We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“secluded place for a nice nightstop”
Review of Airport Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Airport Game Lodge
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“secluded place for a nice nightstop”
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Handy for the airport and friendly informal atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeoLev5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    117
    80
    28
    7
See reviews for
55
102
72
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

My family and I had a tour leaving from Airport Game Lodge, so we stayed there a few days before the tour and the night after it ended. The location is not at all convenient if you don't have a car. It is 1.2 km away from the closest grocery store, and you have to order food in from a service because no restaurants are nearby. The hotel does offer a transfer service, but they charge a lot to bring you anwhere but the airport (airport pick up and drop off is free one time per day). The biggest inconvenience was the lack of Internet access. Their wifi didn't work at all, and the owner couldn't figure out why and didn't seem very concerned. They have one computer station that you can pay to use which is really old and ran out of credits (which have to be purchased by the hotel) twice in the three times I used it, despite the fact that I had paid for my time. The owner did reimburse me for my time lost on the computer, but only after I asked him. Overall, we were very sick of the hotel's lack of concern for its obvious problems by the time we left.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aharrison1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kempton Park hotels

Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Stayed here at both ends of my trip. The lodge is in the middle of nowhere so once you check in, there is no leaving. If hungry, you have to call for delivery which can take a very long time and come cold. This is not the fault of the lodge but just a warning to grab food before you check in.
The rooms were spacious, clean and nicely decorated. There was plenty of hot water for showering - nice! The grounds were relaxing with some wildlife penned up. The staff was very friendly.
It was better than I anticpated and would stay again. The biggest downfall were the twin beds are very hard, lumpy and uncomfortable. Since I was dead tired, I was able to sleep fine on them.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2011

very friendly and helpful service, clean and comfortable rooms, and yummy breakfast. We enjoyed the common room area, and the internet facilities are very good.

Room Tip: Go for the higher room numbers
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hungrybackpacker_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2011

A friendly place which is quiet and conducive for work and relaxation - it has a pool. The only drawback is no lunch or evening meals are available, so if you arrive in the evening hungry, the only option is phoning for a takeaway pizza or self-catering in the communal kitechen/lounge. Breakfasts are good, though, and there are good tea and coffee facilities in the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MaryMyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

We stayed here 1 night, before driving further for 4 weeks thru SA.
The hosts had ...on our specific request ....picked us up at night in the airport ..and not outside as their standard arrangement is with our travel-agent : We didnot want to wander around at night outside....This worked well.
Further the place is clean, staff at breakfast friendly and reception helpfull when the next morning our rental car was brought. > Good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolasHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2010

I stayed there twice, one night each time, and would recommend this hotel to anyone who's passing by Johannesburg. They have a reliable pick up service from and to the O Tambo airport, the place is beatiful, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, and price is fair.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isacanelhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
4.1 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 26 in Kempton Park
530 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,330 reviews
5.3 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
3.4 mi away
Safari Club
Safari Club
#14 of 26 in Kempton Park
221 reviews
2.0 mi away
Blue Mango Lodge
Blue Mango Lodge
#1 of 66 in Kempton Park
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Game Lodge

Property: Airport Game Lodge
Address: 21 Fourth Road, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is ideally located for business and leisure travellers passing through Johannesburg and the OR Tambo airport. Situated a mere 10 km from the international airport. The secluded Airport Game Lodge combines the solitude of the African Bush with the luxury and convenience of modern-day living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airport Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Game Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing