We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Guest Lodge! Cant praise highly enough!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ipe Tombe Guest Lodge
Ranked #2 of 60 Midrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2011

We were treat like royalty from the moment we arrived! Nothing was too much trouble...

Spectacular pool and gardens.... Very south african feeling... Communal areas and bar are very homely and lovely south african touches. Big room over looking to pool and garden area. Big bathroom and nice powerful shower. All very clean and lovely touches such as a chocolate by your pillow and make up remover face wipes!

Cant praise this place enough.... Such good value for money and really made our holiday. Did not want to leave! Will defiantly return!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipetombe, Owner at Ipe Tombe Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2011

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you come back to South Africa again. We have a truly amazing country with so much to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 106 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2010

Lodging at the Ipe Tombe was like staying with family. Hosts were gracious and accomodating, the food was homestyle and ready when they promised. Our boys, ages 12 and 10 played with the dogs, walked the yard, slept comfortably in the bunk beds. My husband and I found time to sit and relax after two days of travel to get to Johannesburg from the US. The entire staff at Ipe Tombe were professional while being down to earth.

The best part of staying at the Ipe Tombe was the family atmosphere with the hosts and other guests. We were there during the World Cup -- Ipe Tombe was host to guests from other countries. What a great opportunity it was for us to meet and mingle with those other guests. I enjoyed my evening chats with Pat. She helped me to learn a great deal about the country, it's history and people. Wow.

Would we recommend Ipe Tombe - without reservation. It is family friendly - without a doubt. The neighborhood was quiet, safe and accessible. A great headquarters for anyt traveler exploring that region of South Africa.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingHawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

We stayed at Ipe Tombe during our recent trip back to SA. We can honestly say we could find absolutely nothing to complain about. The meals were out of this world and a wonderful selection of wines available. The hosts are superb and nothing is too much trouble. A sundowner in the lapa next to the pool, set in a gorgeous garden, was great - we really felt at home and thanks so much to Pat and her staff for everything. We will DEFINITELY be back!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BahrainBothas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

The hosts go all the way to make your stay as plesant as if you were at your own home.
The food is of 5 star quality not to mention the deserts!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madelien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

I have never come across hosts more willing to bend over backwards to accomodate our every need. A truly wonderful home away from home experience and we will definitely use the lodge every time we come to Johannesburg

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapetownRoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2009

Booked independently from the UK for a family wedding party... all correspondence was answered immediately and fully. Every assistance was offered in arranging transport to and from airports. Family run hotel where everyone plays their part in ensuring that you enjoy not only, the guest house, but your trip to South Africa. The room was clean, tidy and spacious with lots of litle extras in the bathroom, including insect repellent lotion which proved useful throughout South Africa. I would have no hesitation in recommending anyone to this guest house.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BubblesBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2009

We (from England) stayed for three nights at Ipe Tombe as a large family group for a wedding in Randjesifontein. The guest lodge is a very comfortable, modern and high quality environment set in lovely, large and well stocked gardens with a good swimming pool . There is a spacious restaurant with good home cooking and plesant service. The family are truly delightful and helpful hosts.

Whether on business or at leisure, we would highly recommend Ipe Tombe to all who need comfortable and sensibly priced accommodation and meals in the Midrand area.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Midrand hotels
3.0 mi away
Premier Hotel Midrand
Premier Hotel Midrand
#1 of 9 in Midrand
374 reviews
8.2 mi away
Aloe Lane Guest Lodge
Aloe Lane Guest Lodge
#3 of 60 in Midrand
76 reviews
1.2 mi away
By Bush Telegraph Lodge
By Bush Telegraph Lodge
#1 of 60 in Midrand
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Tuareg Guest House
Tuareg Guest House
#10 of 60 in Midrand
22 reviews
4.7 mi away
African Footprints Lodge
African Footprints Lodge
#17 of 60 in Midrand
23 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Gallagher Hotel
The Gallagher Hotel
#4 of 9 in Midrand
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ipe Tombe Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ipe Tombe Guest Lodge

Address: 63 King Willow Crescent | Randjesfontein, Midrand 1683, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Midrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Midrand
Price Range: $59 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A well established country-style guest house, nestled inside the secure walled off estate of Randjesfontein, surrounded by magnificent park like gardens abundant with wonderful birdlife. Ipe Tombe offers warm hospitality, fabulous food and exceptional service. This secure location is ideal for visitors to relax and enjoy a stroll or jog in safety and the area boasts 26 kms of uninterrupted bridle paths. Horse riding can be arranged, but we need a little advanced warning please. Randjesfontein is a high lying pollution free area of gentle rolling & wooded Highveld close to the N1 North/South freeway and Gautrain Station making this an ideal location for Corporate Park, N1 Business Park, Samrand, Midstream, Randjespark, Olifantsfontein and Midrand areas. Owner run, Ipe Tombe offers genuine personal service. Our friendly staff aim to make your stay both enjoyable and memorable, whether it is a business or leisure trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ipe Tombe Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing