We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Joburg!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ipe Tombe Guest Lodge
Ranked #1 of 59 Midrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Joburg!!!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

for the 3rd year running , my team of 10 stayed at Ipi Tombe.
to Pat....Just to say thanks, and big thanks!!!

You are the best… you really went the whole 10 yards to look after us.
Outstanding accom, outstanding dinners!!!
Please consider our booking confirmed for next year… dates TBA

Rgds, Charles
Charles and the gang

Room Tip: Room3 has a huge bath cnr bath tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipetombe, Owner at Ipe Tombe Guest Lodge, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and for your generosity to our staff. Really I don't know who had more fun ... we enjoyed hosting your group so much. Can't wait till next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
11
10
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I had the priviledge of staying at Ipe Tombe twice over an 8 day period and both times were quite pleaseurable. Their location is quiet and green, located in a gated equestrian community. I fouond the rooms spacious and comfortable. The lodge grounds and local streets safe to walk around. Staff were as accommodating as one could possibly be. The overall experience was of significant value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipetombe, Owner at Ipe Tombe Guest Lodge, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind comments. Do hope you manage to come back again to our amazing country and explore more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I travel about 50% of my time globally for business, and to South Africa between 2 - 3 times per year. While I normally stay at large hotel chains in other locations, when I travel to Joburg I continually choose Ipe Tombe. It is one of the few places where I can relax after a long day.

The rooms are very comfortable, the internet is reliable and the breakfast is extensive. Even when I am working late, if I get hungry they are always willing to make a light snack to keep me going. For those of us who enjoy a run in the morning or evening, Ipe Tombe is located within a gated community. So you can actually go for a run on the community road with very few cars and in a safe environment. They even have an extensive movie selection for those who need more relaxation (all free!).

The staff are friendly and attentive to all needs. I highly recommend Ipe Tombe, both for business and leisure travel.

Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank iflyformiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipetombe, Owner at Ipe Tombe Guest Lodge, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Thank you so much for your encouragement..... looking forward to seeing you again when you are next visiting this part of the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luderitz, Namibia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2011

What an absolutely awesome place to stay, what amazing people and what sublime surroundings. You cannot say that you are in (Jo'burg) Midrand !! Thank you Pat, Bob and Barbara for being such special people with such great big hearts. Your guesthouse is marvellous !

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaLooser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, Surrey, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Having just come back from a week at Ipe Tombe Guest Lodge, I can quite honestly say that it is one of the friendliest places I have ever stayed. The staff, Pat, Bob and Barbara went out of their way to make my stay very comfortable. I was in the Johannesburg area on business and also managed to visit an old school friend nearby at the weekend. The Ipe Tombe facilities are extremely comfortable, the food delicious and varied, and I was given everything I needed for a relaxing stay. The pool was very enticing and I was only sorry that pressure of work prevented me from using it more often!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rambling_rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Centurion
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2011

Our stay at Ipe Tombe Guest Lodge was such a blessing, Pat ,Bob, and Barbara our chef, thank you so much for treating us like a King and Queen, We found a place 20 minutes from our home in Centurion that took us away deep in the heartfelt of Love and caring. I am in the customer care business, The Hospitality took my breath away, the food was awesome, the room was outstanding. I recommend IPE TOMBE GLOBALLY, come see for yourself.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank infoJannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Beautiful garden, quiet surrounding and cosy interior. Service was very personal . Pat and her team were extremely attentive. Thank you Pat and also to your team for making my stay so memorable. I hope to return to Jo'burg one day and certainly to Ipe Tombe Guest Lodge if I do.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edwardloy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Midrand hotels
3.0 mi away
Premier Hotel Midrand
Premier Hotel Midrand
#1 of 9 in Midrand
332 reviews
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Midrand
4.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Midrand Samrand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
By Bush Telegraph Lodge
By Bush Telegraph Lodge
#2 of 59 in Midrand
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amohela Guesthouse
Amohela Guesthouse
#6 of 59 in Midrand
25 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Orchards Executive Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ipe Tombe Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ipe Tombe Guest Lodge

Property: Ipe Tombe Guest Lodge
Address: 63 King Willow Crescent | Randjesfontein, Midrand 1683, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Midrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Midrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A well established country-style guest house, nestled inside the secure walled off estate of Randjesfontein, surrounded by magnificent park like gardens abundant with wonderful birdlife. Ipe Tombe offers warm hospitality, fabulous food and exceptional service. This secure location is ideal for visitors to relax and enjoy a stroll or jog in safety and the area boasts 26 kms of uninterrupted bridle paths. Horse riding can be arranged, but we need a little advanced warning please. Randjesfontein is a high lying pollution free area of gentle rolling & wooded Highveld close to the N1 North/South freeway and Gautrain Station making this an ideal location for Corporate Park, N1 Business Park, Samrand, Midstream, Randjespark, Olifantsfontein and Midrand areas. Owner run, Ipe Tombe offers genuine personal service. Our friendly staff aim to make your stay both enjoyable and memorable, whether it is a business or leisure trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ipe Tombe Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing