We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Southern Africa Oasis (malvern k)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Mango Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Mango Lodge
Ranked #1 of 62 Kempton Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Southern Africa Oasis (malvern k)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

A Southern African oasis with lovely gardens, friendly staff make you feel welcome and the food to die for. Steve and Daisy are a very professional team, honest and ever so hard working making you feel at home. The Lodge is serene, secured and warm with loads of tranquil gardens to walk and refresh in the cool Sun. Steve has his son Christian who helps out and you feel very well looked after...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank malvern k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    98
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
82
89
125
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merredin, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

I and my Family had the most relaxing Stay at the Blue Mango. We got picked up at the Airport. Steve and Daisy are very Professional, Honest and Friendly. Once we got to the Lodge, we just felt Home. The place is so serene, Secured and Warm. There is so much space for Kids to run around in the well maintained and well manicured gardens and Lawns.
Steve and Daisy make you feel so welcome and will customise your stay to your satisfaction. Their rooms are so tidy, cosy and homely. They will arrange anything you ask with your safety and comfort in mind. We had the most relaxing and awesome start to our vacation while we stayed there. And we recommend this place to anyone anyday and at any time of the year. The place has a real feel and touch of Africa, the meals you eat are hearty. The staff are both professional and friendly. For a relaxed, family friendly and secure place to stay thats got so much to offer go Blue Mango and you will find Steve and Daisy Ready to Entertain you!!!

Room Tip: Just Ask for a Room that meets your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alois m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

A very pleasant Lodge with a beautiful garden. The staff is very friendly. Free Airport pickup. Great meals, too!
The room had no own toilet, but a shower was in the room.
I stayed for one night only and the important thing for me was the vicinity to the Airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexL_aus_Wien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joinville, SC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Lovely family lodge. It is very close to the airport in a beautiful and quite place. The staff is very nice and we felt very welcome. The steak dinner was awesome, it was prepared by the owner itself, Mr. Steve helped by his son, Christian. Mr. Steve arranged a driver to the Lions Park and to a city tour, the driver was very professional and the price very reasonable. If you want a nice place to rest wile doing safaries or visiting Joburg, I strongly recomment the Blue Mango.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Esequias_Junior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flensburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

There is no doubt that Steve, his family and staff are doing their job out of passion! The very warm welcome makes you feel at home, the beautiful garden, spacious rooms and comfortable beds are doing the rest :-) If there is anything you need, any service whatsoever - Steve will arrange something and make it possible...
How lucky I was to coincide with the manager of the Blue Mango at the airport, having arrived there without knowing where to stay - couldn't have found a better place!

Danke / Merci / Nyiabonga

Harriet

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alfred, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stevie arrived very promptly to collect us up from a hotel, where they had double booked us and they had no rooms open. It was our good luck! Awesome service. Beautiful room with really big bath to soak away the grime and tiredness of our long trip. Then awesome food prepared by Stevie himself, while his gorgeous toddler kept us company. The perfect setting and amazing host. We will definitely return to this place again. And again. The only very small disappointment was the jaccuzzi not working at the time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

I was not able to book my onward flight until the next morning..from the traveler's information desk I found the Blue Mango Lodge. In a short time, I was on my way with Steve. We had a very nice conversation...I learned quite a bit about the local area...and a lot of far away places, too. You might say we were on the same page....the Lodge was immaculate, extremely nice meal, very thoughtful....clean, spotless.....very well cared for grounds and inside was just perfect....when I pass this way again....I'll be stopping here. Very calm and quiet....quite isolated from the road noise and traffic.

Room Tip: I think Steve will have something you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joebuckc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
5.0 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,926 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
5.3 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#12 of 26 in Kempton Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
6.2 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
3.3 mi away
Journey's Inn Africa
Journey's Inn Africa
#3 of 62 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mango Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mango Lodge

Property: Blue Mango Lodge
Address: 226 Sixth Avenue | Bredell, Kempton Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Mango Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Mango Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing