We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet & nice & close to the Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Quiet & nice & close to the Airport”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel just near the Johannesburg airport, three times as a base to see other parts of Africa.
When our agent booked the Hotel we were a little hesitant being so close to the Airport, we thought we might be affected by aircraft noise, but not the case.
The rooms are comfortable but on the small size, with a large comfortable bed. Our room had a view over the freeway.
Cable TV (plenty of sports channels not much else.) Free wifi in the lounge area. With my eye for detail, it was Interesting to note that paintings and the TV were not mounted on the wall straight.
The desk staff were especially good as when we arrived, our hotel voucher was not recognised, but it was all sorted out the next morning. Our following stays were also booked at the same time.
The included buffet breakfast had a good choice of food. The breakfast food box supplied was also good as we were too early for one of the mornings of our stay for the buffet breakfast. Room service was also good and the meal fairly priced.
The Hotel is next to a Casino & food court complex. On our last day we had quite a few hrs to kill before our flight, so we went to the picture theatre in the complex, a nice way to spend some time not hanging around an airport lounge.
The free shuttle (in a large clean van) to and from the airport 5 minutes away was good.
The airport courtesy bus shuttle area pick up point at the airport is a little hard to find the first time, some more signs would be helpful. However there are plenty of people at the airport to assist you in this matter.
Overall a nice place to stay if waiting for a transfer.

Room Tip: Upper levels probably a little quieter, hotel was busy but we had no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skiclubtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    303
    173
    61
    28
See reviews for
106
457
49
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed overnight en route to Kruger.
We had booked Peermont Metcourt a sister hotel but after viewing the room that was huge and nicely furnised but had no windows, very claustrophobic so they moved us to the Mondial, about 300 metres away.
The room was much smaller but had a window . Nice and quiet even though a motorway runs past the entrance.
The furnishing was standard for 4 star hotel of this type,
We used room service and were quite happy with the food .
Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice.
Reception staff also very helpful and friendly.
For an airport overnight it met all our needs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OskarandSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

There are two good things about this hotel [1] location which is close to airport, but don't expect that you will easily be able to get on the shuttle bus at a time you expect as the shuttle is busy at peak times. [2] the bed is very comfortable however, the rooms are small, bathroom is very cramped and the door stop close to the toilet means watch your toes! Breakfast is not worth having and the service is very poor. We arrived and rather than a welcome we were chastised by the woman at the reception. She did not smile once and gave no information. It appeared that we were very unwelcome. If you enjoy going to a casino this venue might appeal.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up ie third level are best as ground level has lots of passing traffic of people going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

THIS IS SUPPOSE TO BE a 4 Star hotel! Well It doesn't even deserve 1!!!!

The breakfast is HORRIBLE STALE OLD FOOD! There is NEVER fresh food ! The buffet dinner is Pathetic!!!!! Even after filling in a complaint form and complaining to the manager! NOTHING WAS DONE! 3 days of disgustingly stale food!

Our phone in the room did not work we complained and NO ONE CAME TO FIX IT!!

Problem upon problem! METCOURT HOTEL IS A MILLION TIMES BETTER FRIENDLIER AND FOOD EXCELLENT THERE!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TThomasM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagpur, India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

the location is great, right next to the airport. The rooms are clean and very affordable. Good options for in-house entertainment if you do not want to go out and pass the time before a long international flight.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anki_151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is quite near the airport and they have a free shuttle. There are some good restaurants in the complex for having a business lunch or dinner and the rooms were clean and comfortable.

Taxi service into town is not too expensive and is easy to get. If you're driving out to Sassolburg you should hire a car (rent a car).

The service was above average and the complex is safe, secure and quite nice, would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed in this hotel following a wedding in January this year. Booked well in advance online for a very reasonable rate.
This particular hotel is the closest of all the hotels in the Emperors Palace site for the conference centre.

Rooms and bathrooms very clean, buffet breakfast of very good choice and quality. Would use again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CargoCharterGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
0.1 mi away
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
1.7 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Suites at Emperors Palace
1.0 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace

Property: Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace
Address: 64 Jones Road | Emperors Palace, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel facilities include: Bar and Lounge (Silver Moon), Breakfast Restaurant (Oriana), Baby sitting services, Business Centre, Helipad, Secure parking, Complimentary shuttle service to and from the Airport, Wireless Internet access in public area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peermont Mondior At Emperors Palace Hotel Kempton Park
Mondior Concorde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing