We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for your money”
Review of Airport Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Airport Game Lodge
Reviewed April 24, 2012

The beauty of this place lies on the springboks grazing a few meters from your doorstep. It was very relaxing just to sit on a chair by our room watching the animals. For a few Rands one can buy feeds at reception for the geese and 2 ostriches.

When we arrived there was confusion on the room assignment that we had to transfer to a slightly bigger one. The room was very basic, small toilet with basin, the shower was a cubicle within the bedroom and without lighting so it can get quite dark when showering at night. Breakfast was nothing exciting, normal baked beans, bacon, sausages etc. If you don't like the congeiling eggs on the service table, you can request the kitchen ladies to make fresh ones. You need to have a vehicle to get around as it was far from the mall and restaurants. You have to make arrangements beforehand if you are going to have lunch/dinner at their place. There was a food delivery brochure in the room and the receptionist ordered for us. We scheduled the driver to take us to the airport the next day - he was prompt, helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Journeyof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 325 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed here for two nights before connecting up to a group tour. We'd stayed in many places beforehand during our trip through Sth Africa & were somewhat disturbed at the complete lack of security around the Game Lodge. The fencing was inadequate & the cleaning staff left the windows to the rooms wide open - anyone could have walked into the property & entered a room through the window.

The lodge does provide a free airport transfer service, however it is not promoted on their website. They will pick you up when you call but drop off is at their convenience.

We paid the lodge 280 rand for a lift to a nearby mall & back to then be told we had to be picked up within two hours because it suited them. We were nearly at the mall when the driver was told to turn back to pick up more people. We were leaving for an 8 day safari the next day & needed to grab some last minute things & quite simply ran out of time & couldn't get the things we needed.

Some of the staff were pleasant & helpful while others were just plain rude.

Our cold water tap didn't work, the TV barely worked, there was no safe in the room & we were told to leave the outside light on at night so they could watch for intruders - perhaps they should invest in a proper secure fence!!!!

I felt unsafe at night & I was worried about leaving my belongings in the room. We couldn't wait to get out of there.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRNJ_ADL_AUSTRALIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We recently spent one night at the lodge. We arrived pretty late at Oliver Tambo airport and, after picking up our rented car, we were concerned there would be a problem with receiving us at the lodge after midnight, but we didn't encounter any. They also have a 24 hour free shuttle service to and from the airport. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious. Great view from the room. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayerfal63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Stayed here for one night. Arrived at jnb airport phoned the lodge for directions and the owner offered to collect me and was at the airport within 4-5 minutes. All the staff i found very friendly and the breakfast is fantastic. I choose this hotel because of the environment with springbok gazelles and ostriches all in the field next to the lodge and even seeing a few deer. rooms are nice with an african feel. I had a tour of the hotel by the owner and there are a number of different rooms from luxury to basic rooms all have been built by the owner . is a fantastic hotel for families with children as the children will love it compared to the 5* bcd chain hotels. Would i go again yes i will

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davids73186466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We were booked in as part of a safari, and stayed again the day after we got back. It's a funky little place with only about 20 rooms. We were warmly welcomed by all of the staff, and were always greeted with genuine smiles and kindness. The rooms were spotlessly clean and tidy, and the beds were quite comfortable. Included in the stay is a great buffet hot/cold breakfast. There are no other meals offered, nor are there any restaurants within walking distance. But the staff has a large variety of take-out menus, and do will call and order food for you. There is a clean kitchen and lounge where you can eat. They have a lovely pool, and fields of African game roam on the other side of the fence. Airport Game Lodge was a wonderful introduction to SA hospitality, helpfulness, and good humor, and that's why we would stay there again.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms on the wing closest to the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tersenia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Stayed at the Airport Game Lodge for 3 nights, and the environment is relatively cozy and pleasant. Nice design in the rooms with the shower area in a separate room from the toilet. Nice view early in the morning as well as the deer roams freely around at the green patch of land.

However, lots more can be improved. The boiler that was provided in the room turned out to be rusty and had to wait for long before it was replaced. Eventually I had to use the boiler at the dining area. Meals provided were sufficient (at least for me) yet there wasn't much variety - we had the same breakfast for three consecutive days. Yet overall I the meals were nevertheless satisfying since the food was fresh. The owner of the place was very friendly and warm where she constantly asked if we had enough to eat. Some snacks like biscuits provided in the room too.

Blackouts seem to be relatively common here as well. I experienced 2 blackouts throughout the 3 night stay there. Others said they experienced even more blackouts. This could be improved. There's an internet service as well but I heard it was quite slow so I didn't use it.

Of course, it's location serves to be a great advantage especially for free-and-easy travellers. But I travelled as a group so there's a tour coach to fetch me to the airport. I didn't use the free airport pick-up.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dt0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I cannot find this hotel on trip-advisor however if you are looking for a small hotel to relax in after a long flight. This is difficult to beat. They provide efficient and free airport pick-ups. The Hotel is situated in pleasant grassy grounds with deer and ostrich roaming around. Safe for children to run off their excess energy. The breakfast is good, the rooms spacious and clean, the price is fair.
My only advice is that as they do not have a restaurant, evening meals must be ordered in and this can take up to an hour. Otherwise a very pleasant hotel with good service.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marchant47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
5.3 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,333 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 26 in Kempton Park
605 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
7.4 mi away
Vetho 2 Apartments OR Tambo Airport
5.9 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Game Lodge

Address: 21 Fourth Road, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Kempton Park
Price Range: $44 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is ideally located for business and leisure travellers passing through Johannesburg and the OR Tambo airport. Situated a mere 10 km from the international airport. The secluded Airport Game Lodge combines the solitude of the African Bush with the luxury and convenience of modern-day living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Airport Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Game Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing