We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top notch hospitality!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bag End Guest House B&B
Ranked #19 of 56 Midrand B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top notch hospitality!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Excellent guest house and hosts!
Sonia was very helpful right from the start of our stay. She and her staff were continuously attending to our needs and ensuring the best experience for us.
Sonia and Nic went out of their way to make us feel at home.
For us as a family this truly was a home away from home.
I cannot wait for my next trip so I can book a stay at Bag End.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rlerle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
4
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I stayed at Bag End at the suggestion of a local colleague. I have stayed in a couple of other B&Bs in the Johannesburg area so was pleasantly surprised by this accommodation. The house is absolutely exquisite (reminding one of a French chalet), with grounds, fireplaces and an extremely friendly hostess who will do everything she can to meet your needs. You will need a car or transportation in order to get around J-burg from here, but this is not unusual for B&Bs in the area. This is truly beautiful B&B and even affordable. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Felisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gedera, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Hi,

It’s a short mail to say thanks for everything and hope that we will meet again.
The place is beautiful, very quiet, have a great breakfast and nice room with all the facilities.
I enjoyed a great 2 weeks in your place. The house is beautiful and very well equipped.
You and your husband were very friendly and extremely helpful, making me feel at home in the house.

Thanks again for everything
Daniel Zukerman

Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Let us be honest, most bed and breakfast guest houses are basically the same - decent bed, good breakfast, convenient locations, etc. So what makes a B&B stand out from others - the people who run it. In our case, Sonia and her staff did whatever was in their power to make us feel at home. This is an outstanding B&B. We will stay again when we visit Johannesburg.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I have had several visits to Bag End during the past two years - long & short stays. The tranquility & 'home from home' comfort is outstanding. A welcome awaits with every arrival.
'Bag End' is a comfortable travel distance from several main centers - which made this establishment the prefect practical choice.
I have no hesitation in recommending 'Bag End' as a 'first choice' stop-over while visiting or traveling to and from Gauteng area. I shall be back to this beautiful place of tranquility.

Room Tip: Each of the rooms have it's own magical quality - because my visits were on my own I preferred...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barefootSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Midrand hotels
5.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Midrand Samrand
0.9 mi away
The Celtis Manor GuestHouse
5.9 mi away
By Bush Telegraph Lodge
By Bush Telegraph Lodge
#2 of 56 in Midrand
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Pine Tree Lodge
Pine Tree Lodge
#1 of 17 in Midrand
91 reviews
2.2 mi away
African Footprints Lodge
African Footprints Lodge
#28 of 56 in Midrand
23 reviews
2.8 mi away
BON Hotel Midrand
BON Hotel Midrand
#5 of 10 in Midrand
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bag End Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bag End Guest House B&B

Property: Bag End Guest House B&B
Address: 35 Norfolk Road | Carlswald, Midrand 1684, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Midrand
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Midrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bag End Guest House B&B on one hectare of tranquility yet in Midrand between Johannesburg/Sandton and Pretoria. Shopping, Theatres, Horse riding, Kyalami Race Track, Kyalami Country Golf Course, Gallagher Estate, Vodaworld, Easy access to highways and international airports. Families and Corporate clients.Rates: Single R590.00 per night B&B Couple sharing R420 per person per night B&B. Fast uncapped Internet. Full DSTV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bag End Guest House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing