We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Greek Food”
Review of Platia

Platia
Ranked #5 of 77 Restaurants in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Poor Greek Food”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Waiter got the order wrong, food was tough, meal was very expensive given what was served to us on the plate- all in all, I would never return. Much better Greek food available at Mythos or Plaka.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelbuddy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    47
    14
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Blantyre, Malawi
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Greek fare”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We have eaten here several times, the food is always good and the atmoshere is great, particularly when it is busy.
This time we ate the Chicken Stifado, served with the best mashed potatoe i've eaten in ages (except for the wife's of course) and lamb chops that were so tender.
Everybody was so welcoming, especially our waitress.
We finished off the meal with a really good espresso. All in all well recomended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
2,371 reviews
1,726 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 980 helpful votes
“Part of the Emperor's Palace Complex & Casino”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is one of several restaurants in the complex that adjoins the casino. The atmosphere is great and you may think you are at a large party in Disney world. The service was excellent and the food was good. I had the pork chops and they were great. My wife had the chicken and prawns. We also chose to eat on the patio. A fun place to eat and watch the crowds go by.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank texaswillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Surprise”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

we were out for my sisters birthday and walked past this restaurant at Emperors Palace. None of us fancied Greek. After checking other places, we somehow ended up here. I can honestly say that there service and food is of a top end quality. Thomas, our waiter, was very professional and friendly, so too the manager. The food - exceptional! From the starters to their special Lamb Shank - outstanding presentation, flavour and quality. I highly recommend them!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donaghadee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“We had a great meal”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have no idea why the previous reviewer thought that the restaurant was dirty. It was clean when we were there and the food was very good. We were on our honeymoon from the UK and when the owner/manager? heard this we got rose petals spread on our table and a free bottle of fizz!
The service was good and the impromptu dancing and smashing of plates was fun. We chose Platia because the woman at the door was the most welcoming of all of the restaurants.
Our steaks were cooked perfectly and the wine was also very good thanks for making us feel very welcome.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wizziwaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Platia also viewed

Kempton Park, Greater Johannesburg
Kempton Park, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Kempton Park, Greater Johannesburg
 
Kempton Park, Greater Johannesburg
Kempton Park, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Platia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing