We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel - but security issues at reception”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2007

Had a three-day stay at the beginning of July, and will agree with other posters, it is an excellent airport hotel very convenient for the terminal. I found the staff helpful, attentive and friendly.

Although the rooms are expensive they are large, and very nicely appointed. I requested a non-smoking room but ended up with a smoking room, although you couldn't tell.
The meals and drinks were good value (in comparison to the room rate).

Now the downside, when I checked out a colleague paid my bill. However when I returned to the UK, my credit card company contacted me to say the hotel had deducted £800.00 from my card, and there had been several other attempts to use the card fraudulently, including booking of flights.
I contacted the duty manager, who promised to look into the matter. I received an email to inform me that the hotel had cancelled the charge but couldn't comment on the other transactions and to let them know if I wanted to make an official complaint (which I did). I have not heard anymore about it since, and at no time have I received an apology.
The only time my credit card left my wallet during my stay in South Africa was when I checked in at this hotel. Beware!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank propellerhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,223 - 1,229 of 1,371 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2007

This is a good airport hotel and as far as airports go, probably one of the better ones. But we booked two non smoking rooms, reconfirmed and it took 20 minutes via two rude women on the front desk to get them to find a non smoking room. But great rooms, breakfast and gym. Staff can be patchy but all in all, a good spot for an overnighter on your way to Cape Town or Kruger etc.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank EK201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2007

We stayed at the Inter Continental Airport Sun for two separate nights on our honeymoon. The hotel is a five minute walk from the airport. There is an easy route to the terminal, and they have airport luggage carts in the hotel for easy transport. The hotel is really nice and very well decorated. They have a spa and pool on the top floor with a great view. The first night, they gave us a huge room on the corner with a huge bathroom, champagne, and a gift. We ordered room service, and the food was really good but not overpriced. The breakfast is also really good. They have all types of breads, cereals, fruits, and meats on a buffet; and we also ordered from the menu, all of which was included in the cost of our room. When we came back the second time, we had a smaller room, but equally nice. We ate in the restaurant both nights we were there; the food was delicious and not too expensive. We were told it was best to stay around the hotel since J'burg is not the safest city. When we go back, we will definitely stay there again. We booked through Greenlife Africa and got a decent price for the stay.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Frmrswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2007

We've stayed at the Airport Sun several times and we always like it -- it's extremely convenient for us when we travel from California to South Africa. It's right there at the airport, so you can relax immediately. The rooms are double-paned so you can't (usually) hear the airplanes. The staff is great and so is the food. This time, however, we ran into all that construction going on at the airport. It kept us up all night the first night. On subsequent nights, we made them move us to higher floors to keep away from the noise (you want to be on floors 5,6 or 7). So until all this construction is complete: beware!
Also note: the hotel has a decent gym, but I found the spa to be pretty useless. The steam room's a joke and the massages aren't very good.
What is good: free wireless internet access in your room (so bring your laptop).

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank D-co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2007

After 20 hours on a plane, this hotel was a godsend. It is located directly across the street from the airport and has comfort and superb service. 24 hour room service is very reasonably priced, quickly served, and tasty. Our room was well sound-proofed; we never heard other guests or airplanes. Service was prompt and very pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank graceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2007

After flying in from Port Elizabeth we had an overnight at this hotel before flying on to Mauritius the next morning

Very convenient for the airport, the hotel also has a top floor pool with great views of the airport (although as mentioned by a previous reviewer the airport is currently being redeveloped)

We had drinks at the bar and an extremely good meal in the restaurant which was reasonably priced. The lobby and the restaurant area are also decorated with African art; full descriptions of which are contained in the menu!

Highly recommended if you are between flights since it is only across the road from the terminal building. Once you get through security for international departures there is a fantastic souvenir shop "Out of Africa" which stocks everything

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tangerines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2007

Lovely hotel on the airport doorstep, perfect for a quick sleep in between trips, but highly overpriced for its position. Currently this hotel is mired down amongst all the changes at the airport, basically overlooking a construction site, but makes no attempt to discount their rates, already high even in the best of circumstances.

We stayed over for a few hours and hoped to pay a half day rate, as my wife is pregnant and the flight from London a long one. We ended paying the same as a good 5 star hotel standard rate, so it was not very encouraging as far as a recommendation goes.

However, service is as expected from the brand and we were enclosed in a very quiet second floor room silent despite its proximity to the airport.

We wont be back though.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank johandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,260 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
0.6 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
1.0 mi away
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport

Address: Opposite Int'l Arrivals Hall | O.R Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range: $292 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Johannesburg O.R. Tambo Airport is a safe and highly convenient hotel only 68.7 metres (225-foot) walk from the International Arrivals hall at Johannesburg's O.R. Tambo International Airport and is your ideal and hassle-free stopover for onward Southern African destinations, Game Reserves, Victoria Falls & Cape Town. Perfectly located for business and a 14-minute train ride from the Sandton CBD, the hotel facilities include free unlimited Wi-Fi, Business Centre, Health Spa, complimentary gym, swimming pool and DVD library. Guests love our large showers with massage showerheads and the ample natural light flowing from the floor to ceiling windows. In-room flight information allows you to time and plan your onward journeys from the comfort of your room. Soundproofed rooms, blackout curtains, king beds and fluffy duvets ensure you enjoy a great sleep experience. Quills Restaurant, open 24 hours daily, offers contemporary African dining, indoors or on the terrace. Winner of the 2015 Best Airport Hotel in Africa Award by Skytrax World Airport Awards and refurbished in 2015, the hotel offers the most sophisticated airport accommodations on the African Continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Johannesburg Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park
Intercontinental Kempton Park
Intercontinental Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing