We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in nearby OR Tambo Airport Johannesburg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Medan, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Good hotel in nearby OR Tambo Airport Johannesburg”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stay at this hotel on my way to Zimbabwe. This hotel is safe as it was in a secured area Emperor Palace Casino. It is 5 minutes by bus to the airport and makes it a very pleasent stay for those who are just transiting for the next flight. This hotel also provide free shuttle to airport starting from 6 AM until midnight. The free shuttle is 20 minutes interval and very punctual. You will find a lot of food center in the hotel complex. Coming from the lobby area,you just turn left and straight into the corridor into the convention area then you will be in the food area.This hotel does not have big restaurant but you won't get hungry as they are 2 small cafes (one for smoking clients). Breakfast was good with hot items and the coffee was excellent.
Room was basic but all amenities were there. Room size depends on the room category, but for one night stay who need a big room? The bathroom was perfect clean and the shower power was excellent. You will get a powerful water massage while having shower.
Receptionists were very kind and helful. This hotel gives free 15MB internet per day. Out of the quota,you need to pay.Overall, this is a best place to stay and you won't hear any airplane taking off or landing although it is in the airport area.

Room Tip: This hotel only have 3 floors. Choose the room in second floor if you don't want to hear guest w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HARTONO T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    303
    173
    61
    28
See reviews for
106
457
49
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed at Peermont Mondior Hotel at Emperors Palace for one night.It's a pity we arrived late in the evening and were very tired after the flight to explore the territory of this complex more. However, we were quite pleased with what we saw. The complex is built in the style of an Italian village with a casino, dining, entertainment, convention and relaxation facilities.It reminded me a little bit of Caesars Palace in Las Vegas but less luxurious and more ridiculous.Their David statue was " decorated " by flowers, probably in an African style.You can get to the casino area either from outside or through a long corridor straight from the hotel.The staff of the hotel were very polite.The rooms are not big but very clean and modern with a very comfortable bed. My room was on the second floor (# 248) and it was quiet at night.The bathroom was equipped with a good shower and everything functioned well.We really enjoyed
the breakfast with a very good choice of food including vegetables (which we missed at other hotels).On entering the breakfast restaurant every woman received a beautiful rose, which was a very pleasant touch.It was August, 9 - a women's day in Africa.On the whole it was a very pleasant stay.I would highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Joburg.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arubadreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Peermont Mondior is essentially an airport hotel and is basically set up that in mind. If you go with that in mind you will not be disappointed. The room we stayed was very basic but well equipped with all the basic necessities we have come to aspect, that is, good internet connections, coffee maker, minibar which can be stocked at your request and so on. The hotel is located in the Emperors Palace and convention centre complex adjacent to the airport. As a result you have something in the region of 17 restaurants and bars directly connected to the hotel itself. The Peermont Mondior has its own bar and a restaurant which provides a buffet breakfast for hotel quests. The breakfast buffet was very good when we stayed there. Staff were also friendly and very helpful. All in all we were very satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harold T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My friends and i stayed over for the evening for the Omd concert. On arrival there was no one about to help with luggage. When trying to check in we were told we were getting a reduced rate when i checked why they were changing us from the superior room we had booked to a standard room as all the superior rooms were booked out . This was without even checking with us if this was ok.The check in process ended up taking about 20 min The rooms are small but comfortable and the breakfast average staff friendy and efficient. I think its overpriced and does not warrant a 4 star rating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012


I stayed at the Peermont Mondior Hotel at Emperors Palace for one night for business purposes. The stay was very comfortable, room very basic, but you have everything you need. The internet service was good.

Breakfast at the Leermont Mondior Hotel was very nice, with a huge selection.

The Staff is very friendly. This Hotel is close to the OR International Airport, and very affordable. I met with colleques in the bar area downstairs to go through some work, and the bar staff was very accommodating.

Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Celia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town SA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This hotel was chosen for me. I did not choose it. It is a pretty soulless place that owes its existence to its close proximity and connectivity (there is a complimentary shuttle service that runs every 20 minutes) to the OR Tambo International Airport and to its casino and conference facilities. I was put up there for a conference.
The rooms are fine if you're just putting up overnight before a conference. The tub in the bathroom was tiny, but there was a good shower and lots of quickly accessible hot water (I hate those places where the water has to run for ages before you get anything hot). My room was on the first floor just above the front entrance to the hotel. It was on the side of the building that faces over the R21 freeway. The all night noise levels were unacceptable. I hardly slept a wink despite the bed being a very comfortable one. in addition to the sound of traffic from the nearby freeway, there were the sounds of heavy rail traffic from somewhere close and of the arrival and departure of the casino shuttle below my window every 20 minutes way into the early hours of the morning.

We got there about 13h00 and were told we could not have our rooms until the 15h00 check-in time. Eventually got my room at about 15h20. There were no places to get some lunch while we waited. Eventually, after a bit of agitation we offered the opportunity to order off an a la carte snack lunch menu. The sandwiches we ordered took more than an hour to arrive. we were told that there was a shortage of staff in the kitchen and that they were not used to large groups (there were about 12 of us) wanting food at that time of day.
I ate out that night. Breakfast at the hotel was average, but good enough.
The conference facilities were fine and the complex put on a very good hot and cold buffet lunch.
Would I stay here out of choice? No.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room on the opposite side of the building from the main entrance and the nearby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChapmansChaunce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel was modern and clean, but the room was a bit small, the tv was very small, the internet did not work and it took an hour to keep it up and running. We had to wait too long for the IT person to help us with the internet, and it was disappointing to have to pay for internet connection. Wifi did not work in the room. We were close to the elevator and it made an annoying squeaking sound about once every minute. The breakfast buffet came with room, and while it was ok I wasn't very impressed with the quality of food or the number of choices. It is in a great location for the airport with a reliable free shuttle. Walking distance to the casino, lots of restaurants and a good movie theatre. Easy to schedule local tours and sightseeing type trips. You need to be fairly skinny in order to easily fit into the shower comfortably....it was an odd setup. Cold water will inevitably splash you when you turn on the shower regardless of how you position yourself. Overall, it was an ok hotel, but there are better options in the Peermont at Emporer's Palace.

Room Tip: Request a room far from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
0.1 mi away
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
1.7 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Suites at Emperors Palace
1.0 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace

Property: Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace
Address: 64 Jones Road | Emperors Palace, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel facilities include: Bar and Lounge (Silver Moon), Breakfast Restaurant (Oriana), Baby sitting services, Business Centre, Helipad, Secure parking, Complimentary shuttle service to and from the Airport, Wireless Internet access in public area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Peermont Mondior at Emperors Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peermont Mondior At Emperors Palace Hotel Kempton Park
Mondior Concorde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing