We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CONVENIENT and SAFE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Noida, India
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“CONVENIENT and SAFE”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

never felt bored as there was lots to do.The breakfast which is included in the tariff was well spread and the service was impeccable.The staff at the reception was helpful and congenial.Since we were coming back after a visit to Cape Town we also left some luggage behind in the locker room and found that to be a convenient option. The airport and metro are nearby and the free hotel transport is an efficient service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teji87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    307
    174
    61
    29
See reviews for
107
461
50
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pruhonice, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I guess this is the kind of hotel you would use for a short stay in Jo'Burg. The Mondior is part of the Emperor's Palace which houses four other hotels, several restaurants, a casino and a cinema. We stayed there for two nights, on our way there and back from Cape Town. We had no intention of going into Jo'Burg so it was perfect to stay there for the night. The first day was Easter Sunday and we had lunch at Aurelia's restaurant where the kids had a great time. There was an Easter Egg hunt organised, games, shows and bouncy castles.

The hotel itself served its purpose. It was affordable, we could get two rooms and the staff were very friendly and accommodating, letting us check in early when we had arrived way before the usual check in time. We had breakfast there as well, it is a very generous a varied buffet with a live egg station and all the trimmings. As there are so many other restaurants in the complex itself, we were able to take our pick. The Mondior only has a breakfast restaurant but that was not a problem.

Furthermore, the hotel offers free shuttle service to and from the airport which run every 10 - 15 minutes. Very useful and only 10 minutes away.

Room Tip: There are interconnection rooms available. 101 and 103 were very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilmoreAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is not great, but also not bad. It is well located, close to the airport and shopping malls. We had good service and staff were very friendly and helpful. What we enjoyed was the convenience of having everything "under one roof". Great places to eat, the casino, good entertainment and very easy access to the airport. The hotel even has monitors in the lobby for airport arrivals and departures. For the price you pay, there really isn't much to complain about.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelFunJMBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed at the Mondior several times while in transit from Johannesburg to the Kruger area and Johannesburg to Vic Falls. It is very easy to do their transport, which is free, goes every 30 minutes or so. Also wide variety of places to eat meals while there that you don't even have to go outside

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Firstly a disclaimer, we wanted somewhere near the airport for a stopover, we didn't want to use the facilities of the overall resort like the casino / food court. So we may be somewhat biased.

We really didn't like this hotel, it was totally oversold. The restaurant did not open for dinner, the wifi was only in a very limited area of the hotel, the minibar was not stocked, I was not allowed to charge drinks to the room without going back to reception and pre-authorising funds (which was not mentioned on check in).

Despite paying for a superior room, we were first checked into a standard. I had to go back to reception and complain. As we were moving rooms anyway we decided to go for a smoking room (given the restaurant we figured we would just stay in the room and watch TV). When we got the new room it stank so badly we had to summon room service with air fresheners. It smelt like a smoking area in an airport lounge! Now we have both stayed in a lot of smoking rooms in hotels and none have smelt like this.

Finally, we found that the much hyped cutting edge flat screens in the rooms were not very large, and most of the channels didn't work.

Then

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adamleonsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Ok, lets start with the positives as there are few, so we can get through it easily:
1. well located, close to the airport
2. Attached to a casino complex, with entertainment etc
3. Very appealing lobby
4. Very appointed room - although very small

Negatives:
1. My towel on the hand towel rack was dirty !!! Yes dirty. not sure if it wasnt washed properly or washed at all
2. Mouldy bits in the bathroom, between tiles
3 Shower cannot accomodate much water (and the drain is very slow), hence it spills onto bathroom floor
4. Your get charged a fee for room service !!! First hotel in the world that i have ever seen this at !!
5. No wifi in rooms, only in lobby...have seen many guest battling over plugs points in the lobby in order to work
6. Wanted to get a connection cable in my room fixed, it is now 4 hours later and no one has pitched !!
7. Mini bar empty, whats the point of it then?
8. Room very small.

Would i recommend this hotel, never !! There are other better establishments close by

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights while I was attending a convention at the Emporers' Palace. From a western perspective, it's not much to write home about, and I'm not really sure why it has 4 stars; since I would give it a low 3 at best. The bed was the best part - big, comfortable, lots of pillows and good linens. That's about it. Wifi is not offerred throughout hotel, only a limited amount free in the lobby each day. The breakfast spread is large, and looks good, but is not really very tasty. The "business center" is a joke - just a couple of computer terminals which are not even attached to the printer, and the staff was too busy to attend to my needs. The complex it is attached to is great; however, a really nice food court, convention center, and the 5 star hotel looked great. If I go back, I will try it, but would not stay at the Mondior again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
0.1 mi away
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
1.7 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Suites at Emperors Palace
1.0 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.8 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace

Property: Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace
Address: 64 Jones Road | Emperors Palace, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel facilities include: Bar and Lounge (Silver Moon), Breakfast Restaurant (Oriana), Baby sitting services, Business Centre, Helipad, Secure parking, Complimentary shuttle service to and from the Airport, Wireless Internet access in public area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peermont Mondior At Emperors Palace Hotel Kempton Park
Mondior Concorde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing