We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow and inefficient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Slow and inefficient”
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed a night and check-in was so slow. The room was in the first floor at the corridor en route to the casino so many people walked by. Luckily it was not so noisy. The room was pretty small but there was a bath tub and shower cubicle facility. Breakfast was disastrous. There was nobody to lead us to the table and when we sat at one of the vacant spot, the waitress asked us to wait for another table. There were a few guests who had plates of food but had to stand around even though there were many empty tables because they did not clean fast enough. Luckily check out was quite a breeze.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robindolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    300
    170
    61
    28
See reviews for
103
451
48
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel is a disgrace!!! we checked in for an overnight, as it was close to the airport and provided transport to and from the airport. shown to our room, which was tiny. set the airconditioning to cool the room and went out for a bite to eat. came back and the tempurature had risen to a hot 26c, not cooled as it should have. contacted receptiion and advised a serviceman would attend, further contact to reception eventually got the serviceman, he would adjust it somewhere and return to check. 1 hour later no return call by the serviceman. Contacted reception again to advise that we were packed and would they change our room, only to be advised that they were 100% full!!! a visit to reception to advise them that we were coming down to reception with our luggage and would sleep in the foya, did we get a room change...what a disgrace....to have to go thru this with management, who when they finally visited our room (3.5hrs after our first call) did agree that the room was too hot.

There are better airport hotel than this at Johannesburg Airport, do yourself a favour and steer clear of the place . We would rather sleep in the street than ever stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cabsavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
126 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed 2 nights here for the race horses auction on Friday and the race on Saturday
Facilities are ok room is small only a bar and restorant
But as the hotel is in the Emperor Palace you can find many restaurants and Casino on your door step
The hotel is busy with groups of tourists - maybe from the near by airport ( mostly Chinese )
It's ok for stop over

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shlbre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

As with most other reviewers, we arrived in the evening for a one night stay prior to heading out to the game lodges. The front desk staff were on the slow side but eventually got us checked in. The room was definitely small for two people; we found it worked if one sat on the bed while the other moved about the room. The shower and the bed were fine however and those were the crucial items. We did not encounter any noise from inside or outside the hotel and slept well. The restaurants in the casino complex ( we went to Tribes) are significantly overpriced but the decor is funny - loved the statue of David draped in chiffon bits standing in a fountain! The breakfast back at the hotel was surprisingly good with very attentive service. We checked out efficiently as there was a manager on duty. We had private transportation and did not use the shuttle.
I would not want to spend a week here but for one night it is adequate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trippinbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ota, Japan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at the Mondior back in April this year on a stop over from Johannesburg on our way to safari. It would seem most guests at the complex are here for this purpose.
The free shuttle to & from the airport was a big plus - unlike other reviewers we didn't find it difficult to locate the shuttle service they do provide a map on the website which is fairly self explanatory.
Check-in was simple & the price we got (booking direct with through the Emperor's Palace website) of around $99AUD for 1 night including breakfast seemed more than fair. The rooms are quite small & our shower didn't seem to drain properly, however for 1 night it was clean, very modern, great for a shower & good night's rest.
There are many restaurants within the complex (they are a little more difficult to find from Mondior) which means as long as you're not fussy there are plenty of options for an easy dinner without having to leave the complex.
Breakfast was your standard buffet again with plenty of options & also good service.
I don't think many people are actually coming to the Emperor's Palace for their holiday - so for a stopover hotel with easy & fast access to & from the airport at a reasonable price I would definitely recommend the Mondior.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieGypsy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The room is nice and very well cleaned and decorated. One of the elevators was out of work and no sign telling that (and I was on the third floor). The people at the reception were quick to do the check in and check out, but a little confused if you ask the map of the complex and tours information.

It's a good location if you want to cacth a tranfer on the next day to flight somewhere else in South Africa or Africa, or to go to Kruger Park (as I did).

The breakfast is very good with lots of options.

A little pricy for what it gives.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank igorsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Spent one night at the Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace due to a long layover from Hoedspruit to Livingstone. Though it was less than a 24-hour stay, I would definitely not recommend it and would not go back. The location is convenient to the airport by shuttle (though finding the shuttle area at the Joberg airport is another issue altogether) but, if you must, choose another place to stay.

The hotel is in a large complex that seems to cater to airport traffic. In the complex itself there are several hotels, I can really only speak to the Peermont. While the hotel seems on the newer side, and the shell of the room itself was fine, our big issue was smell. It seemed like they had some issue with a water leak or other kind of damage in the hallways and were attempting to mask it with paint and strong chemical odor. The terrible smell seeped inside the room and to make matters worse our non-smoking room even smelled of smoke on top of it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sta617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
0.1 mi away
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
1.7 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Suites at Emperors Palace
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
1.0 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace

Property: Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace
Address: 64 Jones Road | Emperors Palace, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel facilities include: Bar and Lounge (Silver Moon), Breakfast Restaurant (Oriana), Baby sitting services, Business Centre, Helipad, Secure parking, Complimentary shuttle service to and from the Airport, Wireless Internet access in public area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peermont Mondior At Emperors Palace Hotel Kempton Park
Mondior Concorde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing