We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was one off the best places ever”
Review of Glenburn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glenburn Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2010

We had my moms wedding on 16 Jan 2010

All i can say is, its was the best, we loved it, and will be back soon.

Thanks for all of the staff at Glenburn for makeing the day so special.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neckGermiston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (655)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

649 - 655 of 655 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2009

We stayed at Glenburn for a few nights as a friend's wedding was at a nearby farm/lodge. We booked on a recommendation from a local who had been there for a wedding and based on the pictures on the website. The grounds are quite pretty, although the main lake was covered in agae and was smelling when we were there.

The rooms and service at this hotel were some of the worst I have experienced. The room we had looked like it was last rennovated in the 1970's and was very tired and dated. There was no bar fridge in our room. When we rang reception to ask about it they said most rooms dont have fridges, but didnt know which ones did and why some did and some didnt.

Ill give a few examples of the poor service, as there were too many to list them all. 1. We arrived for breakfast midway throug service one morning and while the restaurant was only half full every empty table had dirty cutlery and plates on them. One even seemed to have food from the night before on it! We ended up having to clear our own table and get our own cutlery despite asking several staff members. 2. One night we were asleep in our room and a staff member unlocked our door (it was locked but they had a staff key) and walked in! My wife was understandably shaken and upset as the Joburg area has a fairly bad reputation for crime. Upon realising we were in the room (fro our yelling) he left but noone from the hotel appologised at any point.

Stay away from this hotel. I would never go back here and complained to the hotel formally and in writing. The Muldersdrift area that this is in has heaps of great places that you should stay in instead.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieAussie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

We had our wedding anniversary at the lodge. The setting is nice as you think you are far away from the city and actually you are only 20minutes from Randburg. It is a 3star which is correct. The Hotel is old but has recently refurbished the rooms. There is no mini bar and I found the price high for the space you received. I can get an excellent deal in europe in a hotel with much more.
The hotel has also got conference facilities and many other activities can be planed such as trout fishing, balloning hking horse riding and experiencing the cradle of human kind.
It is also has a new Spa which is well equipped to cater for all needs.
The service was the best about the hotel. We got spoilt and pampered by the well trained staff.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreasThieme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2009

My wife and I stayed 3 nights (long weekend) having been here some 10 yrs previously. It's location in the bush just beyond the suburbia of northern Johannesburg is fantastic - you feel you are right away from everything and to get to N.suburbs of Jhb is about 10-20 mins.
Generally, the place is looking tatty - it is positioned now as a conference centre, so most guests are corporate visitors, in for a night or two. We stayed in chalet #9 which whilst adequate was dark and basic. The TV didn't work. I personally reported it to the front desk 3 times. No action...I ended up swopping it myself with the chalet next door. Despite "no smoking" signs, the pub was a haze of blue smoke when a big sports event was shown on the big screen. Furnishings in the dining room are from the 70's.
We paid approx R560 per person incl breakfast - not great as there are better internet prices available at other similar hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ninkasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

We had a great and relaxing experience. Lots of other young families also guests during the time. Family rooms are spacious and clean. Great rock pool with beautiful green gardens and play areas. Friendly staff and good breakfast. Can improve: signage from family rooms to restaurants, more garden furniture around the pool and dinner menu need more variety.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank umjwali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank chiaradegli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lelanie777, Public Relations Manager at Glenburn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alix J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lelanie777, Public Relations Manager at Glenburn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muldersdrift
3.7 mi away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 5 in Muldersdrift
499 reviews
4.8 mi away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 5 in Muldersdrift
358 reviews
3.4 mi away
Avianto
Avianto
#2 of 5 in Muldersdrift
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#27 of 67 in Johannesburg
202 reviews
18.8 mi away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
581 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kloofzicht Lodge & Spa
Kloofzicht Lodge & Spa
#2 of 12 in Muldersdrift
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenburn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenburn Lodge

Address: 4 Kromdraai Road | Muldersdrift, Muldersdrift 1739, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Muldersdrift
Amenities:
Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Muldersdrift
Price Range: $126 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenburn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenburn Lodge is situated in the tranquility of the Zwartkops Mountains, on the banks of the Blaauwbank and Crocodile Rivers. Situated within the newly declared World Heritage Site , the "Cradle of Humankind", this 100 bedroom hotel, conference, wedding venue and spa is a mere 30 minutes from both Johannesburg and Pretoria. The natural scenic beauty of Glenburn Lodge makes it the ideal setting for conferences, product launches, think-tanks and team-building exercises. The Conference Centre seats up to 600 delegates across eight conference rooms. All rooms are fully equipped with state of the art conference equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Glenburn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenburn Hotel Muldersdrift

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing