We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A convenient place to stay Near OR Tambo at a great price”
Review of Airport Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Airport Game Lodge
Headley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A convenient place to stay Near OR Tambo at a great price”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Airport Game Lodge is an ideal place to stay for people begining or ending there holidays in South Africa or for businessmen wanting to be central to Mid Rand, Sandton and down Town Johanesburg.
The rooms are clean and tidy with most of the facilities you would require, including good internet access.
Breakfast was fine and a good selection well presented.
Despite comments in previous reviews I personaly found it very quiet and the bird life around the lodge was very good!
All in all very good value for money.
Chris Holroyd

Room Tip: The Best rooms are worth the small amount extra that you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    117
    80
    27
    7
See reviews for
54
102
72
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Wee stayed at this place twice during March/April 2014. So in some ways, staying again gives it a thumbs up. But you need to be aware of a few things before doing likewise.

On the first stay there was substantial noise all night from some kind of an all night rave coming from across the fields. The reception staff didn't seem bothered but it made sleep hard. This was on a Friday night and it may have been a one-off.

On both stays we noted;
(a) things often ran on Africa time, expect to wait around for things and be pleasantly surprised if you don't rather than annoyed when you do

(b) There's nothing nearby, and it's a good 20+ mins from the airport (+ waiting time), and getting anywhere else is fairly expense (e.g. ~20 USD return to the near-ish train station). So unless your plan is to stay in the hotel the entire stay you should either stay elsewhere or hire a car. Airport transfer on arrival and leaving is free : it runs on the hour for the return.

(c) There's no meaningful onsite lunch/dinner options. You'll want to order online for delivery which is OK, but factor in at least an hour from ordering to delivery.

(d) it was a bit chilly at night - not terrible but far from ideal. We didn't raise this with staff as it wasn't too bad so ask them if it matters a lot to you. I suspect there's heating to kick in during the colder months and we were just in the transition period.

On the plus side: it's clean, green and very cheap. We got the room upgrade which was only slightly extra so I don't know what the other rooms are like. Oh, and there's free wifi though it didn't reach to the further top end rooms (room 20+) and wasn't especially fast -- good enough for email/browsing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airport_Game_Lodge, General Manager at Airport Game Lodge, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Manar H from London,
Thank you very much for your review!
Even though it hurts we accept it verbatim and where we can we will improve. However please afford us the opportunity to explain & respond to your points...
1. The weekend rave from across the fields: That is another hotel over which we unfortunately have no control. On Friday and Saturday nights any complaints to the authorities will get us nowhere. However it does go against our choice of venue "African solitude". We are used to it probably because it is "african music" but to outsiders it is probably irritating, so I hope that future guests do read your comment. On the upside we can report that that hotel is converting into an old age home. Need we say more?
2. Africa Time: Unfortunately you don't specify. If it is not too much trouble could you please let us know so that we can address these specific point(s); please. We have recently had a team building workshop. The theme was TIME. So you can see that we would welcome comments on this. By the way have you noticed the South African cultural aspect of "you can tell me what to do, but I decide when to do it". When you hear the answer "now-now": Be warned ;-)) This can be verified by googling Hofstede which is a very interesting study and comparison of the different cultures worldwide.
3. The "20 min from the airport + waiting time" is totally unacceptable. Our policy is 15 min from the airport to your room. In your Reservation Confirmation we ask for your cellphone smartphone number, so that we can establish early DIRECT CONTACT with you and provide you with Superior service. And we state in there that you are entitled to a cup of Ily Coffee, should you have to wait, (it will get refunded off your bill).
4. On site restaurant: We are a B&B. But as you point out there are a wide choice of good restaurants who deliver "room service". Your point of 1 hr advance is very valid and is normally briefed to our guests when they arrive. We will pay attention that this gets emphasised better - THANK YOU.
5. "Chilly at night": A very valid comment! We have noticed that many guests arrive expecting hot temperatures and thus have only light clothing. On our website we have published a climate table showing not only day and night temperatures but also factors such as rainy days and sunshine periods. It is a very good "what to wear/pack" informational source. In order to assist those guests that do arrive with no warm clothing we have some sweaters for sale at reception. In the rooms we have heaters and hot water bottles. In summer we remove them but thanks for your comments; we will raise our awareness!
6. FREE WLAN: Thanks for the comments about not reaching room 20. We will have our IT specialists look into that. In the De Lux rooms (which you had upgraded into for only a slight extra (space available of course) we also have LAN which is of course significantly faster. In fact we did have an IT company on a long term stay in rooms 20-23 until they got their offices.
Dear Manar, thanks again for the trouble and time that you have taken to help us get better! You have stayed twice and we certainly hope that you will have the priviledge to welcome you again sometime in the future. Don't forget to claim your frequent guest rebate when you come again.
We wish you many safe and pleasant travels.
Airport Game Lodge staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as part of our Gadventures trip. It's close to the airport and they offered a complementary pick up which was easily arranged. The setting is safe and the rooms are pretty nice. They have a nice area of land at the back with some animals on which creates a pleasant atmosphere. The main downside, and for me was quite annoying, is that other than breakfast no food is prepared on site - i wasnt aware if this when i booked as i booked through a third party who didnt mention this. Their solution is that they have pile of take away menus, either that or get a taxi into Jburg!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank michael t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airport_Game_Lodge, General Manager at Airport Game Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Michael T,
Thank you very much for reviewing us. (For us, such reviews are the "modern" true and independent star ratings.) We value them very highly.
We are glad to hear that you found us to be close to the airport: In this respect we have an internal unpublished standard - 15 min from the airport into your room.
Of course this complimentary pickup works pretty well if you give us your communication sms number - how can we recognize each other and where do we meet precisely; in short superior service.
The fact that you felt safe with us is of utmost importance. If you don't feel safe, you aren't going to relax and enjoy either..
You found the room to be nice - we will pass this on to housekeeping and you will have made their day!
The wild and mild free roaming animals are our trademark: They are fat and happy and truly,; where are you going to be able to feed and photograph a nocturnal animal such as our logo trademark Duiker at such close range. Has she stolen your heart with her gentleness? How were the Ostriches?
Now to the aspect of food.
I hope that you found breakfast to be good. At the moment the big chicks (Ostriches) are defending their eggs, so I assume that you couldn't have had a memorable Ostrich Egg Omelet.
As far as having a restaurant on site; we are in a real fix. There are too few rooms/guests to make such a venue profitable AND THE COMPETITION IS AWESOME! You mentioned the 30cm pile of various Restaurant Menus at reception. There is something in there for everybody, all within close range and I am not talking about taking a taxi ride into Johannesburg. 5 min from us is Destiny Hotel with a Springbok carpaccio which you will never forget - all dishes there are superb. We take you there FREE of charge. 10 min from us is the Exclusive Serengeti Golf & Wildlife Estate (where you probably wouldn't get in under normal circumstances - our guests do because Serengeti use Airport Game Lodge for their accommodation needs). When going there, the standard question our guests ask us is: "Isn't there a mistake in the exchange rate?" If you can show us where on this globe you can get a comparable meal for that price, we will refund you the cost of your dinner! The ride there costs 1.62 GBP (€2,12) pp. The transport to other restaurants in the vicinity will be about double that.
During the 10 min FREE Airport shuttle, the driver includes in his briefing, the fact that you can order Delivery (Room Service) from virtually all of the many restaurants in the vicinity. This service beats a restaurant on site hands down. However the advance time required is around 1 hour, so it is a good idea to order early. All of these menus (Pizzas/Pasta, Steaks, Portuguese, Indian, Seafood etc. are compiled into one 30 page full colour brochure which is in each room. Please also see the other review about the family that had Chinese food.
Last but not least: Many of our guests like and use the kitchen / lounge combination to self cater.
However your point that a third party made your booking and didn't tell you that there isn't a restaurant on site: Thanks, this is a very valid and important point which we are going to break our heads about. It is vital that our guests are being made aware of this fact at the time when they make their reservation.
Also you have changed us: Thanks to you we discovered that the TripAdvisor "Restaurants nearby" button is inadequately stocked: We will immediately start putting the close by restaurants in there. We will also adapt our website to show the variety of restaurants, their menus and the cost of transport.
So once again dear Michael T from Birmingham: THANK YOU VERY MUCH for bringing this not only to our attention, but also here on TripAdvisor, where so many people can be forewarned.
Please come again and give us the opportunity to personally show our appreciation for the trouble you have taken and see that improvements that you will have caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Earthwatch.org recommended this lodge, and I chose it for a late night arrival from Amsterdam, a quiet day, and a second night before joining my research team. It was perfect for catching up on sleep, a nice breakfast, a tranquil day, and an order-in Chinese dinner that arrived on time and priced as promised (have some Rands for this). The room was basic but clean and pleasant, and the staff was friendly and helpful. They sent a car to the airport for my late arrival and returned me by shuttle. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
138 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We spent just one day/night here upon arrival in South Africa after the red eye from Paris. Exhausted and just wanting a day to relax we stayed here because of the location from the airport and the fact it was a little outdoorsy.

The rooms are very basic--but good for that quick stopover. The grounds are neat with a number of animals in a large field adjacent to the property. I'm a birder so while my wife slept I spent a few hours wandering the ground getting my first taste of birding in Africa. It was a great little stay and well worth cost. You get what you pay for and if you don't need 5 stars I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Utah_Birdtographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airport_Game_Lodge, Manager at Airport Game Lodge, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Utah_Birdtographer,
It is obvious that you are a seasoned observer. You are quite right that Airport Game Lodge is a clean safe place close to the airport. Not a tedious trip into town. That is our core market. In other words a quick stopover.
We assume that you did not make use of our upgrade offer for about 10$ more pp. One can stay in one of our De Lux rooms which is 5 Star quality.
We are glad that you enjoyed the birds in the area because we are actually a bird lodge and not a game lodge. Due to the fact that the lower part of the property is bordered by a stream and little dam there is good birding to be had and one can walk along it for app. 3km outside the property. It is very satisfying. Lovely photo of the red throated Wryneck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Republica of Angola
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Dear All,
Thank you once again for the wonderful hospitality that you had provided me and my family in the past three weeks.
We would like to point out three main things that make your place exceptional among the others .
1- Tranquility
2- Combination of wildlife and city
3- A professional team,
Therefore, we encourage you to continue like that. We extend our best wish to all.
See you within 11 month from now.

Room Tip: Combination of wildlife and city
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airport_Game_Lodge, General Manager at Airport Game Lodge, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Pedro S,

Thank you for your valued feedback and it was our pleasure to have hosted you and your family! We really appreciate your support and look forward to welcoming you again at the end of the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Oh this place is quite but it was great for me they came an pick me up when they said they would .It came with microwave and a small fridge but there is a run of the house kitchen where you can prepare meals . The free breakfast was delightful .There are a few animals on the grounds you can feed which was fun .I had gone there by myself as a single female and it was great speaking to the staff and the owner .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mtalife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airport_Game_Lodge, Manager at Airport Game Lodge, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Mtalife,

THANK you - we appreciate your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
5.3 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,026 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 26 in Kempton Park
512 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
6.9 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
5.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Game Lodge

Property: Airport Game Lodge
Address: 21 Fourth Road, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is ideally located for business and leisure travellers passing through Johannesburg and the OR Tambo airport. Situated a mere 10 km from the international airport. The secluded Airport Game Lodge combines the solitude of the African Bush with the luxury and convenience of modern-day living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airport Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Game Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing