We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
African Footprints Lodge
Ranked #17 of 59 Midrand B&B and Inns
Guelph, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oasis”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We visited "Footprints" three times in our travels to SAfrica, and each time it was like arriving home. The welcome was always warm, the beds comfortable, the breakfast superb. It is a quiet oasis in a bustling town, will worth the quick trip out of Joburg.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Billie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
5
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
spain
Level 6 Contributor
627 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We were to stay one night on arrival and one night again before we flew out of Johannesburg.

We arrived very late due to dreadful Etihad airways and as it was very late,very dark and raining we decided to stay at an airport hotel for the first night. I contacted the lodge by email as I could not make contact by phone. They gave me a mobile number as the rain had wiped out their mail phone,I explained what had happened and they only took my original deposit which was very kind of them.

We stayed on our last night in Johannesburg,very secure ,lush grounds and lovely staff. We ordered take away which arrived promptly and was very good. We asked for a late check out and this we received without question. Good breakfast and the room and bathroom although a little small was very clean and well supplied.

I would recommend this lodge,well done.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexanderSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodrum City, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Due to wifi failure they offered all my money back. I refused of course..But them being this much honest shows that they are honest people also. Hotel is lush green, wonderfull court yard and garden. U feel like u r in Kruger Park :)) Definetly recommend..

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank differencetour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Everything about this African Footprints Lodge is relaxing. From the lush green gardens, to the shady pool and barbeque area and the well appointed rooms. The staff is excellent and helpful, the breakfast offer a bounty of African delights. Big fan of the 'trust' based bar etc.

Excellent for a holiday or business.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mluth82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have been in this hotel for work, but i must say that i felt a holiday feeling! Beautiful place, nice people and amazing english breakfast. Its near to the city and Gallagher centre (great if you are an exhibitor and want to sleep a bit more in the morning since its just 2,7km away)! I reccomend it

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank illac3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My group absolutely loved staying at African Footprints. The entire compound is massive, great big pool, yards, tennis courts, outdoor bbq, the perfect retreat between Joburg and Pretoria. I will always stay at AFL when I travel through Joburg, it's great to know there is a safe comfortable accommodation for my friends and family in South Africa. Tell the managers Lyyod and Fistin I said hello when you stay, they're amazing and will help you with anything you need!

Room Tip: There's lots to choose, from cabins to dorms, can't go wrong, really reasonable prices and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kg2themax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Our recent (2/2013) stay at African Footprints Lodge was fantastic. The accomodations are newly updated and beautiful. The staff is friendly and can help you plan great area adventures. Breakfasts are fantastic. It's a beautiful property, we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midrand
3.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Midrand Samrand
0.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Waterfall City
1.8 mi away
Premier Hotel Midrand
Premier Hotel Midrand
#1 of 9 in Midrand
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Midrand Conference Centre
0.3 mi away
Town Lodge Midrand
Town Lodge Midrand
#19 of 59 in Midrand
25 reviews
4.8 mi away
Aloe Lane Guest Lodge
Aloe Lane Guest Lodge
#3 of 59 in Midrand
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Footprints Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Footprints Lodge

Property: African Footprints Lodge
Address: 42 Pretorius Road | Vorna Valley, Midrand, Midrand 1685, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Midrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Midrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — African Footprints Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your African Footprints Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing