bother looking anywhere else - this is a must! We shall return to South Africa and the first place we shall book is here. It was heaven!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biggles023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
0.7 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#5 of 5 in Constantia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
1.1 mi away
Southern Sun Newlands
Southern Sun Newlands
#1 of 3 in Newlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riversong Guest House
Riversong Guest House
#4 of 27 in Newlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernwood Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernwood Manor

Property: Fernwood Manor
Address: 35 Almond Street | Fernwood, Newlands 7700, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Newlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fernwood Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fernwood is an elegant colonial style home in the leafy suburb of Newlands surrounded by lush greenery with wonderful mountain views. Our exclusive guest house, catering for no more than 16 guests, ensures warm friendly personal service in gracious and elegant surroundings.All with their own unique character, we offer exquisitely decorated air-conditioned rooms, king or twin bedded on request, most with balcony or garden patio. These superior luxury rooms with finely appointed bathrooms are complemented by two executive suites, The Almond and The Rose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fernwood Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernwood Manor Newlands, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing