We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately I won't recommend this hotel and I won't stay here again, not because it's bad but because there are simply better options nearby. The check-in here was friendly and efficient and the hotel is just a 6 minute free shuttle from OR Tambo airport; however, the rooms are incredibly noisy being situated on a busy motorway. I was woken in the early hours of the morning by the traffic noise. The rooms are also small and very basic, not what one would expect from a four star hotel. The TV in the room had a grainy picture and the aspect ratio was off. I don't believe this hotel gives value for money. Next time I need to stay near the airport in Johannesburg I would rather stay at one of the other airport hotels, some of which offer better value.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dbn_Trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmperorsPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments received, we want to thank you for your feedback and we hope that this has not deterred you from coming back

If you would like to discuss further please do not hesitate to contact us on; 011 928 1732 or email us on ascully@emperorspalace.com or the Front Office Manager, Claudette Van Niekerk, CVanNiekerk@emperorspalace.com

Kind Regards
Anna-Lize Scully
Hotel Guest Relations Manager
Emperors Palace Hotel Casino Conventions Resort
011 928 1732
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    303
    173
    61
    28
See reviews for
106
457
49
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel is in the middle if a casino property. There is no pool. There is no appreciable free internet. The rooms are small and tawdry. The rooms are not ready when you arrive. The reservation for two single beds was bungled when a queen sized bed was provided. It is farther from the airport than other hotels noticeably closer. One can hear noise from the halls. It took ten minutes for the water to warm up for a bath. About the only positive things that I can say is that the breakfast was good and there were no bugs.

Room Tip: No tips- just opt for another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crjmca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmperorsPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for supporting Emperors Palace

We are disappointed to learn of your negative experience with us

Our team takes complaints of this nature very seriously. Each incident reported to us, is reviewed by the department manager for inconsistencies and brought to senior management’s attention for resolution

If you could please make contact with us; ascully@emperorspalace.com or with the Front Office Manager, Claudette van Niekerk, CVanNiekerk@emperorspalace.com

Once again we sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused

Kind Regards
Anna-Lize Scully
Hotel Guest Relations Manager
Emperors Palace Hotel Casino Conventions Resort
+27 11 928 1732
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Comfort, cleanliness and a ground floor room i can smoke in is more than I can ask for. I loved the fact that it is so close to the airport and that a free shuttle gets you there every half hour. The staff at reception were a little cold but friendly enough. I did not love the breakfast staff, they were very loud and it took forever for me to get someone to get me cigarettes from the nearest outlet. Also a very intimidating and large spread for breakfast with some meals I am sure are meant more for lunch and dinner but there are a lot of international people passing through the hotel so you can expect everything from rotis and vindaloo to sushi.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms hear all the traffic but you can smoke in them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenEricaBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2014

No porter to carry luggage. Check-in good. Superior king room was very small. Bed was comfortable. Toilet and sink needed maintenance, safe needed new battery, wardrobe light and bedside lamp needed fixing. All was fixed but really not what i expected from four-star hotel. Good if you watching a show at Emperors but bad for couples weekend. Not value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Niove P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmperorsPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for making us your preferred residence. We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused, if you could please make contact with us to discuss further, ascully@emperorspalace.com or with the Front Office Manager, Claudette Van Niekerk, CVanNiekerk@emperorspalace.com.

Once again we sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused

Kind Regards
Anna-Lize Scully
Hotel Guest Relations Manager
Emperors Palace Hotel Casino Conventions Resort
011 928 1732
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenscliff, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Conveniently located in relation to the international airport and to a casino. Some noise from traffic and casino patrons including in the early hours of the morning. A very good cooked breakfast included in the tariff and served adjacent to the foyer. Other meals available at a multitude of restaurants and food outlets at the adjacent casino which is reached by internal passageway.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 11Terence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmperorsPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments received, we are looking forward to welcoming you back soonest!

Kind Regards

Anna-Lize Scully
Hotel Guest Relations Manager
Emperors Palace Hotel Casino Conventions Resort
011 928 1000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2014

It was great for a one night get away and we came back, feeling refreshed and relaxed. Having all the restaurants and entertainments so close, made it a great night out. We would definitely be making us of this special again!



Room Tip: They can have a mini bar available for the guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmperorsPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments received, we are looking forward to welcoming you back soonest!

Kind Regards

Anna-Lize Scully
Guest Relations Manager
Emperors Palace Hotel Casino Conventions Resort
011 928 1732
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulawayo
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I really loved my stay. Emperor's palace is the place to be and for the average traveller, the Mondior Hotel is an excellent choice. Everything met my expectations with the exception of the fact that I was not offered any help with my bags from my taxi upon arrival. The room was very clean, bed comfortable and food excellent. Sound proof windows made the room very quiet. Octavia's spa was divine and I'd recommend a few hours there for some great r & r.The airport shuttle was very convenient. I'd recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Johannesburg as it is close to the airport, has lots of entertainment and is decent value for money. I'll definitely be staying there again.

Room Tip: Pick an upper level room. Much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lameck C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
0.1 mi away
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
1.7 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Suites at Emperors Palace
1.0 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace

Property: Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace
Address: 64 Jones Road | Emperors Palace, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel facilities include: Bar and Lounge (Silver Moon), Breakfast Restaurant (Oriana), Baby sitting services, Business Centre, Helipad, Secure parking, Complimentary shuttle service to and from the Airport, Wireless Internet access in public area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peermont Mondior At Emperors Palace Hotel Kempton Park
Mondior Concorde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing